We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Spartan”
Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean and Spartan”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is well-kept and the parking - right outside the room door - is convenient. I was here on a conference and didn't have to pay for the room, so it served its purpose adequately. The staff were friendly and the food was decent.

If I were using this as a romantic getaway, were here on a vacation, or with a family I would be disappointed, and here is why:

-the walls are indeed "paper thin" as noted in another review. I awoke at 4:30 AM one morning to the sound of normal conversation from the room next door. One of my colleagues turned on the bathroom fan, and left it on all night, to drown out similar noise from the room adjoining hers.
-the mattress is acceptable, but the pillows are cheap and uncomfortable.
-the room with two double beds has one armchair.
-tiny bathroom
-there is room service, but no room service menu in the room
-the "garden view" was really a view of a large expanse of grass and a road with a lake beyond; pleasant but unexceptional.
-the ambience is spare and utilitarian.

If I return to this area on my own I would try a Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boedicea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your stay with us and your feelings if you were here for a different purpose. Feedback is our number one way to try and continue to make improvements to both our product and service to further enhance the guest experience here at Callaway Gardens. I am sorry that you had a few let downs including the room noise, pillows, bathroom size, and ambiance. Most of those items we are currently looking at fixing, or in the process already of enhancing.

Again, thank you so much for taking time to leave your feedback, it is valued, and we are taking action towards remedying a few of those items immediately, as well as looking a couple of the bigger items in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    170
    139
    87
    58
See reviews for
248
176
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I went last year for our anniversary weekend, left our pretty North Ga town to go to this "pretty" town further south. We checked into the Mtn Creek Inn...actually, we went to the lodge first, thought that's where we were staying, in my head that's what Callaway was....but no, the receptionist snobbishly sent us to the "motel".

I had been really excited about seafood buffet and all the other things the website promised, but as soon as the motel came into view, I knew none of my expectations would come to fruition. After checking in, we walked to our door, passing what looked like lots of locals--resembling vagrants--passed out on their beds with the doors wide open. Unsettling. I sent my husband to get us out of there fast.

He got us changed to a cabin, only slightly better--it was like a state park cabin, and dirty and threadbare. The place was also deserted, so it felt a little Deliverance-like. We had brought no food, so we decided to go get groceries. Would you believe there is only one grocer in Pine Mtn., and it had closed at about 4 pm? We ended up getting snacks like granola bars for dinner at the gas station, since none of the resort restaurants were open except the nasty looking one at the motel.

The next day we enjoyed riding our bikes around the garden. Nothing was in bloom that time of year, but the weather was nice. Again, the place was a ghost town. There was one manicured garden way in the back of the resort, that was nice. We went to the butterfly place. There were 25,000 butterflies on display....all the exact same species. Yup, the Blue Morpho butterfly gets old after you've seen 5. Jeez.

Visited the museum, a nice lady recommended a restaurant in town. I can't even remember the name. The food was good, the view of the parking lot was disappointing. The next morning we went to Callaways country store restaurant, where they were out of everything. I ate something bland, tasteless, and un memorable.

We couldn't wait to leave. We had paid hundreds of dollars to ride our bikes around a park for the day--could have easily done that at home. And probably seen more butterfly species too. It's like this place is a desperate ghost town, well past it's heyday, hanging on by a thread. I envisioned it to be classy. It was just pathetic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OMG_Beckay_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving your feedback regarding your stay with us here at Callaway Gardens but specifically the Mountain Creek Inn. Guest feedback whether it is positive or negative is very important to us as it is our main method for celebrating our successes or addressing our opportunities to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Loved our three bedroom villa, it was HUGE, beautifully decorated, three very large bedrooms with three private very large baths. #1671, at the end of the road, shaded and three separate outdoor areas. Could not have been more pleased with the accommodations . Had breakfast in the Plant Room, service was iffy, omelette station was my favorite. I would not recommend the Seafood Buffet. Aspens restaurant in town is delicious, especially the chocolate caramel nut cake/pie yum!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickspetbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your family get together and Birthday here are Callaway Gardens. Your stay in Villa #1671 will be passed along to the owners so that they know how much you enjoyed it. The Plant Room will be advised of your review so that any issues may be addressed with the staff and cooks. We appreciate you spending your birthday with us and we hope you were able to make many family memories. We look forward to you visiting with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Mountain Creek Inn is an older MOTEL! Although is was upgrades in 2013...it is still a MOTEL with a 1970's feel. The rooms are accessed from the outside (exterior doors). You have to walk across the parking lot to get ice. The room was clean...and that is the only positive I have about the room. The bathroom is extremely small and the shower has poor water pressure. The AC unit was very loud and the walls are paper thin (you can hear everything that goes on in the adjoining rooms).

My husband and I purchased a package via the Callaway Garden website (Summer Fun Package) which included beach, aqua island, gardens admissions, bike rental and tennis. When we arrived we were informed the beach and aqua island were closed for the summer (sans weekends). We purchased a 4 day stay (from Sunday - Thur) and no one bothered to call us to inform us the package we purchased would not be honored because a decision was made, 2 days prior to our arrival, to close the beach and aqua island early (WTH?). In fact..when we arrived the young man that checked us in gave us the bands for the package we purchased....he was then informed by another worker that a memo came out on Friday (2 days prior to our arrival) stating the beach and aqua island would be closed. Poor Customer Service.

The gardens were nice....can't comment on the beach or aqua island.

We also enjoyed our trip the Franklin Roosevelt's Little White House. GREAT!!!!

If I return to Callaway Gardens...I would not stay at the Mountain Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RondaJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback regarding your recent trip to Callaway Gardens. This type of feedback although very constructive is exactly what we need to continue to push ourselves to improve both our property and guest service through our onsite personnel and communication with guests. I am very sorry that we dropped the ball in communication and it seems we did it even further because although we closed Aqua Island, the beach itself was still very much open for our guests and remains open for swimming and access today September 20th, although all beach activities are currently closed.

As for your comments regarding the Inn, you are correct it is an older building and our renovations and upgrades will continue as we are not finished and this will include a renovated lobby, continued upgrades to our bathrooms, and exterior upgrades to further enhance the guest experience from check-in to check-out.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback and we hope that in the future you may give us another opportunity to further enjoy our wonderful property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Irwin, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I think this place is over rated. The rooms were well maintained motel rooms. Noisy bathroom door. Small bathroom but big full size beds. The staff were accommodating. Love the butterfly center. Went and drove around the golf course. Visited the lake. Not much going on there. I like the fact that this place throw a free admission on Labor days and 911. They also have a free entrance to military personnel. On my opinion, It's an ok place but the butterfly center is a must see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdavis5407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We appreciate your stay and visit with us here at Callaway Gardens. Mountain Creek Inn was renovated earlier in the year so the rooms are nice with queen size beds. The Butterfly Center along with the other attractions are great places to relax and enjoy nature. There are not many activities going on during the week this time of year but the weekends are usually busy. The summer months are always jam packed with different things to do such as paddle boats, swimming, hiking, biking, the FSU Flying High Circus, and lots of workshops. We do hope that we get to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

From April 23-April 29, 2013, I was at Callaway Gardens with my brother and his wife. We were
celebrating my decade birthday and they were both with me and at business meetings.

The facility offers many activities: Butterfly Center, Zip Lines, Beach, Water sports, Fishing,
Bicycling, Beautiful walk trails, Golf, Tennis, and beautiful gardens.

Accommodations were clean and very accessible. Food for all meals was very good.
The staff was very helpful and courteous.

We also enjoyed taking fun day trips that were not too far away including the winter home of President Franklin D. Roosevelt. It even had an interesting small museum that included fascinating historic information.

Overall, it was a delightful visit for all of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay here at Callaway Gardens. Our employees love to hear that things went well. Callaway Gardens does have allot to offer and there are many places to go site seeing as well. We appreciate you taking the time to send in the review but also for spending your birthday with us. We do hope that you and your family will make a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Was there for a three day work related meeting and compared to a lot of locations, this one was much more attractive with a much more attentive staff. The regular rooms are OK, but the suites were very roomy with a choice of 3 balconies on which to sit.

Kurig coffee maker, fridge, decent cable TV. All that said, not so sure I'd toss this into the list of where I'd stay on a budget, but for a middle Georgia get-away, with an upper end lodge atmosphere, this one is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for spending your business trip with us here at Callaway Gardens. We do our best to be attentive to each guest and make their stay enjoyable. Callaway Gardens has been around since 1959 here in middle Georgia and is a great place to relax and enjoy nature and mix in a little business as well. We do appreciate your business and we hope that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Property: Callaway Gardens
Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing