We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Than Expected”
Review of Savannah Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Savannah Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Reviewed May 7, 2010

I was skeptical when I saw the price of the room but was pleasantly surprised when a concerned and personable clerk greeted us when we arrived late. She got us quickly to our room in the most expeditious manor imaginable. Although the building is older, the exterior shows signs of on going maintenance and it was clean. The room was clean, including the fresh smell. The refrigerator and microwave worked fine. Towels and the soap / shampoo were displayed professionally. The TV had around 77 channels including at least one premium. The bed comfy with extra pillows. Shower clean and water warm. Almost forgot free wi-fi that gave me "3 bars". For overnight or a base to explore the area: What more could ask for (especially at this price)?
BTW: The motel has a large banner at the entrance saying $39.95 and up. Tells me you might get a better rate if you call the hotel direct.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2010

While the Savannah Inn is 10mins from downtown Savannah I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere clean, comfortable and cheap. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast wasn't bad, toast, 2 cereal choices, waffles, orange juice and tea/coffee. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Its not 5 star that you would get downtown but at $32 /night it was more than I expected. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lily_2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

At $46 Inc. tax & fees, it could be better also. Nothing really wrong with the place but nothing right either. Room was adequate, service was ok & it's a easy on/off I-95. But the poor "continental breakfast" was very poor -- not even any milk for the cerial or coffee! Com'on, cerial with artificial coffee creamer?
TV remote in the office -- old TV
Tiny shower
In general, a worn & only adequate place for ONE night.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zzamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

When we booked my wife was somewhat apprehensive because of the price. The room was more than adequate for what we needed. Ideal location - only 10 mins from the main tourist areas at about a fifth of the price of 'in-town' hotels.

Service was the best - they honestly cared about our time in Savannah and did whatever they could to point us to the right places and help save us money (not a lot of places really care any more).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My family and I really enjoy our stay at the Savannah Inn. The staff was great and very helpful they not only gave us direction to historic savannah but also suggestions on what do when got there. This inn really made our trip worthwhile!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citeseeing31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We had a couple of nights here on a road trip out from Florida to explore Savannagh and Hilton Island. The hotel was great for that purpose and we would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerkshireJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

I had a horrible experience at this motel. But what do you expect for the price. I paid $27.00 a night on Hotwire and that's what I got. When I arrived there was no linen on the beds and no shower curtain. The front desk employee was very accomodating. The bed is comfortable but needs to be turned over, one side is loopsided from over use. But to add insult to injury I found a pair of men's underwear behind the bathroom door. Oh Gross!! (And I don't have a man and I dont enjoy wearing men's underwear) The housekeeper responded right away but what a wake up call. I guess I really can't complain but I am.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrldctz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarasbrats, Public Relations Manager at Savannah Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2009

We regret any issues that may spoil a stay at Savannah Inn. In this tough economy we are going out of our way to attract and accommodate guests. However, by making an exception to allow this guest to check in earlier than the 3PM (during an especially busy period), we now have a dissatified guest and owner. When guests check out promptly at 11a, the few hours between 11a and 3PM give housekeepers sufficient time to thoroughly clean and inspect rooms. However, the housekeepers were rushed on this day, made mistakes when readying the room or had not completed the inn's quality routine. The mistake is embarrasing and we truly apologize for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Wentworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites - Savannah North I-95
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn I 95 North Savannah
Sleep Inn I 95 North Savannah
#8 of 12 in Port Wentworth
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mulberry Grove
Inn at Mulberry Grove
#9 of 12 in Port Wentworth
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Savannah -  I-95 North
Hampton Inn Savannah - I-95 Nor...
#1 of 12 in Port Wentworth
983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 12 in Port Wentworth
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Savannah I-95 North, GA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savannah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savannah Inn

Address: 100 Travelers Way, Port Wentworth, GA 31407-9223
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Port Wentworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Port Wentworth
Price Range: $59 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Savannah Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Savannah Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savannah Hotel Port Wentworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing