We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Callaway Gardens Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Callaway Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Callaway Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
215 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Callaway Gardens Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The gardens were great and we had a great time even though the weather didn't hold up so well. The Botanical Gardens were the best. We were able to visit all attractions except for the Birds of Prey show and the Vegetable Garden was closed. If you are looking for lodging the Mill Creek Inn will provide you a "motel" to stay in. Very old even though some of it is renovated you can still tell the age of the establishment. I'm not sure what other options are available but all in all, if you're just going to sleep there for a night or two it's ok. It is also conveniently located directly across the street from the gardens. Great Resort not so great lodging.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting with Callaway Gardens and sending us a nice review. The rooms at the Mountain Creek Inn were recently renovated. The Gardens is center of the attractions. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    163
    130
    83
    56
See reviews for
231
170
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sevierville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Southern Pines Cottages and loved the location. The cottages are nice just need carpet removed and hardwood floors put down and a fresh coat of paint. Bathrooms have been updated and are very nice. Adding gas logs would be great. We enjoyed all the bike trails. And the bird show amd the butterfly atrium were outstanding. We loved the nature that was all around. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Hope to return, maybe with the grandkids!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1015grasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Callaway Gardens. The Gardens are a great place to relax and enjoy nature at it's finest. Check out our website for details of events and what will be going on this summer. Summer would be a great time to bring the grandkids. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Mountain Creek Inn is an average property whose main benefit is proximity to Callaway Gardens (a great place to visit, btw). Our room was large enough although dark. The beds are very comfortable and the TV and wi-fi service are good. The bathroom is claustrophobic although the exterior sink area does have good storage and room. Unfortunately this area is only separated by a louvered door which lets the light and noise into the main area, thereby disturbing other occupants who might be sleeping. Overall, not a bad room although I'd hate to see what it looked like pre-renovation.

The main issue we had during our short stay was housekeeping - or the lack of it. For the first time in many hotels stays on trips, our room was flat-out not visited. We were gone for a good 5-6 hours from mid-morning to afternoon (visiting the Gardens) and they just skipped our room. Our complaints were first addressed by being blamed for leaving up a "do not disturb" sign (which was false) and later with a "freshening" - clean towels and some coffee. Pretty lame for $140 bucks a night.

We also had some issues with one of the restaurants where unwanted meat (bacon) was cooked into side dishes and apparently could not be removed (indicating the source and ingredients are clearly not fresh). However this was addressed in a reasonable manner unlike the housekeeping.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay because of the proximity to Callaway Gardens and a wonderful night of dining at the Horse and Carriage Restaurant located about 10 minutes away. Our package did include admission to the Gardens and a decent brunch each morning in the Plant Room, so the episode with housekeeping was tolerable in context.

Think of the Mountain Creek Inn has a Motel 6 like motel located next door to a lovely destination and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Consider other properties in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your time with us and for sending us the review. We like to hear that our guest enjoyed there visit here and loved what the Gardens had to offer. The review has been forwarded to the Director of Food and Beverage as well as the Chef's. Again, we appreciate your time here at Callaway and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOPLIN
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Mountain View Inn recently remodeled; however pics on website look like an upscale hotel but its more like others have stated in reviews....an older hotel with new beds and paint. The bed was very comfortable; however, walls paper thin and could hear every sound from rooms on both sides; even tho weather cool, had to turn old window unit fan on high just to block sounds; unit so loud couldn't sleep. It's a shame the renovation resulted in such shoddy workmanship. Paint slopped, what are very nice ceramic tiles and granite counters were misaligned with grout slopped everywhere. Guess it was a rush job to finish for Spring visitors. Went for breakfast and told the "only" option for neals at the hotel (really a motel)was a rather expensive buffet when we only wanted a small breakfast. Refused the high prices and went 1/2 mile down the road to a park store/restaurant for both very reasonable breakfasts and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOTRAVELERJoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are glad you enjoyed the Gardens while you were here. The comments on the room have been forwarded to Engineering for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.1 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.5 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callaway Gardens

Property: Callaway Gardens
Address: 17800 US Highway 27, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2393
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Callaway Gardens is a special place to make memories whether with friends, family or business associates. The Gardens offers unique experiences with floral displays, zip line/obstacle courses, bicycle and walking trails. Traditional resort amenities include golf courses that have hosted 12 PGA Tour events. Banquet and meeting facilities provide for most any size meeting or conference. Featuring more 2,500 acres of 6,500 acres for self-guided experience, the variety of facilities, including accommodations, dining, make for quality time and quality experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Callaway Gardens Georgia
Callaway Gardens Resort
Callaway Gardens Hotel Pine Mountain
Callaway Gardens Pine Mountain
Callaway Resort Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing