We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“very dated”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The rooms at Mountain Creek Inn are nothing special for sure. I would have hated to see them before the "remodeling." They are clean but only one sink, can't close bathroom door without raising toilet seat for clearance, air conditioner is the noisiest we have ever encountered (awakened us often and kept us awake), room attendant did not leave the correct number of washcloths, new soap, replacement cups, etc. on any day of our 5 day stay (said short of supplies) and one day entire bathroom floor was covered with chunks of dirt from someone's shoes. The food at the breakfast and evening buffets were "average" at best. Callaway Gardens is a very nice family-friendly nature-oriented preserve with a variety of fun activities, but the Inn definitely needs improvement.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ECO1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Than you for your post. Apologies on the statement that the Inn was not what you expected. We are however glad you enjoyed the Gardens. We also offer cottages and villas for over night guest. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    162
    129
    83
    56
See reviews for
230
169
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are the type that don't mind staying at one of those 1960 roadside motels, then this is the place for you. Don't let the pictures fool you. We had the summer beach special which included the 2 hour bike rental. The hotel had the bikes out side but no one to issue them. The gardens were great. If you want a well rounded trip go ahead and pay for the lodge and spa.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel. Pay the price for the lodge and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Apologies on your experience when staying at the Mountain Creek Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the Gardens. The Gardens are a way to see nature at it's best. Hope you have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

enjoying your stay at the Mountain Inn will be about managing expectations. The Inn needs some work. The tile in the pool is dirty and cracked and there's not an umbrella for shade to be found, but the rooms were clean and the staff is accommodating. And skip the buffet breakfast of egg beaters and soggy pancakes. There are some very good places for breakfast in town for a fraction of the price. Be sure to bring towels if you plan to go to the beach at the lake. Unlike most resortsi've been to, your room key doesn't get your towel at the beach. You can pay for a chair and umbrella there and the price was reasonable, but every other beach activity: laser tag, slides, paddle boats, even ping pong, is extra. The tennis courts also need work. All of the hard courts were in desperate need of resurfacing, with large cracks and areas of pooling water. The gardens and exhibits are very nice and my teenager loved the zip line adventure. But bring a scrabble game or something to do at night, because everything is closed at 8pm. Overall, if you don't expect a luxury vacation or any form of nightlife, you may enjoy this family friendly spot.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LPLeesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Gardens does offer plenty of things to do during the day. Friday and Saturday nights at the beach provide entertainment. Wishing you the best for th summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I grabbed a Travel Zoo voucher for a one night stay at Callaway Gardens in the Mountain Creek Inn to surprise my fiance for a quick weekend getaway. While the building looked older on the outside, everything in our room had been recently redone. New TV, beds, etc. It was more than acceptable. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. The gardens themselves were very nice. We got a 2hr bike rental included in our voucher and biked around about 7 miles of trail were great. We also did the treetop adventure course as well. The only thing that could have made the course better was if it had more ziplines (only 5 compared to 19 obstacles). The horticulture center and butterfly center were also very interesting. They also have a large beach and lake area that we didn't get to enjoy due to time constraints. I would recommend a visit to Callaway for anyone who has not been!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATLtraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed thier stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. The beach is a great area to just come and relax. The FSU Circus is here for the summer and it is a great show. Wishing you the best for the summer and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Canoe, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

While we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Callaway Gardens, we were somewhat disappointed with our stay at Mountain Creek Inn. This is an older 50's facility which is undergoing a "sprucing up" mainly through freshly painted rooms and we did find the accommodation clean. However, for some people they could find staying here a bit of a challenge, especially in the very small bathroom where everything is very tight. Typical of older motels, the tub shower is very low, a problem if you approach 6' in height, and you'll need to take care when standing in the old tub. In addition the toilet sits extremely low and could also be a challenge for some. The bathroom is dated!

We did eat in the two restaurants and aside from being a bit pricey the food was okay. However, our party of four would probably look for something else if we were to return to Callaway. But our major problem with our stay was our check-out. Everything was literally screwed up and without exaggeration it took over an hour to finally get everything resolved. The rates we reserved at were higher at check-out and we found charges which were not ours. CHECK YOUR BILL CAREFULLY! It was not a way to leave a good impression on guests. The office staff finally got it right, but they were totally dysfunctional, and we were not the only couple to have such a problem. At least 3 other couples checking out went through a similar check-out. And to add insult to injury we were later notified to check our credit cards since financial transactions (credit card numbers) had been compromised. Fortunately nothing has yet to show up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Apologies on the check out process. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the visit in the Gardens itself. The Gardens are a way to experience Nature at it's finest. We do aplogize for the inconvenience of the check out and hope that you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMartin2
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had read some questionable reviews of the Mountain Creek Inn at Callaway and was a little nervous about our stay at the Villas. There was no need to be nervous! Our villa was great. We were a party of 3 families - each with a toddler. We each had a master suite room with plenty of space. The villa had multiple outdoor areas including a screened in porch! Once the kids were in bed we headed to the porch for drinks and fun (my apologies to any neighboring villas!). Our villa was clean and recently decorated. It was stocked with everything we needed to cook breakfast. Pool was very nice. It had a "zero entry" area so the kids could wade around and splash!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMartin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed thier stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. The Villas are a great place to stay and plenty of room for family and friends. We are looking forward to you returning and staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a wonderful place, only there for a weekend on our way to Tennessee, what a pleasant surprise. Two good looking golf courses, wonderful park area with many attractions, great buffets with awesome food. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. We look forward to you visitning again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Property: Callaway Gardens
Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing