We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free fun!”
Review of Callaway Gardens

Callaway Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A 2,500 acre, year-round horticultural display garden that offers the Virginia Hand Callaway Discovery Center, Birds of Prey Show, Cecil B. Day Butterfly Center, Walking Trails, Ida Cason Callaway Memorial Chapel and Pioneer Log Cabin as well as golf, tennis, fishing, fly fishing and biking. Those looking for some adrenaline will love TreeTop Adventure's zip lines and aerial obstacles. Seasonal events and educational workshops are offered throughout the year. Four lodging types, eight restaurants and a lounge are available.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hard to believe there's a beach an hour and a half from Atlanta. I actually headed to the gardens for for a bike ride. They have a ten mile trail, the beach was just a bonus! We also enjoyed the butterfly conservatory. Admission is $18 per person but it was free for Labor Day. It will also be free on 9/11 and during other special days. I can't wait to come back to see the lights at Christmas time and to try the zip line course. If you need a place to stay, check out the charming Chipley Murrah Bed and Breakfast. For a snack, stop by LuBell's ice-cream as soon as you exit. $3.99 for a waffle cone was a little pricey but well worth it. Blue Bell was the perfect cool treat to our hot day. We'll definitely return!

Thank ladylovesrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Great to hear that you got more than you hoped for with our Free Day at the end of the Summer. The bike trails are a great way to see the gardens and get exercise as well. September 11 will be free admission as well. We do hope that you will return this winter and check out Fantasy in Lights. See our website for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 934 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Butterflies, tress, flowers , walking trails an much more. I beautiful place to spend a few hrs or all day.Has a butterfly center where you can learn how hey come to life, with gift shop. A horticultural center with many interesting plants an trees from around the area an world, with gift shop.A beautiful chapel with history of how an why it was started that is used for wedding. Many trails to enjoy by walking or biking,,,, the workers are very informative when ask questions, several lakes with bridge crossing with fishes an turtles to enjoy. I have been back 3 times now an am still amazed at the beauty!

1  Thank Bobbie2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

We love to hear that our guest enjoyed their visit with us here at Callaway Gardens. The natural beauty that is here is awesome. The sights of trees, leaves changing, birds, wildlife and the butterflies makes one feel great inside. Thank you for being a returning guest and we look forward to you visiting again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I frequented Callaway Garden several times during our stay in Georgia. We enjoyed the trails and ended up walking them all day. The butterfly exhibit was amazing as well as the beach area. Wish I could have enjoyed it at Christmaas time!

Thank amhunter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for sending in the review and spending time with us as you traveled through Georgia. Callaway Gardens is a great place to visit nature. We look forward to having you as a guest soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a delightful August weekend at Callaway. The weather was not delightful; but the surroundings were breathtaking. The gardens were too many to count. The golf course had the most amazing layout I have ever seen. Ay one point you are on the road by Robbin's lake looking down on the golf course. You had the feeling that the lake could overflow at any moment.
The beach is great with clean white sand and crystal clear water. We stayed at the Lodge. Service was very good and the rooms were quiet and nicely appointed.

Thank AliceH49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for spending time with us here at Callaway Gardens and for taking the time to send in a review. The rooms at the Inn have been renovated and have been a big hit with our guest. It sounds like you enjoyed a round of golf while visiting with us as well. The courses are well laid out and give you a grand view of mother nature. We do hope that you will return and visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was a perfect and quick getaway from Atlanta. Loved it! Would love to visit there during the fall especially during Halloween.

Thank purplelady111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CallawayGardens1, Guest Relations Manager at Callaway Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend get away. Callaway Gardens offers many attractions to those who just want to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of nature and to those who are more adventurous, there is Treetop Adventure. We do hope that you will return to visit us again. Our next big event is Fantasy in Lights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callaway Gardens also viewed

 
Pine Mountain, GA
 

Been to Callaway Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing