We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inveresk
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hello, my husband and two teenage sons went to Scotland in April 2014. My birthplace is only two miles from the Premier Inn at Inveresk so it was the ideal place to stay which was close to family as well as a central place for tourism purposes. The hotel was warm, clean and very quiet. Meals were had at the Craig House Restaurant, these were homely and very good, there was enough choice on the menu to not get bored for the two weeks we stayed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, the only negative was that if you did not get back to the Hotel by very early evening, it was difficult to get a car park. There seemed to be a lot of trucks and horse trailers taking up two and sometimes three parking spots. The Premier Inn was a positive for our visit home and will stay again next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supernurse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
All the team here at Premier Inn Musselburgh are delighted you enjoyed your stay here & look forward to welcoming you and your family back when your next visiting Scotland.
We recognise our car park can get busy at times, and there are plans in place to extend our car park in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    130
    47
    15
    6
See reviews for
179
135
15
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holyhead
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Reasonable stay. Room was clean and friendly service but as the hotel is starting to look tired I felt the price inclusive of breakfast was slightly more than some other offers available in the area. Some road noise when the window was open.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thanks for your review, I'm pleased that you found the team friendly and rooms clean, something we alsways strive to ensure.
While the price for breakfast can be a bit more expensive than other cafes etc, it is good value taking into account it is all you can eat, with no extra add ons.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Lovely stay at this premier inn, very clean, modern facilities, excellent access to restaurant across the road. The beds are comfortable and choice of pillows. Perfect location and easy to access Edinburgh, also easy to find just off the A1. Surprisingly quiet even though it is so close to the A1,

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robxx_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review & I'm delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

Please do come visit us again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at Premier Inn, Musselburgh, aftre having performed in an Organ Recital at Gladsmuir. This place is an idea hotel to stay when journeying on Scotland's East Coast route. It is also very handy for tourist attractions in the locality. The rooms are comfortable and perfectly clean. It stands adjacent to an excellent Brewers' Fayre Restaurant where the food is cooked freshly to your requirements and the service is first class.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryhope, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a weekend booked away to Edinburgh with our two children and had to split to stay between another premire inn at Edinburgh. Having stayed at Musselburgh many years ago and enjoying the visit I wanted to return here. The hotel and reception we recieved was excellent. The room was dissapointing. After we had already stayed at the Newcraighall hotel the night before it was nothing in comparision. It was tired, run down and not of the same standard. The really dissapointment was when we walked into our room it stuck of cigarettes. It was so bad! But my family were exaushted from a busy day and started to unpack much to my dismay. I was torn between complaining or just staying in the room for the sake of my childrens rest. We then went for food at the brewers fayre next door. This was a prepaid meal that we had booked with the premier inn. We visit brewers fayre regularly and this was as usual good service. Nothing fancy and due to the bank holiday weekend it was very busy so service was a little slower (we waited an hour for desserts and then got asked to move as the resturant area was shutting at 10pm?!), but nice food and very clean. After leaving the resturant we returned to the room and all agreed that it stunk! I had tried leaving a window open whilst we had been out but it was awful. I should have complained as I know that premire inn are good to manage complaints but I didn't as the children were tired and wanted to go to bed and they had unpacked their numerous teddies and toys! As an asthmatic by the next morning I felt quiet unwell and returned home not as rested as I had planned. I was surprised that people have the rudeness to smoke in rooms that are family rooms when it clearly says everywhere that you will be fined for smoking. I won't plan to return here unless the hotel is refurbished.

Room Tip: Book newcraighall for a lovely refurbished hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Older Style Premier Inn and the only thing we could fault were the beds. Not up to Premier Inn standard and need new mattresses. Breakfast staff and food excellent. Reception staff were excellent during our 2 night stay and could not do enough to help. Quiet area but only 5 minute drive to Wallyford Rail Station where you can catch a train to Edinburgh. Would recommend if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsmaclaughlinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Would definitely come back. And would recommend to family and friends
Friendly staff and great service. Just think the Wi-Fi was a bit expensive but other than that no complaints food was great good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simpler999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveresk
0.8 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Address: Sweethope Carberry Road | Musselburgh, Inveresk EH21 8PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Inveresk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inveresk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in "The Honest Toun" of Musselburgh, just 25 minutes from the thrills of Edinburgh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Inveresk) Hotel Musselburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing