We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if you weren't expecting luxury.”
Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

enjoying your stay at the Mountain Inn will be about managing expectations. The Inn needs some work. The tile in the pool is dirty and cracked and there's not an umbrella for shade to be found, but the rooms were clean and the staff is accommodating. And skip the buffet breakfast of egg beaters and soggy pancakes. There are some very good places for breakfast in town for a fraction of the price. Be sure to bring towels if you plan to go to the beach at the lake. Unlike most resortsi've been to, your room key doesn't get your towel at the beach. You can pay for a chair and umbrella there and the price was reasonable, but every other beach activity: laser tag, slides, paddle boats, even ping pong, is extra. The tennis courts also need work. All of the hard courts were in desperate need of resurfacing, with large cracks and areas of pooling water. The gardens and exhibits are very nice and my teenager loved the zip line adventure. But bring a scrabble game or something to do at night, because everything is closed at 8pm. Overall, if you don't expect a luxury vacation or any form of nightlife, you may enjoy this family friendly spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LPLeesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Gardens does offer plenty of things to do during the day. Friday and Saturday nights at the beach provide entertainment. Wishing you the best for th summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Callaway Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 620 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

I grabbed a Travel Zoo voucher for a one night stay at Callaway Gardens in the Mountain Creek Inn to surprise my fiance for a quick weekend getaway. While the building looked older on the outside, everything in our room had been recently redone. New TV, beds, etc. It was more than acceptable. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. The gardens themselves were very nice. We got a 2hr bike rental included in our voucher and biked around about 7 miles of trail were great. We also did the treetop adventure course as well. The only thing that could have made the course better was if it had more ziplines (only 5 compared to 19 obstacles). The horticulture center and butterfly center were also very interesting. They also have a large beach and lake area that we didn't get to enjoy due to time constraints. I would recommend a visit to Callaway for anyone who has not been!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATLtraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed thier stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. The beach is a great area to just come and relax. The FSU Circus is here for the summer and it is a great show. Wishing you the best for the summer and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

While we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Callaway Gardens, we were somewhat disappointed with our stay at Mountain Creek Inn. This is an older 50's facility which is undergoing a "sprucing up" mainly through freshly painted rooms and we did find the accommodation clean. However, for some people they could find staying here a bit of a challenge, especially in the very small bathroom where everything is very tight. Typical of older motels, the tub shower is very low, a problem if you approach 6' in height, and you'll need to take care when standing in the old tub. In addition the toilet sits extremely low and could also be a challenge for some. The bathroom is dated!

We did eat in the two restaurants and aside from being a bit pricey the food was okay. However, our party of four would probably look for something else if we were to return to Callaway. But our major problem with our stay was our check-out. Everything was literally screwed up and without exaggeration it took over an hour to finally get everything resolved. The rates we reserved at were higher at check-out and we found charges which were not ours. CHECK YOUR BILL CAREFULLY! It was not a way to leave a good impression on guests. The office staff finally got it right, but they were totally dysfunctional, and we were not the only couple to have such a problem. At least 3 other couples checking out went through a similar check-out. And to add insult to injury we were later notified to check our credit cards since financial transactions (credit card numbers) had been compromised. Fortunately nothing has yet to show up.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Apologies on the check out process. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the visit in the Gardens itself. The Gardens are a way to experience Nature at it's finest. We do aplogize for the inconvenience of the check out and hope that you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had read some questionable reviews of the Mountain Creek Inn at Callaway and was a little nervous about our stay at the Villas. There was no need to be nervous! Our villa was great. We were a party of 3 families - each with a toddler. We each had a master suite room with plenty of space. The villa had multiple outdoor areas including a screened in porch! Once the kids were in bed we headed to the porch for drinks and fun (my apologies to any neighboring villas!). Our villa was clean and recently decorated. It was stocked with everything we needed to cook breakfast. Pool was very nice. It had a "zero entry" area so the kids could wade around and splash!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMartin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Awesome! We love to hear that our guest enjoyed thier stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. The Villas are a great place to stay and plenty of room for family and friends. We are looking forward to you returning and staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a wonderful place, only there for a weekend on our way to Tennessee, what a pleasant surprise. Two good looking golf courses, wonderful park area with many attractions, great buffets with awesome food. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. We look forward to you visitning again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed back around Labor Day. We enjoyed our stay a lot. We had a very nice clean room with comfortable beds. The restaurant also had great food, and we enjoyed the pool a lot. Overall, our stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caleb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you so much for the review and visiting with us. The Mountian Creek Inn has been renovated since that time, so please come back and check out the new rooms. Best wishes for the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We reserved a king room at the Mountain View Inn. Upon check-in, we were given the room keys and upon entering found they had given us a double queen room that looked out on the parking lot. We went back and requested a king (as reserved) that looked out over the gardens (the hotel was far from filled at the time we arrived). We were given a king room that looked out on the swimming pool. At least it was better than the parking lot. The room was large (because it was an older hotel) and the amenities had been updated. It was comfortable and the the bed was quite comfortable. Furniture included two upholsterred chairs and a desk and chair. A flat screen television with cable service was also present. Unfortunately, a microwave oven and a small refrigerator, what we are accustomed to at most hotels of this type and price, would have been nice additions to the room, since space was not a problem. The bathroom was small since the rooms were older. We did not find out about the elevator to the upper level that we were staying on until the day we left. It is not visible from the back side of the hotel. The hotel staff at the registration desk did not mention the presence of an elevator. A Callaway Gardens pick up truck was abandoned in the parking lot of the hotel. For the three days we were there, it sat with the back open and both windows open . . . and it rained all three days we were there. We figured it was a cheap "storage building". The bicycle trails are accessible from the parking lot of the hotel. Admission to the Gardens are included in the hotel price. We did not eat at either of the restaurants at the hotel because they were too pricey ($12.50 for breakfast buffet).

Room Tip: It may not matter what you reserve or ask for.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trilobiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

I hate to hear that you did not receive what you had requested. The review will most certainly be passed along to the Director of Lodging. We do appreciate your business here at Callaway Gardens and that you took the time to send in a review. Reviews such as this, are a way we can improve on what is in correct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
225 reviews
3.2 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
16.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range: $144 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing