We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality but not luxury in the woods”
Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Quality but not luxury in the woods”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over Labor Day weekend in a 2-bedroom cottage in the pine trees. Went with our young kids, and the setting was great for the kids - plenty of space in the cottage, a pool to take them to nearby, a kitchen for breakfasts upon waking, and a nearby lake (Robin's Beach) that was a constant party all weekend with hot air balloon rides, kids activities, and of course swimming. I agree with other reviews about the property not feeling very fancy - would place it at 3 star (out of 5) luxury - but the cottage we were in was clean and everything worked. Would happily return for another weekend trip. Another advantage of the cottages is that they are next to the Marriott Lodge in Callaway and my wife loved her spa visit there. On-site food options were mixed, but we did have a very good BBQ lunch at a place just outside the grounds called the Whistling Pig. Most of the staff we talked to were very helpful and pleasant. The cleaning team that came to our room was especially pleasant.

Room Tip: Would recommend cottages or villas over the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay at the Southern Pine Cottages. The cottages are a great place for a family to stay. The rooms were large and the kids had enough room to play. Your comments on the housekeeping department will be passed along so that they know they did a great job this past weekend. Once again thank you for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    166
    136
    86
    57
See reviews for
236
173
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed a nice birthday getaway from Atlanta at Callaway. The gardens, treetop adventure, Garden dining, and biking was grand. The lodging at the Inn was very motel-like - but with that in mind, not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. The Mountain Creek Inn room were renovated earlier in the year. Thank you again for spending time with us and also for sending us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I checked into The Mountain Creek Inn at Callaway Gardens to use as a "base " to visit other attractions, such as The Little White House and Hills & Dales Estate nearby. For years this property was a Holiday Inn and the structure and rooms are the same. In 1913 the rooms underwent a complete interior makeover which resulted in a calming, comfortable space. The only rooms with a pleasant view are the "Garden Wing" which look out over a long lawn to a lake.The buffet breakfast was overpriced and though it offered many choices, most were bland except the fresh fruit and muffins. The staff were polite to a fault. There is a new conference center behind the hotel and I suspect their major income is from conventions.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "Gardens Wing." They are $30.00 per night more than the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler6Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for spending time with us and visiting the surrounding sights as well. Our area offers many attractions such as Callaway Gardens and nature to the Little White House to the FDR State Park. We do hope that you enjoyed all. Again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

End of summer getaway; stayed one week in the cottages in mid August just after school was back in session and found the resort quiet and peaceful, most onsite attractions were closed but the gardens were lovely and the Day Butterfly Center and the wild raptor show were awesome. The spa facilities were welcoming and the staff attentive. We rented a golf cart for the week and enjoyed the extra mobility that afforded. We spent a lot of time lounging by the pool and listening to the cicada buzz in the lush pine woods that surround the area. If you are looking for a place to just chill and enjoy natures beauty this just might be your ticket.

Room Tip: Don't sleep in and then try to find a breakfest spot, most places stop serving breakfest relatii...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alana117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your week long stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. The Gardens are a great spot to kick back and enjoy nature and it's friends at their best. This time of year is a great time to just relax and enjoy the sounds and sights. Your visit with us is appreciated and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A motel for the price of a Hilton. And it has been "renovated". Sorta of.
So musty my husband and I had to load up on Claritin.
AC unit antiquated kept us up at night.
You can hear the neighbor next door very well...and vice versa.

pass.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadiabertin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent experience with our resort. We are so sorry that you have mixed feelings about your experience with the resort in general. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and how we measure our success or address our challenges.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback. It is the only way that we as a Resort can consistently strive to provide a better product and experience to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I was extremely excited about this trip. Unfortunately it was disappointing. The hotel service was awful. We came early to get our tickets to the gardens and double checked that our room would be ready for check in at 4. We have two little children with us and times our exploration with the gardens with getting back to the hotel only to find the room was not ready until 5pm. Everything here is needs an update. They updated the rooms at the mountain creek in but they are still small and the extra we paid for a garden view room is actually a road with a very distant view of he golf course. I wish we had paid extra and stayed at the Marriott lodge and spa. Very disappointed. The front desk wait was unbearable and I could overhear many complainers with very little resolution from the front desk. Will not come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandallasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your candid feedback regarding your recent experience with our resort. Guest feedback is extremely important to us and how we measure our success or address our challenges. We are so sorry that you have mixed feelings about your experience with the resort in general. We recently spent close to $3 million dollars in renovations and are consistently looking at our property needs through capital improvements and do plan to make many more extensive improvements in the near future.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback. It is the only way that we as a Resort can consistently strive to provide a better product and experience to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, GA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The renovated rooms are quite nice. They have a relaxing color scheme and plenty of space! Check in was easy and the front desk attendants were very nice. When we called about getting a refrigerator, a guest service representative came within 5 minutes with a refrigerator! Room was very clean. We enjoyed our view of the Grand Lawn and golf course, as well. The price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mountain Creek Inn. The rooms have been renovated and everyone is enjoying them. The view from the rooms that overlook the golf course are awesome. Thank you for spending time with us and for sending us in a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Property: Callaway Gardens
Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing