We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great service”
Review of Sweet Tea Grille

Sweet Tea Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bloomingdale, ga
2 reviews
“Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been several times to Sweet Tea Grille and live nearby. You can count on locals to steer you in the right direction, I eat out often and always enjoy the food and the atmosphere at Sweet Tea Grille.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    209
    68
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wish I knew how to make the Soul Rolls!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I could of made a meal on the Soul Rolls! Then I would if missed out on the collard, fried green tomatoes and country fried steak!! Great down home cookin'

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi4girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average but OK for a Chain Restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We were staying near by on a trip down to Fort Myers, this place was recommended as being good.  Food was OK, nothing special, service was good as well and the place was very busy for a 8pm on a Saturday, and the time we left at 9:20 almost empty.

Helpful?
Thank next50years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

On a recent trip to Savannah, a good friend took my wife I to Sweet Tea Grille for appetizers and drinks. We like going to non chain restaurants and were told the restaurant had recently opened. It was exceptionally clean and nicely decorated. The drink menu had some unusual but fantastic choices that we had never seen on menus before. The Pecan PIe martini was a desert in a glass. A really big hit! They also have a drink called the Chatham Artillary Punch, and they explained the history and its ties to Savannah. The appetizers were excellent, and included a Soul Roll, which again, we had not seen on other menus. While there, we met the owner and manager . They and the other staff were attentive and friiendly. We had a great time. On our next trip to Savannah we will defindately go back for dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PHogan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average, but new and improving”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We read the reviews and took note of the caveats, but it was close & convenient, and had been recommended to us by a lady at the Georgia Welcome Center, so we went.

We found a restaurant that is relatively new, has a young staff, and is still largely finding its legs. Depending on who you are and what you need, that can be fine, or it can be a problem. I'm a celiac (gluten intolerant), which means I can't eat anything made with or from wheat, barley, rye, and usually oats. The young waitress had never heard of celiac disease, didn't know about gluten intolerance, but was more than willing to go back and forth between the table and the kitchen to find out what they could and couldn't do for me. I was not 100% sure the kitchen knew what to do, so played it safe with things where they could tell me exactly what the ingredients were, and it worked out fine.

The food was tasty, the portions generous, the server very pleasant, and the restaurant was pretty enough. The drinks were nice, but open to question. The Cabernet I had was undistinguished. The martinis we had were enormous but not as potent as I would expect given that size, which raises interesting questions. The bar seems stocked with mostly premium brands, which are nevertheless not that expensive by northern standards. All told, a very pleasant experience, if not perfectly polished.

If you go in knowing that there are rough edges, then you (probably) won't be disappointed. Going in for a special night out might not be the best idea. We found the experience to be good, but could see how it could be uneven. I enjoyed the evening, and believe this restaurant will get better as they become more experienced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank World_Futurist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tea Grille also viewed

 
Port Wentworth, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sweet Tea Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing