We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What could be better?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killeen House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Killeen House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What could be better?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Killeen House. The Inn Keepers and staff went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed and even helped us change our plans so we could stay an extra day. If you have any interest in golf your stay will be even more fun. Quiet but conveniently located. The restaurant was special and the food was great. We experienced great hospitality during our entire trip to Ireland but Killeen House was exceptional. We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florida422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    41
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
184
373
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights over the June holiday weekend. The owners Michael & Geraldine and their staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.
This is a very pleasant friendly family run hotel in a beautiful part of Ireland. However
the best part is the restaurant in Killen house with some of the nicest food my wife
and I have enjoyed in any hotel.
I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greene63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

The hotel is a shining example to others in its class. Its not an Intercontinental, nor does it set out to be as another reviewer seems to think. It does have a golf theme and a lot of golfers stay there. We were treated with consideration and courtesy. Mike went out of his way to enshure we got the best out of the Ring of Kerry . The restauraunt was excellent by any standard, of course you pay for that. Everything worked well noteably the shower which is not always the case outside of an upmarket chain. We only stayed one night but look foward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

Killeen House Hotel and Michael and Geraldine Rosnay (the owners) were some of the highlights of our stay in Ireland. It was the least expensive hotel in which we stayed but it was the best in terms of hospitality and food. The hotel restaurant serves truly excellent breakfasts and dinners with wine prices that are reasonable. Michael gave us accurate and comprehensive travel advice before and during our stay and was a font of useful information about all of Ireland. He and Geraldine were delightful hosts and we are looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible. This is not a 5* establishment and anyone expecting that may be disappointed (nor does it charge 5* rates.) But it is a very restful country inn with exceptionally warm and helpful staff, comfortable but not luxurious rooms, and an excellent location for touring SW Ireland. We are not golfers but nonetheless were made very welcome and attentatively cared for. Had we been golfers, I imagine this would have been heaven-on-earth as the inn is in the midst of several of the best courses in Ireland. In sum, I recommed this inn to anyone who wants a true Irish experience, genuinely warm hosts and some of the best food anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkridge_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

I have been a client of the Killeen House for a dozen years, either staying there myself, or sending friends and clients. If you want to feel like you are arriving home, stay at the Killeen House. The feeling you have as soon as you arrive makes you want to extend your stay. Whether it is for a golf tour and sightseeing(my recent one) it is a great base to operate from in the Southwest of Ireland. There is a reason why the reviews are so high-it is the best! Incredible owners and staff are there to assist in any way.

PS: The Championship rooms are great!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullettlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

I booked the Killeen House based on the reviews on trip advisor, and I was amazed that it not only lived up to the hype, but exceeded my expectations! We stayed in three different hotels/B&Bs during our trip to Ireland, and Killeen House was by far our favorite. Although I didn't even have an address for the place when we got to Killarney, I simply stopped at a gas station and asked for directions. I actually thought it was pretty easy to find and loved that it was a little outside of town. The scenery around Killeen House is gorgeous! We had dinner in the restaurant the first night we arrived, and it ended up being one of our favorite meals. It wasn't cheap, but definitely worth it! We ate next to a cozy fireplace and after a couple glasses of wine, we merely had to walk upstairs to our room. It was so relaxing! Mike and Geraldine and the rest of the staff were unbelievably helpful. After our two nights stay, we felt like welcome friends. I have been fortunate enough to stay in quite a few fancy hotels over the years, and I thought the Killeen House rivaled them all in cleanliness and service but still maintained the comfort and quiet we wanted out of a B&B. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is remotely near Killarney, this should be the place. Thank you Killeen House for your hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BVok23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

We felt as though they had known us for years throughout our three day stay. The friendly, understated warmth and congeniality was exceptional. Gavin, the new bartender, bellman, etc. was so charming, fun, helpful, and Irish. The restaurant was equally as charming and quaint, but had terrific menu items for both breakfast and dinner. The chef prepared exceptional dishes and you should go there even if you don't stay at the Killeen House. The two owners made sure that we felt welcome and exuded sincerity.

The grounds are lovely and the gazebo is a terrific place for a before or after dinner drink. Our room was warm and had all of the amenities of more upscale hotels we stayed in. This is the hotel to be in, in the Kilarney area. If you want to get a feel for the Irish experience, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House

Property: Killeen House
Address: Aghadoe, Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Killeen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing