We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“to see if it was still great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inveresk
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“to see if it was still great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went back to the hotel over the easter period to see if it was as good as when i stayed there at christmas. Got to say i was not dissapointed the staff there are so good and helpful especially Danielle who is always happy. The room was as ever up to standard and the people who will be staying there for the golf open later in the year will not be dissapointed. Will be going back at my first oppotunity.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank len w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    113
    42
    14
    4
See reviews for
160
117
13
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Usually enjoy the Premier Inn stays but this stay was not up to usual standard. Absolutely no problem with cleanliness or check in. Temperatures fell during the night and we were all cold. I now know there was a temperature control unit but did not switch the lights on during the night to look for this so I could have rectified this myself during the night. We had an early start too in the morning so we left cold and without breakfast.

We have stayed here before and never had a problem and visit this Premier Inn in March and August but to be fair, temperatures have never been a problem ever.

We had a meal at night and foot was served quickly too. Quality of food was fine and the chicken ceasar salad was lovely. Enjoyed a glass of chilled Chardonnay and went back for another to find the same wine was not chilled so the 2nd glass wasn't as nice. Kids enjoyed steaks and trimmings and nice desserts so they were happy.

We were told about the good night guarantee but did not complain at check out about the cold.. Just wish we had knew about the temperature controls and could have sorted things out for ourself. . Will likely go back in August and enjoy Premier Inn back to usual standards. ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidoftheLoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Typical Premier Inn - clean, modern, friendly but, as we booked a bit late, a bit pricier than usual.

Also the breakfast at £8.25 seemed a bit pricey too! (Nearby Tobys had all-you-eat breakfast deal at £3.99.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stopped here over the Easter weekend to visit Edinburgh sightseeing and Musselburgh Racecourse.

If you want to get to Edinburgh from here we found going to Wallyford station (instead of Musselburgh) the best option. About a mile and a half along the road, ample car parking at the weekend. The trains run every half hour and take less than ten minutes to Waverly Station with one stop at Musselburgh.

The hotel is also very handy for the racecourse. Buses run to/from Musselburgh from directly outside the hotel. But on a nice day the walk into Musselburgh would be easy enough, about a mile.

If you go to Musselburgh for a meal, I would highly recommend The Gurkha Bar & Restuarant on Bridge Street. It's menu is a mixture of Nepalese and Indo/Pak food. Brilliant food great service.

The hotel is a you get what you pay for, 3 nights for £166 is very good, considering what you would pay in Edinburgh City, and you have the quiet of the countryside.

The staff were great, always cheerful.

Standard eating and drinking facilities as per all Prenier Inns.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bar&Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Typical new ish Premier Inn at a quiet location. All in very nice stay and I slept well. The check in was quick and although I begrudge paying extra for Wifi , at least it worked well and allowed me to work in my room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forest4ever7980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Third Premier Inn stay this year. The product is consistent and you are guaranteed a good night's sleep. The bed is comfy and the sound insulation excellent - even in one of the older style properties, which includes this one. Even though it is an older Premier Inn the room decoration was pristine. Had a look at the restaurant, but I'm sorry to say the buffet looked very unappealing and we gave it a miss. The receptionist readily gave us some helpful local information and was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I arrived here in the dark but the hotel was easy to find and very close from the A1, although far enough away so that traffice noise was not a problem.
We booked a double room, water nicely hot, bed very comfy. A quiet hotel which ensured a good nights sleep. Arriving late, the buffet had closed, and the meals we ordered were just ok rather than good (our fault I think for being so late). Helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast next morning was as usual, but we found the bacon had little flavour, although all else was fine. We would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annetonyhornigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveresk
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
3.1 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
Address: Sweethope Carberry Road | Musselburgh, Inveresk EH21 8PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Inveresk
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inveresk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in "The Honest Toun" of Musselburgh, just 25 minutes from the thrills of Edinburgh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh (Inveresk) Hotel Musselburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing