We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chipley Murrah House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pine Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chipley Murrah House Bed and Breakfast
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

As reflected in the other posts our stay at The Chipley Murrah House B&B was absolutely wonderful. From the minute we walked in the door we felt "at home". Paul and Donna are simply two wonderful people who just happen to run a top-notch and utterly gorgeous B&B. We stayed in the Rose Room (2 nights) and remained in awe at the cleanliness and ambience of the house. While we went to Pine Mountain to see the lights at Callaway (only a mile or so down the road) I was more impressed with the house and the decorations there. As one guest noted in a journal, "we slept like a baby in its mother's arms". I can't say enough good things about our experience at The Chipley Murrah House B&B. The breakfasts and snacks were awesome! If the house and accommodations weren't impressive enough, there was the added blessing of Paul and Donna. We left feeling rested, relaxed and counting our blessing for finding the B&B and of course Paul and Donna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I echo all the reviews done before!!! We had such a wonderful time with Donna and Paul. Our room, the Queen Anne, was impeccably clean and very comfortable. The house was decorated for Christmas inside and out, making the stay so festive. The B&B is within walking distance of the downtown area and a very short drive to Calloway Gardens. We feasted on homemade chocolates, hand dip chocolate covered strawberries, and a super breakfast of homemade quiche, cheese grits, fruit salad, oj, and banana cake. Besides four rooms in the house there are 2 cottages that have 3 bed/3baths each and rent for a very modest rate. We are definetly coming back in the spring!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The home and rooms were beautiful and the owners were very welcoming. The room was very clean and the home was quiet at night.

As a side note, the owners had fresh baked cookies everyday and made the most delicious homemade pecan maple syrup to put over our french toast breakfast!

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talladega, Alabama
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The other reviewers were right! This is an interesting, beautifully decorated old Victorian home that has been made comfortable without destroying the ambiance of a house built in 1885! It is like stepping back in time, but with modern conveniences. Donna and Paul work very hard to make a stay here a great experience. We have stayed at a lot of B &Bs and this is absolutely one of the best! They should run a B&B school! Great location for Calloway Gardens, Pine Mountain, Hot Springs, etc. We stayed two nights in the Governor's Suite in early November when the leaves were at the height of their fall colors and it was the perfect place to stay! Wish we could see it decorated for Christmas!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fountain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family stayed in the cottages on the property. There was 11 of us, so we had plenty of room to spread out. Everything was nicely decorated, and it was great to be able to swim and walk into town easily. My only complaint was that the water pressure was not very strong in one shower in the cottage I stayed in, but we talked with the owners and they said they would take care of it. There are a lot of minerals in the water which can cause blockages in the shower head. The beds were very comfortable as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank htownbritbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was our first visit to a B&B. We originally were only going to stay one night but after such a great first impression we extened for two additional nights. We stayed in the Governor's Suite. A nice spacious room on the first floor with a sitting area, private entrance and large bathroom. There is a VCR in the room and a redbox within walking distance. We rented a movie our last night and relaxed in the room. The house is beautifully decorated but warm and inviting at the same time. The porch has a swing and is nice to sit on to relax or just read a book. Coffee, Tea, water and snacks are available all day.

We visited in July and was able to enjoy the pool in the evening. After a day of touring FDR park and Warm Springs, GA it was nice to come back and take an evening swim to cool off.

Breakfast was great..southern breakfast..grits w/cheese, bacon, homemade biscuits, homemade pear preserves, eggs, coffee, OJ.

There are three bdr cottages behind the pool that are perfect for families or big groups. I had a chance to walk through one of them and they were very nice. Full kitchen and two sitting areas.

Last but not least. Paul and Donna are the perfect Innkeepers. They are just the best. You want be disappointed. Our first visit but definately not our last!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is our second visit with Paul and Donna. We stayed two nights after visiting some relatives nearby. We came back so that we could visit Calloway Gardens with the flowers in bloom. We had a wonderful time and this time stayed in one of the cottages in the back yard. The place was very clean and we enjoyed having the kitchette area so that we could use the leftovers from the nearby resturants for our lunch meal.
It is a short walk to the small downtown area of Pine Mountain with a couple resturants and about a dozen antique and gift shops.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy antiques and architecture stay at main house. For a little more privacy and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenC_Knoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pine Mountain
1.2 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
5.4 mi away
Mountain Top Inn
Mountain Top Inn
#1 of 2 in Warm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
3.7 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
14.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites LaGrange / I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chipley Murrah House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chipley Murrah House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Chipley Murrah House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 207 W Harris St, Pine Mountain, GA 31822-2514
Location: United States > Georgia > Pine Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pine Mountain
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely Victorian B&B has four rooms with a full breakfast. The Governor's Suite has a king sized bed with en suite bath. The Rose Room has two queen beds and a en suite bath with separate walk in shower. The Queen Anne Room has a queen bed and en suite bath. The Magnolia Room has a queen bed with a private bath in the hall. There are three family-friendly cottages. The Blue and the Gray are three bedrooms and three baths with two living areas and a full kitchen. The Golf Cottage has two bedrooms and one bath with a living and kitchen combined. The Chipley Murrah House is one block from the downtown shops and restaurants, and one mile from Callaway Gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing