We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Celebrate and Support Our Heroes”

National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air Force
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Pooler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air Force preserves the stories of courage, character and patriotism displayed by the men and women of the Eighth Air Force from World War II to present.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Celebrate and Support Our Heroes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our 10 day trip to Gettysburg and Savannah. The generation of men and women that served in WWII are highlighted in this fantastic display of our history. Definitely worth the trip. We spent about 3 hours touring the exhibits and honoring the service of these men and women.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    117
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gainesville, fl
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A MUST GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This museum is so well done and so organized. Upon entering there was a docent that explained the museum and the history of the mighty eight. The rotunda area has scaled down replicated models of several planes with busts of high ranking officers of the time. The fee is 10 dollars for adults, 5 for children I believe from ages 6-12 are 6 dollars. AARP, Seniors and retired military are $9. WWII veterans are free. Active military is $6. The museum begins at the beginning of the events of WWII and goes through the final declaration of the end of the war. There are videos in several areas with actual depictions of events that began, in specific the start of the war involving England. There is also a video of the interior of a B 17, telling the story of a gunnery soldier. There is an actual B 17 plane in the main area which also houses side exhibits to include several memorabilia of the bomber groups, the different factions of the mighty 87th and also an exhibit of the Tuskegee airmen. There is ALOT to read and to really see this museum and experience all that it has to offer, take several hours to go through it. There is a guide that explains the path an believe me it is worth seeing. There was so much to see, so much to experience and whats neat is even young children will marvel over what is there. There is a booth that people and children can go into in the same area of the plane that simulates air combat. This museum is located in Pooler Georgia so from Savannah its about a half hour. There is a café there too so if you want to eat there before, after or during your trip you can. I believe you can re enter once you leave the main museum to eat but just check for sure. I was very impressed with the care and the honor paid to our service members in these exhibits and was humbled at the harsh reality of that time, the debt that I owe to these soldiers and the world that this museum introduced me to. Great place and experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shunkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I are not military, but appreciate all that the defense has and continues to do for our freedom. Living near DC we are able to visit all kinds of "famous" museums, but this BY FAR was the best! Make time for this museum, make time for the virtual room...I was in TEARS! Our guide during the virtual tour was amazing and honorable. A veteran, he shared truths about his adventure that will stick with me forever. Plan on a good half day to read everything and chat with the Veterans. Amazing! Another favorite exhibit was the one that talked about the local Europeans that were hiding soldiers and getting them back to freedom!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsons Station, TN
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend Some Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had some time before having to be at the airport for our flight home so we went to this museum. If you like WWII info, especially flying history, you'll enjoy your time here. There are lots of exhibits, a couple of full size planes, B17, and some smaller scale reproductions. It's inexpensive and air conditioned, great for those hot southern days.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Ga
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Important History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Everyone should see this and thank the US military for all they do everyday. Nice place to spend a rainy day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air Force also viewed

 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to National Museum of the Mighty Eighth Air Force? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing