We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is your mama's fried chicken!”
Review of Skipper John's

Skipper John's
Ranked #15 of 51 Restaurants in Perry
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This is your mama's fried chicken!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wait... It is better than that. It is your grandma's fried chicken. You will wait for your food to come out hot and fresh. No inside seating but a couple of tables outside if you can't wait until you get home. If you are anywhere near Perry, Ga. Stop and get you some!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Anteqbuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best chicken I've ever had!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a take out only place, so call your order ahead when possible. If you don't, you'll have to wait 20-25 minutes since the chicken is made to order. This is by far the best chicken I've ever had. Seasoned to perfection. Some might say over seasoned, but I think its perfect. Skipper Johns is off the beaten path, but so worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've lived in MidGa all of my life 37 yrs. I've heard many people talk about this place but never tried it. So my wife and I decided one Saturday afternoon to make a special trip. I must say it is the Best Chicken Around. Be sure to call ahead! Would be nice if they at least had an online menu!!! but we were definitely not disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always Good”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Skipper John's fried chicken is better than any other chicken on earth. The fish is also good, but you go and get that chicken and some potatoes from Wal-mart and you got your meal!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank msdat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a healthy choice -- but so worth it!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

If you're looking for the best fried chicken in Perry -- here it is. Skip KFC and head to Skipper Johns... but be ready for take-out because there is no seating. A local favorite for a quick lunch!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank YYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper John's also viewed

 

Been to Skipper John's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing