We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Girl Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Callaway Resort & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We decided that we would take a girl trip to see the Fantasy in Lights. We bought the hotel package. The hotel staff was very accommodating. They checked us in rapidly, told us to take their shuttle to the venue, gave us best times, and recommended where to eat. We thought overall the price was very reasonable to include the room (clean, nice and remodeled ) and tickets to the lights and tram ride. We had a great time. We ate breakfast the next morning at the country store. Good..much like Cracker Barrel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

It is a great pleasure to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with Callaway Gardens and visiting Fantasy In Lights. The Fantasy In Lights package is a great get away for a family or just as you did a great friends trip. It is a wonderful way to make memories with your friends. Again we are so pleased that you spent time with us during this busy holiday season. Please join us again soon. Best Wishes in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 656 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at the Pine Mountain Cabins for two nights to see the Christmas lights show at the Gardens. Check-in was chaotic due to many holiday guests but the staff were cheerful and welcoming. We reserved a two bedroom cabin which actually turned out to be a two one bedroom units separated by an "double locking adjoining room door". This was not as described on the Callaway website. We felt a bit cheated given the $400 per night rate we paid. Other surprises were the internet service did not work - management sent a repair person out who stated the router needed to be replaced and he would be right back with the replacement - never saw or heard from him again. The biggest surprise was a medium size pine tree fell over on the cabin, snapped into several large pieces and littered the deck with branches, see photo. Two of our party narrowly escaped being struck. The management was underwhelmed by this and the men they sent to assess the damage and clean up the mess acted as it this sort of thing is to be expected.
Would we stay again? No, not at the Pine Mt. cabins. We love the Gardens but next time we'll stay in Columbus.

Room Tip: Stay in Columbus at a name brand hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TroyGuy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thank you for recently staying with us here at Callaway Gardens but more importantly taking time to leave your feedback. Feedback positive or constructive such as yours is the main method we use for celebrating our success but also drilling into where we can do better and immediately taking action. I am sorry that you felt that our Cottages are not full 2 bedroom units but in reality they definitely are but the one room has the ability to be locked off as well. As for the lack of follow up with your internet service and tree coming down, we sincerely apologize about that and will follow up immediately with those Managers to ensure that type of response never happens again.

Please be assured we will address your concerns and continue to strive to provide our guests the best possible experience here at our wonderful property, and hope that you might give us another opportunity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Granted this is probably the busiest time of year for the Mountain Creek Inn, but check in was a nightmare! We had reserved 5 rooms for my family and although we arrived at check in time only 2 of the 5 rooms were ready. Make that 1 room.... My sister in law was actually given the room key to a storage room for mattresses. We had to visit the check in desk several times to get things straightened out. Rooms are clean, however. Free Wifi is appreciated. Lighting is poor.
We also had a very poor experience in the sit down restaurant inside the Inn. Waiter forgot to put our order in... We sat for almost an hour waiting for the food to arrive. Once it did arrive, it was still considered subpar. Part of our family ate at the pasta buffet and really enjoyed it... We wish we had eaten there. The Light show was nice but on the wettest night of the year, the leaky trolleys were not ideal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent experience at Callaway Gardens. Guest feedback is the main way that we can celebrate our successes like the cleanliness of the rooms and the Pasta Buffet but also how we can address our challenges like the subpar arrival experience and dinning inside the Vineyard Green. We take all of our feedback very seriously and will take this back to our teams for immediate dialogue and action.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback and we do hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future.

Happy Holidays,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Callaway Gardens offers a number of specials--the most reasonable being a $99 one-night stay at the Mountain Creek Inn. The rate includes Fantasy of Lights admission and admission to all the Callaway Garden facilities--gardens, butterfly center, horticulture center, discovery center, etc. Your stay at the Inn is practically free when you consider Fantasy of Lights tickets are $17-24 per person!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank DGAT1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Fantasy In Lights is well worth the visit and with the $99 Fantasy In Lights Package, you can't beat it! We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit here at Callaway Gardens. Fantasy In Lights is a great way to start off the holiday season and also make many great memories. The 8 million lights, and the scenes on the beach and even Santa in the Christmas Village make a great night of fun. Thank you for visiting with us and we hope that we will see you again in the future. Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the second year in a row that we've brought our daughter to the Festival In Lights. My rating is low because of our experience, but i feel the property is actually better than a "3". First the positive. The location is excellent. Less than 5 minutes from the Festival entrance. If you're a bike rider, you can rent bicycles from the hotel and can ride to Callaway gardens directly from the property. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean with new carpet and furniture. The negative. We arrived very late and our door did not lock. They were very quick to send maintenance and he offered to fix it immediately or move us. Our young daughter was having none of it, however so we decided to ride it out till morning. They did fix it first thing the next morning. As a previous reviewer stated, the rooms are a little dark. The shower head is mounted very low. I'm only six feet tall, but the shower head was pointed at my navel. Also, the tub did not drain properly. The complementary coffee is very poor.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank gtgator828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with our property. Guest feedback is by far the best way we can celebrate the things we are doing well or address things that we need to do better.

We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and that we had some shortcomings with your room.

Again we are so sorry that you felt you had a subpar experience and we will take your feedback and continue to work hard to provide each and every guest that comes to Callaway the best possible stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Rooms have been refurbished, new paint, carpet and linens. Because this is an older building the sound proofing is not upgraded, you can hear conversations in the next room which can be disturbing if you are trying to sleep. I thought is was clean and comfortable for its age.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dNjs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing Mountain Creek Inn as your destination of lodging. As stated the rooms have been renovated. We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations regarding the sound proofing between rooms. Those items will be addressed immediately to our Department Managers for review.

Your time spent with us is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again.

Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stopped for one night on way back from Florida. Last night of vacation decided to stop and see Christmas Lights. Took the trolley for the light show. We stayed at the Mountain Inn, lovely and clean. The room were comfortable and clean. Bathrooms clean not large but I don't live in the bathroom, it served the propose. As far as lighting goes it was good enough. The price of the room includes entrance to the gardens, so people need to deduct that from the price of the room before they start to complain about the price. Have stayed here twice and been satisfied both times. The restaurants are a little pricey but, they are other places to eat. You just have to go get it. Over all will go back and recommend to other people. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300's have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PATRICIA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Resort & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Happy Holidays! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Fantasy In Lights was a hit with the family. The Mountain Creek Inn was renovated earlier this year and the rooms are nice and cozy. Your stay with us is appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn and Resort
Mountain Top Inn and Resort
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
235 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Resort & Gardens
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
16.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites LaGrange / I-85
3.2 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Resort & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Resort & Gardens

Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range: $130 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Resort & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Resort & Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Callaway Resort & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing