We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoiled beautiful coastal Georgia camping area!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort McAllister State Historic Park Campground
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed overnight in a tent and really enjoyed the stay. Lots are spacious with nice level sand- filled area for each tent. Plenty of trees, very pretty woods and water views. Camp hosts were great, and were able to check us in when we arrived around 8 pm. Showers and bath areas clean and well maintained. Will go again - and also recommend the fort and museum.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Fort McAllister State Historic Park Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 67 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a campground to take our boys and this place stood out because of the Fort. We were very pleased and it is now one of our favorite campgrounds. We toured the fort, and went on the nature trail. The park rangers were very friendly and knowledgable. On Friday night, the rangers gave a presentation on the history of the Indians that used to live on the island and passed around the weapons they would have used and then made s'mores around a big fire. My boys (big and little) loved it. The campground has a park, dock, pier and nature trail inside. Its a great family park. HOWEVER...be prepared to battle raccoons...not really battle, but make sure all your food is well sealed and secured at night because there seems to be quite a few of them.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We took our boys to Fort McAllister on Saturday April 13th. We toured the fort and the museum. It was a nice interpretive site for a major battle in the civil war. The outside fort is one of the last earthwork forts left on the east coast. The inside Museum has a great deal of information and dioramas to explain the battle in detail and the reasons behind it. I also liked the way that the lodging buildings were open to view. Here in Georgia, we are focusing on the 150th anniversary of the civil war and this was a nice backdrop. My kids learned a lot. The only drawback was the number of kids/parents who did not pay attention to the signs and were climbing all over the earthworks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank travelingdad30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed in a cottage here while in Richmond Hill on business and it was a great quite spot to unwind after a long day! I underused the size of the cottage, I was alone and 6 people could comfortably stay in the two bedroom/4 bed cottage. Full kitchen, dining area, screened in porch overlooking the river...paradise! And conveniently located to Savannah and the Georgia Coast. Make sure you explore Fort McAllister while you are there! They even have a mobile app guide!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomeduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This campground is beautiful, clean and has a fishing pier, nature trail, boat dock and sites spaced far apart. What's the problem? There is no sound buffer. We could hear people several loops away, not to mention every word from the people several sites over. It was a packed weekend, and people were not obnoxiously loud either. We felt as if we had to whisper so we wouldn't disturb the people around us. (We are consciensious campers) If there was more sound buffering I would give this place an excellent rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wannarideabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here on Veterans day weekend. The park was full but still quiet. The road into the campground from the Park office is in need of repaving but it's OK if you drive slow. The roads in the campground are paved but narrow and curvy. Big rigs need to use caution when maneuvering around. Lots of trees and some are close to the roads. All the sites are pull thru's with lots of vegetation, some are tough getting into and out of. The sand gnats were bad at times but a little repellent would keep them at bay while we enjoyed the park. There was no cable or WIFI in the campground but we could pick up about 15 channels on the winegard antenna and there was WIFI near the park office. We brought our golf cart and were allowed to use it in the park but had to buy a $5.00 park pass for it. We were staying here with 12 other campers from our camping club and the staff allowed us to use the group shelter in the campground for a pot luck supper on Saturday night for free. There was firewood for sale near the host site for $5.00 for 10 pieces. Make sure you take the self guided tour of the fort, it was very interesting. There is also a boat ramp for campers and a fishing pier if you like to fish. We had a very good stay here and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This campground is great for tent camping. We found it to be clean, well maintained, each tent site is huge with a picnic table, campfire ring with grill (all in one), water and electric and double lantern hook. The tent pads are elevated and will easily hold some of the larger tents made. I would estimate a 12' x 16' would have room to spare. We had some rain, and our tent site which was # 60 appeared to be the one with the worst drainage (but the forestry staff said that they would fix that). Some of the other tent sites held no water while some held some, but ours was by far the worst. Water did drain off within a couple of hours, but this was the biggest problem we ran into. Lots of trees, lots of room between tent sites and all tent sites are well within easy walking distance to the comfort station. The comfort station has three showers each for male and female, along with a washer and dryer (coin-operated) and a canned soda machine. The comfort station was clean, older, but still clean and the hosts do a great job of keeping it that way. The tent sites are not too far from the RV's and campers and everyone was respectful of everybody else and quiet time was well observed. This campground is about 30 minutes from Savannah, but it is an easy drive to get to. Richmond Hill is just a few miles away and the nearest grocery store that we found was Publix and this was an easy 10-minute drive. The fort itself is well maintained and interesting to tour. This is a campground that we would definetely stay at again. $25.00 a night and well worth it. Watch out for the racoons, though. They had everyone up our first night and they are cautious, but not scared and they came right through while we were cooking out on our second night there.

Room Tip: all of the tent sites are choice sites; depends on how close you want to be to the comfort station a...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlabamaDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond Hill
8.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Hill Inn
8.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Richmond Hill
Econo Lodge Richmond Hill
#5 of 11 in Richmond Hill
112 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95/Richmond Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Super 8 Richmond Hill
Super 8 Richmond Hill
#6 of 11 in Richmond Hill
165 reviews
9.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah Gateway
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Richmond Hill/savannah
Days Inn Richmond Hill/savannah
#8 of 11 in Richmond Hill
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort McAllister State Historic Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort McAllister State Historic Park Campground

Address: 3894 Fort McAllister Road, Richmond Hill, GA 31324-4862
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Richmond Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Richmond Hill
Price Range: $3 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Fort Mcallister State Historic Park Campground Hotel Richmond Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing