We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Setting with Good Southern Food”

The Swanson Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Perry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Swanson is a quaint restaurant inside a historic home in downtown Perry. Our specialty is classic Southern homestyle cuisine. We do not offer reservations, however, we do offer call-ahead seating. If you utilize call-ahead seating, once your entire party arrives at The Swanson, you are placed at the top of the waiting list directly behind any other call-ahead groups that have arrived before you. If you would like to reserve one of our dining rooms for a special event, please contact one of our managers. In order to reserve a room you must sign a contract, pay a deposit and guarantee sales. Our managers will gladly share these details with you.
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting with Good Southern Food”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

With so many mixed reviews, we were not sure what to expect of this Resturant. Well it was one not to miss. The setting in the restored old Southern house with high ceilings, as well as the location of small stores all along Carroll Street in Perry, Ga make this a special place to have dinner while staying in the area. And by the way, the service was just fine.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    83
    30
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
218 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We visited The Swanson Restaurant on Veteran's Day this year. The food is very good and extremely affordable. The service and atmosphere are second to none! Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelers1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding food in an historical home, fantastic service, and excellent value located about one mile off of I75! We definitely ”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stopped here for lunch on a Saturday noon and it was well worth the stop! The fried chicken has been recognized as one of the best places for chicken in the South. The fried green tomatoes is a specialty appetizer that is served with an excellent mustard sauce. Very generous portions and very reasonably priced!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astor, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restaurants”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Very good close to old town and shopping with in walking distance of New Perry

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh food, great value, beautiful setting.”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My family was staying in Perry for a reunion. On The Swanson website, both the menu and the Victorian style house where it is located looked inviting. We went there on a Friday night and loved the setting and the southern cooked dishes. We liked it so much that we came back on Saturday night with more of the family! Jasmine took good care of us both nights. We told the clerks at our motel that if visitors asked about a good place to eat, please tell them about The Swanson. See you all next year!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swanson Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Swanson Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing