We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite establishment defined by its friendly staff, culinary sophistication and sublime views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Pablo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Exquisite establishment defined by its friendly staff, culinary sophistication and sublime views”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Time stands still at Amatierra! This is the place to go for relaxation and body therapy in Costa Rica. The resort grounds not only mirror a botanical garden, but it is also well-kept, very secure, and staffed by a group of people who are very passionate about physiology as it relates to nutrition and yoga. Jill and Bob at Amatierra will transform the way you think about food and body rest through their promotion of healthy alternative whole foods and gentle exercise. You will discover so much about yourself and the world here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Cheney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    40
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
87
99
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a very memorable trip and the first time I remember returning from a vacation when I didn't need more days off to recover from vacation. My husband planned a trip for my birthday, knowing I was exhausted and needed to recharge. This trip surpassed every expectation. We started our days with yoga led by Jamie on a platform overlooking the rainforest. Each day we alternated between activity (trip to national park, beach and private waterfall - all FUN) and poolside / reading, relaxing and hiking the property (one day in our rain jackets during downpour which took me back to childhood when I didn't stay inside when it rained). We had massages (GREAT) and have I mentioned the food? Oh my! Every meal made me feel satisfied, pampered, and healthy because of the attention to detail that goes into preparing the organic, fresh meals (this is a reason we chose Ama Tierra and it did not disappoint). Jill and Bob are gracious hosts that pay attention to every detail to make their guests feel welcome and looking forward to their next visit. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lariutx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Visited AmaTierra for my husband's birthday. Wonderful, very relaxing 3 days.
Great, friendly hosts.
Wonderful meals, all very healthy and delicious - I even brought back their cooking book to try them at home.
We also enjoyed the yoga classes at an amazing location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was a trip to remember. I have never done Yoga before but am determined to find a place where I can practice. The people are soooo friendly that I just wanted to take them all home with me. :-) The food is heathful, abundant and delicious. The view is incredible and the weather was perfect. What more can one ask for....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The stay at Ama Tierra was amazing, and met all expectations. I was looking for a relaxing retreat to re-energize and detox. Both Jill and Bob, as well as the staff, made me feel welcome and taken care of. I had to think of nothing, but relaxing. Even though I was on the detox program, the food was really good. The yoga classes, meditation, and holistic facilities were perfect! I had no desire to leave the grounds during my 5 days there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaFe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I had an amazing week at AmaTierra. I arrived frazzled and overwhelmed, and left a week later feeling healthier, stronger mentally and physically, and rested. The setting is undoubtedly beautiful; but the hidden beauty is in the spiritual growth experienced within. Daily yoga, meditations, massage, delicious and nutrient-rich foods, light hiking and swimming are all part of the daily experiences. The warmth of the staff and ease of their routine is comforting, Bob is a warm and humerus host, Jill is an exceptionally gifted herbalist and a lovely host; they combine their efforts to provide an inviting wellness center in a soothing environment. Thank you Ama Tierra!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnaZorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatierra, Owner at Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We so enjoyed having you here and glad that you could rejuvenate, refresh and relax, as that is our goal for our guests here at Amatierra and of course here some good music and breath the very clean air and enjoy the great weather we have here in the region we live
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had a great week at Amatierra. The retreat was truly breathtaking. The food amazing and the people so nice. Very much enjoyed the meditation and the nurturing yoga. Perfect place to recharge the body, mind and soul. Jill, Bob and the rest of the staff work hard to make the stay a special one, and always working around any special considerations required by guests. I look forward to returning and introducing family and friends to this amazing place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbird_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amatierra, Owner at Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the kind words and we hope to see more of the wonderful people from Canada
at our retreat center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pablo
18.7 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
835 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Retreat Costa Rica
22.3 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 41 in Jaco
1,311 reviews
21.6 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 41 in Jaco
553 reviews
23.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center

Property: Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
Address: San Pablo De Turrubares, San Pablo 40901, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Pablo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Pablo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 room Eco Mountain Retreat Center 50 minutes from the San Jose Airport who specializes in healthy foods, Yoga Retreats, meditation, and many other wellness services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amatierra Hotel Province Of Puntarenas
Amatierra Retreat And Wellness Center Costa Rica/San Pablo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing