We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Inn at Mulberry Grove
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Reviewed August 13, 2008

My mom and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend and just loved it. The rooms were very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The staff at the front desk (especially Renee) were so helpful and friendly. I called to ask her for directions twice while we were driving around the historic district and she stayed on the phone with me until we were at the right place, talking me through the whole thing. I was so appreciative.
Breakfast was very good and the serving staff was kind as well. I would definately stay here again. Thanks for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethanyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Mulberry Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 321 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2008

I am really surprised by the bad reviews of this place. I'm not doubting the reviewers' honesty or anything, but it's like reading about a different motel from the one we stayed at. For $60 a night we got a nicely appointed room with two queen beds, writing table, overstuffed chair, fridge, and flatscreen TV. The service was wonderful from the time we walked in. We were given a friendly welcome and the desk staff were very personable and helpful with suggestions for restaurants and visiting Savannah. I didn't partake of the complimentary breakfast the next day but my wife said it was terrific and would have been well worth paying extra for.
The walls were a bit thin. We did hear some muffled voices from the next room but nothing major.
The location is what it is. It is not downtown and there's not much in the immediate vicinity but it is just off the interstate and it's not a bad drive to downtown.
We saw no creepy crawlies. Our room was quite clean.
I'm sorry others had a bad experience here but we loved it. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yankeedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed here because the rate seemed ideal at $59 with only a 18 minute drive into Historic Savannah. We canceled our reservation for the second night and made one across the street at the Wingate in (only $10 more, and totally worth it!).

There was a pubic hair in the bathtub, along with a few little bugs crawling around. I discovered gum on the headboard of the bed in the middle of the night. It was EXTREMELY loud all night long. The bedding had a grungy feel to it, I didn't even feel comfortable getting under the covers.

I will admit that I am a bit snobby when it comes to hotels, but this experience would make any barbarian cringe!

Do yourself a favor and pay the extra $ and try one of the surrounding hotels....you'll be happy you did!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hatnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Inn and couldn't have been
more pleased with our stay. The room was clean, had 2 queen
beds, desk, a couple of chairs, fridge and very interesting decor.
The hot breakfast was wonderful and was kept fully stocked.
It included eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, waffles, yogurt,
juices, fruit, cereals, sweet rolls, bagels, milk and coffee. The
staff was extemely helpful and friendly, Adjacent to the breakfast
area is a courtyard where you could enjoy your breakfast, as well.
Each night we would up using the microwave to reheat some
leftover items, had a bottle of wine and thoroughly enjoyed the
evening in the courtyard. The front desk was very helpful in
suggesting a couple of restaurants in downtown Savannah
during our stay. We plan to return to Savannah in the Fall and will stay at the Inn at Mulberry Grove, again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DickH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

While this hotel is cheap, it is not worth it. It is far from Savannah and had horrible service. While Savannah is only 8.2 miles away, it involves a trip through the bad side of town and takes about 20-25 minutes. Our air went out in the room overnight. We tried to call the front desk numerous times and did not receive an answer.

The breakfast was horrible. The room was too small, there was a hair in our biscuit, the biscuits were ice cold, the food itself was horrible. There was nothing worth staying at this hotel for. The walls were paper thin, we heard noise every time someone went down the steps. We booked two nights with high hopes, and ended up cancelling our 2nd night (without a refund) to stay at another hotel...which was 3 times the price, but worth the money. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Don't let the good reviews written by the hotel staff fool you.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby56134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We were coming to Savannah for a July 5th wedding. The bride's family had booked several rooms at this hotel for Friday night only. Since we had never been to Savannah, we deceided we would travel down on the 3rd of July, so as to have an extra day to sightsee, and enjoy some of the restaurants. I called the Mulberry Grove in Port Wentworth, and spoke with Donna. Told her that we were considering coming a day earlier, and inquired whether or not she had rooms. She said she had plenty of rooms for Thursday night, and that availability would not be a problem. Asked if she needed a credit card to hold the room, but she said no, since there was planty of space available. Told me if we changed our mind and decided not to come on Thursday to call her "sometime on the 3rd and let her know". We drove the five hours to Port Wentworth, with our three small children, adn arrived at the hotel. It was basically an old Days Inn with new paint. On top of this, they has no pool for the kids. Since we were paying for this night, and not the bridal party, we decided to look around the area for a more suitable hotel for the kids. We drove closer into Savannah (Mulberry Grove is several exits away from downtown Savannah), and found several wonderful hotel choices, all with pools for the kids. On top of the much nicer amenities, the cost was cheaper than Mulberry Grove. Once we decided on a hotel, I called Donna at Mulberry Grove, and told her that we had decided to stay closer to savannah and have a pool for the kids. She apparently didn't like this information and she proceded to tell me that she was going to charge me anyway, because I didn't give her enough notice. (Although she said call her sometime that day, so I was fullfilling her request). I told her she didn't have my credit card info, becasue she tols me there was plenty of room available, and she didn't need it. She then told ne she was going to charge the brides credit card number for this night!!!! Told her she couldn't do that, it was my reservation, not the brides. She replied "I will do it anyway". Couldn't believe the unprofessionalism with this lady. Beware of this hotel, especially the front desk people (i.e. Donna). If you are just picking this exit to stay, go across the street and choose one of the other hotels, don't waste your time or money with Mulberry Grove Inn in Port Wentworth. There is nothing to "write home about" concerning this hotel, unless you are detailing the fraudulent means they use to get your money!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
1  Thank Bulldogfansfromsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

The Hotel was okay,we stayed for three nights. our room walls had stains on them and a poorly done makeover job. Our biggest issue was with the thinnest walls you could imagine, there was a VERY loud couple in the room next to us and you could hear them every word they said and they kept smoking in front of our room and the smoke went right from the outside to the inside. The rooms were alright but not extrmemly clean. This hotel doesnt seem to value its customers repeat buisness because i left something and they did find it and are returning it to me with an added charge of 5.00 for having to move their butts to look for it. i dont mind paying for the cod but there was no good explanation as to why they added 5.00. Well its costing them alot more than that inconvenience charge as i will make sure to post this all over the web review sites and i will never stay there again. do yourself a favor book at a bigger chain with higher standards and a corporate office so that way if you have problems they will be resolved. I can guarantee you that here is you have a problem your just gonna have to deal with it. we would have left the first night but they had already had our credit card charged and i know it would have not been refunded.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 1,234,567,820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Wentworth hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn I 95 North Savannah
Sleep Inn I 95 North Savannah
#8 of 12 in Port Wentworth
230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Savannah North I-95
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus North Savannah
Best Western Plus North Savannah
#4 of 12 in Port Wentworth
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Port Wentworth
Travelodge Port Wentworth
#7 of 12 in Port Wentworth
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Savannah I-95 North
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 12 in Port Wentworth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Mulberry Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Mulberry Grove

Address: 101 Oleary Rd, GA Highway 21 @ Interstate 95 Exit 109, Port Wentworth, GA 31407-9661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Port Wentworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Price Range: $56 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Mulberry Grove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting budget boutique hotel benchmarks, the new showplace Port Wentworth hotel blends designer travel comforts, complimentary amenities (including southern breakfast, fast/secure internet and guestroom door parking, internet cafe/business center), privacy, handicap-friendly accommodations and the convenience of easy-in-and-easy-out Interstate 95. Located near the world-class Gulfstream Aerospace and Georgia Ports Authority (Port of Savannah), plus access to the area's cheapest gas (Pilot Truck Stop) and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Mulberry Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Mulberry Grove Hotel Port Wentworth
Hotel At Mulberry Grove
At Mulberry Grove Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing