We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat! Get off the highway for The Swanson.”

The Swanson Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Swanson is a quaint restaurant inside a historic home in downtown Perry. Our specialty is classic Southern homestyle cuisine. We do not offer reservations, however, we do offer call-ahead seating. If you utilize call-ahead seating, once your entire party arrives at The Swanson, you are placed at the top of the waiting list directly behind any other call-ahead groups that have arrived before you. If you would like to reserve one of our dining rooms for a special event, please contact one of our managers. In order to reserve a room you must sign a contract, pay a deposit and guarantee sales. Our managers will gladly share these details with you.
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
247 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What a treat! Get off the highway for The Swanson.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had Sunday dinner at the Swanson and what a meal!! They are only open for lunch on Sundays with a Sunday dinner only menu. It is more of a meal than we would normally have mid-day but what a great meal it was and what a value. For $10.95 you can select one of 10 or so dinner selections (fried chicken, chicken & dumplings, ham, meatloaf, etc.) and choices of 3 sides from a list of 12 or more items including salads (jello, fresh), soup, squash, sweet potatoes, greens, peas, southern style green beans, mashed potatoes, mac & cheese, etc. and you get dessert!! I had fried chicken which was incredibly good and my husband had the salmon croquettes which were different and tasty. It is classic Southern cooking and oh so good! Most of the other guests were locals who were out for dinner after church. The Swanson is an old historic house and quite lovely. The tables are set with white linens and beautiful silverware. Service is also classic Southern: attentive and polite.

We were driving north on I-75 from northern Florida to Marietta, GA and strongly prefer local restaurants to eat in so we got off the highway to Perry to go the Swanson (which was listed in the AAA guide). We are SO glad we did. It was an easy 5 minutes to get back on the highway and we had a wonderful experience. The Swanson would be my 'go to' place if I lived in that area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoldenKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    81
    30
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The food and restaurant itself are fantastic. Such a great feel in the old house. Everything we ate was perfectly prepared and seasoned. The staff was nice and efficient. I wish we had a restaurant like this near home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whlyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

The best southern cooking, you'll be hard pressed to find any better. Trip advisor has the pricing at $$, but compared to other southern cooking restaurants ( like in Savannah), this is a bargain. And the staff is SOOOO nice and polite! This is a winner. Rascal Pants

Helpful?
Thank Rascalpant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pleasant Lunch”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Went for lunch and sat outside on the porch. Weather a little nippy but a pleasant cool day. Service good and food excellent. I had the meat loaf, fried okra, yummy. Hubby also had meatloaf and loved it. Our friend had the salad plate. Price was excellent and atmosphere that of wonderful southern hospitality.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnieBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quaint and homey atmosphere”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Found this place online. It said "southern cooking" so decided to give it a try. We are in town on business and with friends wanted to have a nice dinner out. It is a beautiful old house in DT Perry. Street parking with a short walk. I called for rez but they do "call ahead" seating so said 7 would be there in an hour. Young Waitress was nice and friendly but kept forgetting food items but would apologize and get them. The small biscuits were served plain. Needed honey-butter or garlic and cheese. Just too plain. We ordered fried green tomatoes which were outstanding! Perfectly battered and cooked. Served with a tasty honey mustard dipping sauce. Also had appetizer of deviled eggs (good) and pear salad, just like my grandmother made; with mayo, cheese and a cherry! Their specialty is fried chicken. 3 of us got that. Either breast or leg and thigh. The one breast was tiny and not enough to eat with 2 small veggie/side choices. The leg and thigh a little more. Everyone loved the sweet potato souffle! I had squash casserole (just OK) and cornbread dressing which was very good! Served with gravy and cranberry sauce. Broccoli rice casserole was deemed good. Fresh cut french fries just OK. They salt their meat dishes too much for most of us. Other choices our party got were fried shrimp and oysters(good), chicken fried steak w/cream gravy (good and nice portion) and chicken fried chicken, too salty. Many side choices to pick from and prices very reasonable. Avg $8.95 per entree plus 2 sides, biscuits. The bread pudding we took To-go. It had a bit of whipped cream and delicious caramel sauce! Very good! Would I return? Yes, knowing now what to order and not order. Loved the ambiance which made up for the few food snafus.

Helpful?
Thank ChrisY1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swanson Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Swanson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing