We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Putting the squeeze on guests since...”
Review of Savannah South KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond Hill
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Savannah South KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Winchendon, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Putting the squeeze on guests since...”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This location is beautiful. The staff were very helpful...until it came time to extend our stay. We had reserved one night and indicated we might spend a second. The staff authorized a second night with our permission.

When we went to the office to extend, we were told that we had been upgraded to a pull through suite because of our late arrival. We were then told that if we wanted to stay, we would be charged the extra rate. Or only other option was to move to another site.

We were pretty annoyed by this. I know I didn't choose to upgrade me, and I didn't appreciate being squeezed for an extra $14. Since getting the rate we had been promised would have required us to move anyway, we just packed up and moved on to another site.

So on a night when the site was not sold out, the management lost a $35 dollar sale over greed...not what I consider southern hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fairestories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    47
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
45
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Central Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Friendly staff, level campsites, adequate number of bathroom fixtures, roads due tend to flood during heavy rains. There were 25 boy scouts staying there while we camped but did not make our stay any less enjoyable. Electricity adequate for our needs. Easy access to US Hwy 17.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in a 2 room cabin, air conditioned and we brought our own linens. Clean and right on a peaceful lake with swans and geese and ducks. Had rec room with fridge and microwave and we could eat meals there as there were tables. Big roomy couch's with cable tv to watch in rec room. Bathrooms immaculate. Loved the pool. Had tour pick ups for downtown Savannah and we were able to get our tickets at front desk. Loved it and will go back!

Room Tip: All cabins were on the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjcamper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
345 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

One of the best campgrounds iSve stayed. Beautiful pool, nice game room, great location. Stay in a cabin to make a visit to Savannah affordable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelsWithRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Richmond Hill hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Richmond Hill Inn
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95/Richmond Hill
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Richmond Hill/savannah
Days Inn Richmond Hill/savannah
#8 of 11 in Richmond Hill
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Richmond Hill
Super 8 Richmond Hill
#5 of 11 in Richmond Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Richmond Hill
Econo Lodge Richmond Hill
#6 of 11 in Richmond Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Savannah S I-95 Richmond Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah South KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah South KOA

Property: Savannah South KOA
Address: 4915 US Highway 17, Richmond Hill, GA 31324-8808
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Richmond Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Richmond Hill
Number of rooms: 65

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing