We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killeen House Hotel - the perfect place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2009

We spent two nights in the Killeen House Hotel. And it was definitely worth staying. When we drove by, we had to stop and ask for a room, because it is a really pretty hotel. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Every time we came back from a day trip we were offered some tea. Geraldine and Michael make that place very special. We will definitely come back when we pass by again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisefreak_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 993 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

Killeen House was our last rest spot during our tour. From the minute we drove into Killeen House, I felt very comfortable. We were greeted with smiles and service that made it feel like a home away from home. The pub is small but very nice and the golf ball collection prompted conversation. Michael and Geraldine are gracious hosts, very acommodating, funny and easy to talk with. Guest comfort is their priority. The restaurant is nothing short of excellent, with an array of 5 star fare and great selection of wines.
If you do not choose to stay, your loss...at least make a dinner reservation!
I cannot say enough good things about Killeen House.
Jeffrey Paul
Philadelphia area PA. USA

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

From the minute we arrived at the Killeen House and we were greeted by Jess, we felt very comfortable. The room was decorated so beautifully, and it was quite large. The hotel is located in the country near Killarney. There is free internet (the only free internet we had in over a month's stay in Europe). The breakfasts are fabulous, the dining room absolutely lovely, and the way things are set up, we made friends with guests and staff. Although we did not get to take full advantage of the restaurant (we ordered a la carte instead of the prix fixe menu), the food is delicious. My husband is a vegetarian and they made sure there was something for him to eat every night, even off the bar menu.

As Michael our host would say, the weather is "soft," it rained quite a bit, but when we went to the National Park and around The Ring of Kerry (great location for both), we had sunshine. The only thing we didn't like was that we didn't know how much each meal cost because we were ordering a la carte and there were no prices on the menu, and we didn't realize we could pay the gratuity at the end, so we never knew how much to leave for our wonderful wait staff. I would say the best thing about the Killeen house is the staff. You can tell they really love working for Michael and Geraldine, the owners, who really make your stay a pleasant one and take time every day to give a personal touch to each and every guest.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenjSouthLakeTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Despite all the impressive scenery that we enjoyed in County Kerry, the impeccable service we received at the Killeen House Hotel will forever stand out in our minds – thoughtful, attentive and personal. A lovely place, and a great place to venture forth from... the Ring of Kerry or the Dingle Peninsula - great central locale. Ask Michael or Geraldine anything...they'll tell you how to do it, when to do it, why to do it (or not) and of course..how to get there...If you don't book with them, I'll go out on a limb..and say...it'll be your loss.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieTopsham_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

My daughter and I had the good fortune to stay at The Killeen House in July. It is a lovely small hotel about 5 minutes from the city center of Killarney and a great place to begin a trip around the Ring of Kerry or a trip to The National Park. Our Championship room was spotless, and very comfortable. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi. The staff couldn't be nicer and Michael and Geraldine are perfect hosts and will accommodate you in any way they can. One night we came in after the kitchen had closed and hadn't had dinner. We were immediately sat at a table in the bar area and sandwiches were on the table within minutes. The staff are particularly attentive to little children, making them feel right at home. They have a very cozy parlor area with a PC that you can use at no cost. The food in their restaurant, Rozzer's, is excellent. Breakfasts offered everything from grilled fish to cold cereal. You are made to feel right at home here, and are treated as part of an extended family rather than as a guest. I highly recommend the Killeen and would not hesitate to go back.

Catherine Wadhams
Ann Arbor, Michigan

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwadhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

How do you write about perfection? Traveled to Ireland with my adult son, my dream vacation. Having read that Killeen House had won the Tripadvisor "Travelers Choice 2009 Best Hidden Gem Award" I was determined to stay here. Unfortunately, we were arriving the day before the hotel was opening for the season. Luckily we were staying 2 nights in Killarney so we checked into another hotel for the 1st night, then packed up and moved to Killeen House for the 2nd night. A bit of extra trouble but SO worth it even for just one night! My hat is off to Michael, Geraldine, Charlie and the entire staff for making us feel so welcome! Our room was huge, lovely, sparkling clean, the breakfast was incredible! Even though our stay was far too short, you could tell that there wasn't anything that our hosts wouldn't have gone out of their way to make happen for you. I am dreaming of a return visit only I will stay much longer!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texanadeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Gracious hosts, Michael even put on 40's music for Grandmom and fellow guest to dance after dinner at the bar. Staff exceeded our needs. Grandmother, daughter and granddaughter was delighted with Champion room and restaurant (loved breakfast). Short drive to town and near famous Ring of Kerry (they arranged personal pick-up service). Free computer in living room nice to send home e-mails. Had trouble figuring out the radiator heat at night. Beautiful place. Would highly recommend! Don't want to leave out the breath-taking scenery short distance down the road.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
Thank cannonhome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: $189 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing