We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for Hogmanay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inveresk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a decent hotel for a short break to celebrate new years in Edinburgh. All the city centre hotels were way over-priced for this time of year so we looked for alternatives outside the city centre. This hotel seemed to fit the bill so we booked for 3 nights. The hotel is only 15 minutes drive away from the city centre and is easy to find. 5 minutes drive down the road is the local town with many shops and a 24 hour Tesco's - very handy. We received a warm welcome from the receptionist upon arrival and were quickly shown to our room. The rooms are a bit plain with quite a bit of bare wall showing. A basic clothes hanging area, shelving and desk are all good quality. Tea/coffee making facilities are included as well as a flat screen TV with many channels. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bed linen and firm pillows. Softer pillows were also available on top of the wardrobe space. The is also a seating sofa which I think converts to a double bed if required but we never used it. The room was very large and spacious. The bathroom is adequate in size and has good quality facilities. The shower wasn't to our taste as the shower head is fixed to the wall and cannot be taken off. As a man of over 6' the shower head was too low to get my head under without bending down. We would have preferred a removable shower head with flexible hose. Other than that the hot water was plentiful and the towel rail kept the towels warm. The only issue we had with the room was hearing conversations and movements from guests in adjoining rooms. This didn't disturb our sleep in any way but we were aware of the other guests in their rooms. Overall impressions of the room were good for the price we paid - we've stayed in many hotel rooms at much higher prices and this room would put them to shame on size and comfort - openly thing laking was a bit of personality and character - then again for a "budget" hotel this is around the best you will get.
The hotel is connected to a Brewers Fayre restaurant which served us dinner and breakfast. Dinner on the first night was nice with a really warm welcome from every member of staff we encountered. Food was good quality and great value. Arriving for breakfast the next morning we were welcomed very warmly and showed to a table. Everything was explained to us in great detail and were offered help whenever we needed it - the 2 ladies serving us at breakfast were very friends and efficient and a credit to restaurant. The only disappointment was that the cooked breakfast was buffet style rather than cooked to order which would have made it a better quality breakfast. Overall the breakfast was good.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Edinburgh and doesn't want to pay the stupid prices of the city centre hotels. Would stay here again if visiting the area without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuartgrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 496 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Premier inn are usually good but this one was better, nice staff ,rooms and lovely breakfast, the toaster actually browned the toast first time through!
The room was a good size and very comfortable, the shower was excellent overall I would definitely use this premier inn again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here last week from 3/12/2013 - 5/12/2013, was booked until 6/12 but lft day early due to the weather.
first impressions were very good - Receptionist was very welcoming and informative. corridor central heating was warm and room was immaculate. Could not fault anything. Mattress was very
comfortable so good nights sleep was assured.this impression was upheld for whole visit.All staff were polite and friendly.
Brewers Fayre restaurant is next to Premier Inn.Staff were welcoming and service was good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjibutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great Premier inn to stay at almost feels like in the middle of nowhere but really only a few miles from Edinburgh. Everything was clean and well maintained, the restaurant next door was great with breakfast a must to start the day, staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Megan F

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We really are lucky here that we are located in a nice, quiet area but you are still able to take full advantage of all the delights that Edinburgh City Centre has to offer.

I’m glad you found the team to be friendly and helpful, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

The all you can eat Premier Breakfast is definitely a great way to start your day.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Lauren Kay
Premier Inn Team Leader
PITL.edinburgha1musselburgh@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lovely, friendly clean hotel, with cheerful staff. Food was very good and great value. Breakfast staff even gave me crispy bacon when asked!
Would thoroughly recommend if you are attending a wedding at Dundas Castle as Only 5 minutes away by car.




  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Megan F

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team to be friendly and cheerful.

Crispy bacon for breakfast is one of my favourites too, so I’m delighted the restaurant team managed to provide this for you! I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team in the Brewers Fayre.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Lauren Kay
Premier Inn Team Leader
PITL.edinburgha1musselburgh@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here just for one night on our way to Lancaster from the city of Edinburgh. The room was very clean with comfortable bed and pillows. We had a good night sleep after a long day spent in the city. In the morning, we decided to have breakfast at the hotel's restaurant and it was excellent. The staffs were very attentive and friendly. The breakfast quality was excellent and its good value for money. We really enjoyed it as we need to start a day off to a long journey to the east. Overall, a very good hotel and definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: This hotel has no lifts. (Not sure if they have any service lift as they only have two floors) If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Shelida H

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate all our guest feedback.

I’m glad to hear you found our rooms to be clean, and the bed to be comfortable. With a choice of pillows in each room for you to choose from, your comfort is of the highest importance to us here at Premier Inn

I will pass your feedback about breakfast on to our adjoining restaurant, the team will also be pleased to hear your fantastic comments.

I hope you had a safe journey and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Lauren Kay
Premier Inn Team Leader
PITL.edinburgha1musselburgh@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

stayed here for a two night stay,,rooms were cleaned to a very high standard,,but the most impressive part of my stay,,was the the staff,,who couldnt do enough for me,,always smiling and happy to help,,many thanx Daniella,,Lauren and Andy...10 out of 10...well done team Musslebourgh

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K, Manager at Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear John D

Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel.

I am delighted that you found my team to be happy and smiling as they really do strive to make your stay with us a fantastic one!

I will pass your feedback on to Danielle and Andy who will also be delighted that you found them so helpful.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Lauren Kay
Premier Inn Team Leader
PITL.edinburgha1musselburgh@whitbread.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveresk
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Edinburgh Musselburgh
0.8 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
1,009 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel

Address: Sweethope Carberry Road | Musselburgh, Inveresk EH21 8PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Inveresk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inveresk
Price Range: $60 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in "The Honest Toun" of Musselburgh, just 25 minutes from the thrills of Edinburgh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Inveresk) Hotel Musselburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing