We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refreshing afternoon”
Review of Callaway Gardens

Callaway Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A 2,500 acre, year-round horticultural display garden that offers the Virginia Hand Callaway Discovery Center, Birds of Prey Show, Cecil B. Day Butterfly Center, Walking Trails, Ida Cason Callaway Memorial Chapel and Pioneer Log Cabin as well as golf, tennis, fishing, fly fishing and biking. Those looking for some adrenaline will love TreeTop Adventure's zip lines and aerial obstacles. Seasonal events and educational workshops are offered throughout the year. Four lodging types, eight restaurants and a lounge are available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A refreshing afternoon”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We only had about two hours to spend at Callaway Gardens on this visit, but it was still well worth the stop. In early April the azaleas were still pretty; the trails offer easy walking and pretty views.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelingschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your post. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the azaleas. The natural beauty of the Gardens is amazing to see. We hope that you are able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    732
    337
    147
    59
    58
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Need peace and quiet? This is the best.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We met family at the gardens for a "catch up" of our lives in the past couple years that we did not get together. The Azaleas were blooming enough that the family, from Texas, was greatly impressed with all the features and the beautiful blooms. There is almost a feeling of reverence with the quiet, the beauty and the pines adding a touch of healing of the soul.

The Country Store sits atop a mountain with one room a wall of windows looking out over nothing but forest. This restaurant serves country cooking the way our grandmothers made it.

When registered in one of the cabins/cottages, entrance to the Gardens is included..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joyce033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
You've just described some of the reasons that Cason and Virginia Callaway created the Gardens. We are so glad that y'all were able to reconnect with each other and with nature. Thank you for sharing your experience and for taking the time to post. We hope you are able to return often and enjoy all the Gardens has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockford ,IL
Level Contributor
246 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Breathtaking azaleas and dogwoods”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had to escape Illinois once again this winter. Being avid gardeners, we grove to Pine Mountain, GA, to see spring. We are still not sure it will ever come to us. The azaleas were almost peak and the dogwood trees were gorgeous. The beauty of the lakes and streams was incredible. These gardens are a natural botanic wonder, rather than over cultivated, sculpted gardens. It is an immense garden that is much more than horticulture. Boating, biking, hiking, swimming, and treetop adventures are all there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank teachem4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated your visit to Callaway Gardens. As a nonprofit organization dedicated to environmental education, we greatly appreciate your kind words. Hopefully more guests will come and enjoy all the Gardens have to offer...that you so nicely described. We hope that y'all are able to visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoy Azaleas in bloom!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Spent a half day at scenic Callaway Gardens. Highly recommend renting bikes to cover some of the 2,500 acres. Azalea bowl and chapel quite stunning. Also enjoyed tropical plant house with orchids and other exotics. Only negative: bikes could have been better maintained. Otherwise a splendid day out in nature!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eliza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
How fortunate that you saw the azaleas. Thank you for your post, and your rating. We hope that you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't wait to visit.”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We live less than 2 hours away from the Gardens, yet we have waited years to visit. The gardens even at the end of winter are beautiful. I can only imagine how lovely it will be in a few weeks. The Butterfly House was a delight as was the Bird show. We only had a few hours to visit, so we upgraded to an annual pass before leaving. We have already planned to come back in spring and fall for the colors. A great value and a relaxing atmosphere make this a great weekend getaway.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Public Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for your post. We hope that you are able to visit more often as each season provides a great reason to visit. You are correct. The azaleas are starting to bloom. Peak shouldn't be far away. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callaway Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing