We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay while visiting in the area!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Macon, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The place to stay while visiting in the area!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My sister and I took our 85 year old Mom to see The Fantasy of Lights at Calloway Gardens November 2012. We had looked at several places but decided on staying at the Lodge after reading how some of the other places were in need of up-dating. My sister had already stayed at The Lodge and Spa a couple of times and highly recommended it. So glad we did! Our only problem was our original room was way too far for my Mom to walk but they came and got her with a wheel chair and moved us to a room closer to the elevator but still with a nice view of the courtyard.
After the tour of lights (which I highly recommend)... We came back to the Lodge and ate at the bar / restaurant . Everyone loved their food but mine was a favorite...the fried green tomato pimento cheese sandwich! I had to share it! I may have to go BACK to the Lodge just to have another one of those sandwiches!
I would also like to add, loved our room....the beds were comfy....and because it was Christmas, The Lodge was decorated beautifully.
Hope to return this spring when the azaleas are in bloom...and we all decided, the Christmas trip will have to become an annual event.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear marmee77,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you for your business and feedback. Well it sounds like you made some memories with us and that is what it is all about. I am also a HUGE fan of our Pimento Cheese Sandwich and also the Pimento Cheese Fritters which you must try when you return. We hope the Lodge helped make your holiday season special, and we look forward to seeing you in 2013.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    200
    80
    28
    18
See reviews for
165
247
8
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We really had a great time at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens. We got a good deal because we stayed the Sunday to Monday for President's Day weekend and we got there early and they let us check-in. We got free admission on Sunday to the gardens. They recommended us to go eat at the Country Kitchen, which we did. Then we headed to the gardens and spent some time there and then headed back to the hotel. It was February---and they have a heated outdoor pool and 2 hot tubs. My husband and I decided to try both! The hot tub was fabulous and so was the heated pool! We really enjoyed our time outdoors, even though it was cold out, the pools were really nice! We walked back and didn't even feel the coldness!
The room was GREAT! The bathroom was gorgeous! We really liked the pretty shower and the big bathroom. We also had a balcony with view of trees and some of the parking lot.
We then enjoyed dinner at the hotel restaurant. The Piedmont was closed for dinner but went into the Ironwood Lounge and sat by the fire. The service was just okay....sometimes a little slow but the we really liked the food. It offered the same menu as both restaurants. We got the fish and chips and the flank steak salad. Delicious!
We then headed back to the room for a relaxing night and ordered dessert for room service. Creme brulee was GREAT and so was the Red Velvet dessert.
We would gladly go back here any time of the year!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyouneedistara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear tcasey12,

It was a pleausre learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you so much for your business and feedback! Many of our guests love our rooms and four fixture bathrooms. Also, I am very happy to see you experienced the nature Callaway Gardens has to offer as well as our heated outdoor saline pool! We love a warm pool in the cold of winter. Thank you also for the compliments on the food. Your food and beverage service experience will be communicated on to leadership to ensure quality service to you in the future. Thank you again for your business and have a wonderful day!

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stay at the lodge several times a year and always enjoy the stay. Housekeeping, however, has become a problem lately. When we were here for Fantasy of Lights, one day they never came at all. This time, the bathroom trash can was not emptied, the bedroom one was emptied, but the empty coke box next to it was left; the washcloths were taken out of the bathroom but not replaced so we had no washcloths; a clean bathmat was put on the shower door, but the old one was not taken, so we had three bathmats; the lotion was not replaced and the tissues were not refreshed. The room itself had no clock or radio and the bathroom scale doesn't work (assuming dead battery). We had this same room in November and the scale didn't work then either. This is something that I don't care about or need, but if it is in the room it should work. Altogether, we love the serenity of the Lodge and will continue to come, but there needs to be a better attention to detail. It is not up to Marriott standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room overlooking the fountain. It is always a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Barb125,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you for your continued support and business. As a valued guest, I greatly appreciate bringing your experience with the guestroom to our attention. This is something we do not take lightly and will surely investigate what happened, and how it can be fixed so that you and other guests to come across this again. Thank you for your loyalty and continuing to stay with us. Have a wonderful day and thank you again for your honesty.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We used a free night with Marriott to stay the Lodge and Spa and visit Callaway gardens. We are fans of Marriott, and the Lodge and Spa is typical of the high quality of Marriott hotels. We enjoyed an excellent dinner and great breakfast. We will surely visit again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rtw30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear RTW30606,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you for your business and your feedback. It sounds like you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed our food and beverage offerings in the Piedmont Grille. We look forward to having you back to try our Red Velvet Cheesecake and the Pimento Cheese Fritters with Red Pepper Jelly. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens is warm and inviting with touches of luxury that exude comfort. While it is not as posh as other properties in Marriott's Autograph Collection, it is in a beautiful setting, every room has a balcony, the bathrooms are great, and the staff is knowledgeable and professional. Whether you choose to utilize the Fitness Room, relax at the Spa, cozy up in front of one of the fireplaces, or take a dip in the pool or one of the hot tubs, you will not be disappointed. There is plenty to do on the property and you are just a short drive from the entrance to the Gardens. Do not miss the breakfast buffet at the Piedmont Grille during your stay! It is one of our favorite meals in Pine Mountain. The smoothies are so delicious! The baked goods are moist and perfectly sweet! They make their own granola, and you can mix in an assortment of fresh yogurt and various fruits. There is the most tasty chicken sausage, and the bacon was cooked to perfection! There is a live waffle and omelet station. The staff is fantastic. We are big fans!

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ces92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ces92,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you very much for your business and feedback. We are delighted to see you thoroughly enjoyed everything we have to offer. The Chicken Sausage is one of my personal favorites as well. Next time dont miss the Pimento Cheese Fritters with a red pepper sauce...to die for! I will surely pass your very kind comments on to our staff who will be very happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our first time staying at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens. I was excited to try something new, as we typically stay at other hotels and or cabins in the area. Upon arrival I was thrilled with the look and feel of the property itself. The setting is beautiful and the decor in the lobby gives off such a feeling of warmth and comfort. The room itself was decorated well, with great attention to keeping with the whole "lodge" theme. However, the nicest part of the room is the bathroom. I was surprised to find the bed linens and the bed itself to be of poorer quality than what I'm use to for a Marriott resort. The food at The Piedmont was adequate, but nothing to rave about. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Although it was a pleasant experience, I think we'll stay somewhere else in the future. I just don't think it's worth it considering the amount of money you pay to stay here. Hopefully they will consider stepping it up a notch or two in order to make this lovely hotel truly worthy of being called part of Marriott's "Autograph" collection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Rebecca M,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you kindly for taking the time to offer us feedback. While it seems like you enjoyed our guestrooms and friendly staff, I am sorry to hear you would not consider us in the future. We truly value your business and opinion and hope to show you more value in the future should you give us a second chance to wow you. Please know your feedback on the bed in your room and your experience in the Piedmont Grille will be communicated to ensure improvement. THank you again for your time and business.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited Lodge & Spa, Pine Mt. GA as a Christmas present to ourselves. Lodge is nice with good amenities. However, their pricing is a bit confusing. They add an automatic 20% charge at the spa and when questioned the clerk couldn't tell us exactly what it represented. She said the massage therapist received a "portion" of the fee, but didn't know how much. Another client overheard our talking about the fee and said she had come several times herself and had even questioned the manager, to no avail. I like to treat myself occassionally to something special, like a trip out of town to a spa, but I don't think I'll be going back to Marriott's Lodge & Spa until I know what I'm paying for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatCallaway, Director of Sales at The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear roc,

It was a pleasure learning of your recent stay with us at The Lodge & Spa at Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection. Thank you very much for your business and feedback. And please accept my apology for any confusion with the service charge at Spa Prunifolia. Spa services all have a 20% service charge that covers the therapists gratuity. Any miscommunication during this process will be communicated personally to Spa Prunifolia to ensure this does not happen again. We hope you enjoyed the actual spa service or massage as well as the facilities. Should you have any further questions please feel free to contact us. Again, thank you for your business and we hope you will give us another try in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
5.4 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
225 reviews
2.6 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
31 reviews
14.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
15.4 mi away
Lafayette Garden Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens

Property: The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
Address: 4500 Southern Pine Dr, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens is an oasis located within the 6,500 acre Callaway Gardens community, just 1.5 hours south of Atlanta. The lodge is adjacent to a plethora of activities for the family, couples, group outings, and corporate meetings and team building. These activities include golf, tennis, hiking and biking trails, TreeTop Adventure zip line and obstacle course, ropes course, a lake and beach, Callaway Discovery Center, and Day Butterfly Center. The Lodge and Spa is a LEED Certified green hotel offering 149 smartly appointed guestrooms and suites. With a 13,000 sq. ft. award winning spa, an outdoor pool set within gardens, and a full service three meal Piedmont Grille and Ironwood Lounge, you will have all the amenities at your fingertips for a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Spa At Callaway Gardens, Autograph Collection Hotel Pine Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing