We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantasy in Lights overnight package” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantasy in Lights overnight package”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in the Mountain Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable. Our room was not restocked with toilet paper and very little was left from the guest before us. We notified housekeeping and they had it to us in less than 5 minutes. I've seen a lot of reviews where others thought the front staff were unfriendly. They were nothing but professional and courteous to us. We had breakfast in The Plant Room as part of our package and the food was very good! The light show was beautiful and my 2 year old loved it. Only because of the large crowds was that part of our trip a little hectic but that's to be expected anywhere there's a large crowd. Once we were on the trolley all was well. I think we will come back again next year for the light show. All in all I would recommend the Fantasy in Lights package.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeniseOB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Housekeeping and the Front Desk work hard to please everyone. The Lights are a great way to start off the Holiday Season. Your visit with us is appreciated and we hope to see you in the future. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    157
    126
    83
    54
See reviews for
224
161
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Shore, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

stayed here for a weekend was not crazy about the room right under a stairway and brought that to there attention and they quite friendly and offered me another room which I was quite happy with very accommodating. food was great. the whole area was beautiful!! if only they had a hill with snow to ski on!!! room was clean, the housekeepers were friendly and professional. kept our room stocked with clean towels, soaps ,bathgels, etc...you can see they are doing a lot of work and it can only get better!! I will be back!!! thank you calloway gardens!!

Room Tip: if you do not like your room just ask for another I am sure that if they can they will give you anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. Feedback is our number one way to try and continue to make improvements to both our product and service to further enhance the guest experience here at Callaway Gardens. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and visit with us here at Callaway Gardens. The staff at the front desk and housekeeping have both worked really hard at making everything enjoyable and that all guest are happy with their stay.

Again, thank you so much for taking time to leave your feedback, it is valued, and we will pass your review along to those involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

New paint can't cover up maintenance needs. This place needs some work.

Housekeeping starts banging on doors at 8 AM, and comes by every 30 minutes thereafter. I typically take baths, not showers, but after starting the bath water and seeing hair and dirt rise out of the drain I opted for a shower instead. The coffee is provided by a one-cup coffee maker, 8 ounce Styrofoam cups, and a cheapo coffee pack. God forbid you need more than the 2 provided, because it took 2 calls to the front desk and over an hour to get them.

We got the Fantasy in Lights package, which included breakfast, and there was a 45 minute wait for that. It was a very good breakfast once you got in. When we stayed there before, you had the option of eating breakfast at the Callaway Country Store Restaurant about 1/2 mile down the road, which eliminated the wait and has a fabulous view in addition to excellent breakfast but that has been done away with. I guess they save some $$ though, since many people went to eat their breakfast elsewhere rather than wait.

Room Tip: Go to Chipley Murrah House B&B (about 1 mile away)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shinysideup2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with our property. Guest feedback is by far the best way we can celebrate the things we are doing well or address things that we need to do better.

We are very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and that we had some shortcomings in our cleanliness, and service waits. Those items will be addressed immediately to our Department Managers for corrective action. The reason that we can do not allow our breakfast package guests to dine at the Country Store is because when we did that it backed that restaurant up for hours because of the nature and type of restaurant. When trying to serve hundreds of guests in short periods of time buffets provide much quicker service.

Again we are so sorry that you felt you had a subpar experience and we will take your feedback and continue to work hard to provide each and every guest that comes to Callaway the best possible stay.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Mountain Creek Inn at Callaway for the four day Thanksgiving weekend. What a good place to stay, less than five minutes to Callaway Gardens, quick efficient check in, clean and well maintained rooms. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for floor level if you have problems walking up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcobb31408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay with us at Mountain Creek Inn. The rooms at Mountain Creek Inn were renovated earlier this year. It sounds like you had a very enjoyable stay. We hope you enjoyed Fantasy In Lights and the Christmas Village as well. Your business is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTERVILLE
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is our fourth visit to enjoy the fantasy of Lights. A very cold night but very enjoyable. Made the trolley ride exciting.
Christmas is always a must visit. Unique gifts. Always have hot cocoa when you get off the trolley. Need warming.
Will go again in a couple of years. Make a few change each time we have gone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JERRY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Fantasy In Lights. Fantasy In Lights is a great way to start off the holiday season. The light show, Santa Claus, and hot coca make for a full night of family fun. Your visit with us is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here 11/26/13 because of a $99 deal that included a trip through their Christmas light display ( which was awesome). Check in was fine, and desk clerk was friendly. Room was clean, with the exception of a used washcloth hanging over the shower curtain rod, yuck. Went out for light show and dinner at Eddie Mae's Kountry Kitchen, mom/pop place, good food. The next morning....I was lying in bed thinking about my return trip back home and Thanksgiving the next day. Then comes the housekeeping lady beating on the door at 8:24 am. I used 'beating' on purpose, because it certainly was more than a knock. I had placed the 'privacy please' thing on my door, she said it had blown off, it wasn't on the door any longer. But still, check out is 11:00 am. Why are they knocking on my door if they haven't verified that I'm gone via front desk? I've seen more beat up hotels than this using Wilkie-talkies for this purpose many times. I told her to come back later. Called front desk, she replied "We have no control over that." Haven't checked out yet.

Room Tip: Did not use spa, clicked by mistake, can't figure out how to unclick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for recently staying with our property and experiencing our new rooms and Fantasy in Lights. Your feedback is very important to us as we have already taken this back to our team for action because the dirty wash cloth and early interruption is unacceptable on our part. Unfortunately these days many guests do not check out via the front desk and many rooms will sit empty ready for cleaning for hours unless our teams start knocking which is acceptable after a decent hour but not at 8:30am so again I apologize.

We are glad you were able to take advantage of the great offer we were running and that you will come back and see us again in the near future!

Happy Holidays,
….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

In years past, we used to love visiting Callaway Gardens and looked forward to going every year. The last time we went it was so disappointing. The service was so bad, we had to go to three restaurants on the property before we could get served a meal. It was ridiculous. We stayed at the Inn and it was looking pretty shabby and overpriced for what it was. I recall filling out a comment card with suggestions and dropped it at the front desk. We were thinking about giving it another try over the holidays, but after reading so many negative reviews it sounds like not much has changed. Oh well, I guess we'll find something else to do instead.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catnip234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your recent planning trip to our property. I am sorry to hear that your last experience was less than satisfactory. As for updating the property we recently spent $2.5 million updating our rooms at the Mountain Creek Inn, and will continue to make further upgrades in the coming year to the lobby and other areas of the property in order to provide our guests with the type of property and service they expect from Callaway Gardens.

As for your comments regarding the Inn, you are correct it is an older building and our renovations and upgrades will continue as we are not finished and this will include a renovated lobby, continued upgrades to our bathrooms, and exterior upgrades to further enhance the guest experience from check-in to check-out.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we hope that in the future you may give us another opportunity to further enjoy our wonderful property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.2 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Property: Callaway Gardens
Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing