We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a small town”

The Swanson Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Swanson is a quaint restaurant inside a historic home in downtown Perry. Our specialty is classic Southern homestyle cuisine. We do not offer reservations, however, we do offer call-ahead seating. If you utilize call-ahead seating, once your entire party arrives at The Swanson, you are placed at the top of the waiting list directly behind any other call-ahead groups that have arrived before you. If you would like to reserve one of our dining rooms for a special event, please contact one of our managers. In order to reserve a room you must sign a contract, pay a deposit and guarantee sales. Our managers will gladly share these details with you.
Abingdon, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not bad for a small town”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stopped here to eat while spending the night in Perry. Night we were there the place was very
crowded. Service was efficient and friendly. Loved the old southern decor. Food was spotty.
Great biscuits, salmon croquettes, and bread pudding. Baked chicken with corn bread stuffing
was just so so. Prices very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank222r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    89
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Young Harris, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Southern food, quaint setting”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We started with the fried green tomatoes. It was served with honey mustard. Interesting option for sauce. Also for an appetizer was deviled eggs. I did say it was Southern food! They were good - but I prefer mine. Make sure & try the collard soup. It had beans, potatoes & pieces of sausage. I could have made a meal with the soup. If you like desserts, make sure & try their bread pudding. No raisins! I was somewhat surprised when I ordered coffee with dessert that they did not serve half&half, but a creamer substitute.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3catstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“What a treat! Get off the highway for The Swanson.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had Sunday dinner at the Swanson and what a meal!! They are only open for lunch on Sundays with a Sunday dinner only menu. It is more of a meal than we would normally have mid-day but what a great meal it was and what a value. For $10.95 you can select one of 10 or so dinner selections (fried chicken, chicken & dumplings, ham, meatloaf, etc.) and choices of 3 sides from a list of 12 or more items including salads (jello, fresh), soup, squash, sweet potatoes, greens, peas, southern style green beans, mashed potatoes, mac & cheese, etc. and you get dessert!! I had fried chicken which was incredibly good and my husband had the salmon croquettes which were different and tasty. It is classic Southern cooking and oh so good! Most of the other guests were locals who were out for dinner after church. The Swanson is an old historic house and quite lovely. The tables are set with white linens and beautiful silverware. Service is also classic Southern: attentive and polite.

We were driving north on I-75 from northern Florida to Marietta, GA and strongly prefer local restaurants to eat in so we got off the highway to Perry to go the Swanson (which was listed in the AAA guide). We are SO glad we did. It was an easy 5 minutes to get back on the highway and we had a wonderful experience. The Swanson would be my 'go to' place if I lived in that area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoldenKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The food and restaurant itself are fantastic. Such a great feel in the old house. Everything we ate was perfectly prepared and seasoned. The staff was nice and efficient. I wish we had a restaurant like this near home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whlyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The best southern cooking, you'll be hard pressed to find any better. Trip advisor has the pricing at $$, but compared to other southern cooking restaurants ( like in Savannah), this is a bargain. And the staff is SOOOO nice and polite! This is a winner. Rascal Pants

Helpful?
Thank Rascalpant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swanson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing