We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
Nearby Hotels
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barons Resort(Atenas)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$99
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cerro Lodge(Tarcoles)(Great Value!)
$69
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Rosa de America(Alajuela)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$43
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
287
45
12
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
287
45
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsama tierracosta ricayoga studioat homeget awayother guestsmy friendperfect placemorning yoganational parkgreat experiencelife changingnew friendsspa treatmentswonderful hostscan't wait to go backchicken
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 351 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Jill and Bob are excellent hosts at Ama Tierra. We'd been to Costa Rica before and stayed on a beach. The reason we chose Ama Tierra this time was for the cooler climate and the yoga. The climate was great and the yoga was a perfect start to our mornings. Ama Tierra is situated on a lush hillside with spectacular views. We enjoyed the people, the food, and especially an impromptu music night of singing around the piano.

Each casita/condo is appointed with a small fridge, normal bathroom with bathtub/shower, and in ours the two beds were separated by a wall so there was a sense of privacy. The yoga studio is nearly completed. Amazing views, amazing location.

Over all, a great experience. It is situated on a hillside, so it is not wheelchair accessible. But because of the stairs, the yoga, the great food and wonderful people you meet you'll leave feeling much more fit and RELAXED than when you came. It is definitely more of a retreat than a hotel, so if that's what you're looking for, you're in luck.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mockingbird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Imagine doing yoga on a beautiful clear morning, surrounded by mango trees as toucans and other colorful birds fly by. Our stay in Costa Rica was amazing and Ama Tierra contributed much to the magic. Situated in a less touristed area of Costa Rica, the views of the mountains are magnificent, there are trails to walk on to view wildlife, the rooms are simple but very comfortable and private. The food is delicious and plentiful. It's a great place to base out of to take day trips or to simply relax and be in nature.

All of this is terrific in and of itself, but the thing that makes Ama Tierra unique are the owners and staff. Staying at Ama Tierra is like visiting friends. Jill and Bob are warm and caring , wonderful people. They , and Dan, take the time to talk with you, to help you plan how you want to spend your time. Jill is a gifted healer and teacher and musician. Bob is such a gracious host, there to greet you when you return from an adventure or to offer a glass of wine before dinner or just to talk. It only took us one day to begin calling Ama Tierra "home". Everyone who works at Ama Tierra is friendly. The guides who work for them are knowledgable, interesting people. Everyone is fun!

If you like you can eat dinner apart, but most guests like to dine together at a big table on the balcony. Conversation is lively. It's food for body, heart and soul. I can't say enough about what a fantastic place this is! This is the only place I've ever stayed where, upon leaving, i was hugged by the owners, staff and guests.
A++++!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paintswimdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

I just wanted to mention that Amatierra is quite a lovely spot with tons of potential although it is not the YOGA/WELLNESS retreat that I expected .

Hopefully, once the yoga studio and staffing is complete, it will live up to it's name at 100 percent.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jetsetgo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

My girlfriend and I booked a room for a night and got there just in time for a brief evening yoga class in the not-yet-done yoga studio. The class was great and the sunset view of the mountains view was absolutely spectacular; when that studio is done it will probably have one of the best locations in the country. Jill and Bob were great, genuine, and down to earth hosts that made the experience so much more enjoyable. We did not have the appetite for the dinner, but we were able to indulge in a delicious bottle of South African Shiraz on the porch. The wine selection was great. We found out that Bob specially orders only good wines that customers will enjoy, which was quite a treat in that area of Costa Rica. The walk down to the stream and around the property was a bit disappointing, a little too short for what we were expecting, but it did bring us to the beautiful pool earlier for a morning swim. The rooms were a perfect size with great mirrors, according to my girlfriend, and a very comfortable bed. If you enjoy a movie before bed, Jill and Bob have an expansive selection to choose from and each room comes equipped with a DVD player. Great experience and we would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotshotiguana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

My two friends & I were looking for a hotel in the central valley/central pacific area for a week long stay. I stumbled over Ama Tierra on accident. We spent a week there & had a great time. I don't think we fit the normal profile of most of the guests, but we really enjoyed ourselves.
The staff were great! Bob & Dan were very helpful in setting up excursions as well as seeing to our needs. Bob's got some great stories also! The drivers Juan & Popo were great as well. We also made friends with a lot of the other guests, & they were fun to hang out with.
The food, although not what we were used to, was wonderful! Big servings with plenty of seconds. The trout pasta was my favorite!
The climate is really nice, just open the windows & fall asleep.
If you're looking for a party hotel, this isn't for you, but if you want to enjoy Costa Rica's nature & ecology, this is it!
We had a great time & strongly recommend AmaTierra!

Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BigHeads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews