We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL!!”
Review of La Nonna's Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

La Nonna's Italian Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The inspiration for La Nonna was my mother. La Nonna, in Italian, means grandma. Everyone, friends and family alike, called her Nonna or grandma. She was at her best on holidays when all our friends and family would gather at our home. She would get up at 5 in the morning to start making tomato sauce, baking bread and making her famous homemade pasta as her mother had done before her. She was born in 1921, in Durazzano, a small town just north east of Naples. She mastered the old world recipes that her mother passed on to her, everything from picking the best tomatoes for the marinara sauce to making wonderful Italian pastries. My in inspiration for creating La Nonna's Italian Restaurant is to share her wonderful food with everyone.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

First... wish they were close to me... I'd be a weekly regular!!

Food is superb and huge portions! Servers attentive but not bothersome! Bread is divine!

No negatives in my opinion!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b6601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Italian”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Great food...garlic rolls were great! Must try when in nocross. Had the carbonara which was excellant and companions had alfredo and la nonna chicken.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddragon1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Arrived near closing time with a group of friends and we were still given superb service. The owner helped us choose our wines, the wait staff was on the ball (no whining to be heard about having to stay late) and the food was delicious. My sea bass in a curry sauce over risotto was a special of the day and special it was. Oh, my! Each person in our party was extremely pleased with his/her appetizer, entree and dessert - not one complaint. It's in a strip mall but don't let that dissuade you - it's the real thing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmmdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE USA
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“We found our new place for authentic Italian”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a wonderful dinner with my boss and our spouses. Food was fantastic from beginning to end. Started with a really fresh bread with a delightful olive oil/herb dipping plate. Paired a nice wine with our appetizers of a very fresh and tasty Bruschetta and the Nonna Platter. The Eggplant Parmigiana was very very good and the others in my party were extremely happy with the Sea Bass Oregenato and Shrimp Scampi. DONT MISS THE TIRAMISU........... one of the best we have ever had, Thank you to Mario and his crew for a great evening. Looking forward to our next visit. Dont miss this hidden gem. Your first impression from the outside is that it may be another shopping center Italian place............. its not......................... go on in and have one of the best dinners you will have this year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bosco125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“The only true Italian restuarant in Norcross”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I've been looking for a good Italian restaurant in Norcross and saw that La Nonna's had excellent reviews. After having had a bad experience on another Italian restaurant (not to be named here) which I was told excellent, I decided to see what restaurants had the best reviews. La Nonna’s was not a disappointment. The food, the service, the prices, and the atmosphere were all exceptional. The owner is originally from Italy and Long Island NY which explains why this restaurant is as good as it is. Having spent at least half my life around Italians from NY and Philadelphia that know good food, I am very picky about where I eat Italian food and this definitely passes the litmus test. If you like seafood, I highly recommend the La Nonna’s Frutti di Mare. Although I only ate dinner on this visit, they have great values and selection for lunch as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nonna's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing