We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place .... memorable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Killeen House and cannot rate it highly enough ... the property is simply spectacular, the house is impeccably maintained, the food is outstanding and hosts Michael and Geraldine are wonderful, as are the rest of the staff. I would never stay anywhere else if I were remotely close to Killarney again. Superb!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank PeggyB3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

What a superb review Peggy!

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it.

It was our total pleasure to look after you and we're delighted that both the Killeen House and the Killarney and Kerry regions, kept you happy, interested and entertained over your four day stay.

Thanks again so much Peggy and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 993 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

We just spent three days (of our first ever trip to Ireland) at the Killeen House Hotel. We were traveling with friends who had been there many times before, and told us how amazing it was! The reality of being there was way beyond our expectation! In addition to the lovely rooms, the gourmet quality restaurant, the cozy bar and the amazing service, Michael and Geraldine make you feel like family! The two of them and all of their staff make you feel special, as though you were the only guests in the hotel. Your wish is their command! The setting is perfect! You are in the quiet countryside, but close to Killarney sightseeing, world class golf, day trips and more. If we ever get back to Ireland, we will definitely be returning to the Killeen House to see Michael and Geraldine!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hi Linda and thank you so much for the stellar review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly do appreciate it!

It was a joy to meet Red and yourself and to look after you here in the Killeen House. (And it was kind of OK to welcome the other two back as well.....!!)

We're delighted that we lived up to Pam and Lori's words about us and we hope that this was just the first of many more trips for you two to Ireland in the coming years.

No doubt the rest of the trip went off just as well for you, given the great guides you had, and hopefully Lori will make a quick and full recovery from his rotator cuff issues....

Thanks again so much Linda and all the very best to the others.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were part of a tour group of 44 folks. We couldn't have been more pleased with the service and the wonderful dinner meal. Thank you, Mike and Geraldine for a marvelous time. You and your wait staff are the best!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mkraus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Hi and thank you so much for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you for taking the time to write it and post it up.

I was our great pleasure to look after you all and we hope that all of us here played our small part in giving you another happy memory in your overall vacation.

Thanks again and we trust you enjoyed the rest of the trip.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I can’t say enough great things about our stay here at the Killeen House. It was the best experience of our entire trip in Ireland. The setting was peaceful, serene, and perfect for our family group of 7! The first evening we sat out on the front lawn and enjoyed some wine and cheese we had brought with us. The following day we walked the entire Gap of Dunloe (thanks Geraldine for the recommendation) and upon returning we were tired, hungry, and wanted to watch some World Cup soccer. No problem at the Killeen House! Lorca set up our lunch in the living room area where we could relax on couches and comfy chairs, eat and watch soccer. Both evenings we dined at their restaurant, Rozzers. The food was fantastic (especially the lamb) and the service was fabulous and…fun! We laughed and enjoyed our meals thoroughly. And then, of course, the pub…more laughs with Michael and Steven! My husband was happy to leave his golf tag with Michael to hang on their wall. I hope some day we can return to Ireland and the wonderful Killeen House!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Wow!!!

What a spectacular headline for us to see first thing in the morning - in fact it's a bit intimidating too!

Thank you so much for the outstanding review - we are very grateful to you.

It was our absolute pleasure to look after you all and we're delighted that you all had such a good and memorable time with is here in the Killeen House.

The weather Gods were very kind to you - and the Soccer Gods were too...! Didn't the USA do brilliantly well in the world Cup? They may not have won it, but they have certainly covered themselves in glory for the part they played and the manner in which they played it!

Thanks again Kathleen and all the very best to you all.

Michael & Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Geraldine and Michael are the perfect hosts along with excellent very obliging staff. Our luggage was taken up to the room and an afternoon tea tray was provided in the very comfortable lounge. Our room was on the small side and near the road, but that was our fault for not stipulating our exact needs
Eating in the restaurant was a gourmet experience, and as my wife had her arm in a sling following an accident back home, the attention to detail when her food was presented was amazing.
Nothing was too much trouble. Advice for day outings etc. was inspirational. We think it the perfect place for a golf break and have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this charming hotel.
For the night life should it be required, a ten minute run into Killarney.

Room Tip: The east side we think would be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Good morning Norman and thank you for your great review here on trip Advisor -= we really do appreciate your taking the time and effort to write it and post it up.

It was a pleasure to look after you both ion your recent visit, and we're delighted that you had such a good time with us. We suspect that our 'organic' food may have played a big part in the overall experience too.....!

Now that you've discovered the joys and beauties of the Kingdom of Kerry, we hope that Pauline and yourself might come back and see us again at some future stage.

Thanks again and all the very best to both of you, especially Pauline and we hope her recovery is speeding along....

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a wonderful place! It is as pretty on the inside as it is on the outside. They have a nice garden outside and the view is of a green pasture with cows, and old church and the mountains of the ring of Kerry - breathtaking. they have a nice little bar where you can pour your own beer (you just write down what you had on a peice of paper and leave it for them) . The rooms were very nice with knock you over water pressure in teh showers. the sitting room is also beautiful. It is about a 7 minute cab ride to downtown (you do NOT want to drink and drive in ireland) and on the way you pass a nice meadow with a great look out of the ring of kerry lakes and mountains - ask your cab driver to stop for a photo. We did not eat in the restaurant, though I heard it is wonderful. My mother liked a poetry book she had been reading in the sitting room and mentioned it to Geraldine as we were checking out and she gave the book to my mother. Wonderful people and a great place to plan your Ring of Kerry adventures. We stayed there 2 nights and loved it.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank havanario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

What a wonderful review! Thanks so much for taking the time to write and post it here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

We enjoyed looking after you all and we're delighted that you so obviously enjoyed it too...!

The book of poetry you mention is a collection by Michael D. O'Higgins, who has since gone on to become the President of Ireland. We can't say too much about his poetry because it's a bit over our heads - but he's been a great President so far!

Thanks again and we hope the rest of your Irish Jaunt went off well for you all.

Michael & Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in June with my wife and 9 year old daughter. The experience was just what we had been told. Amazingly friendly staff and Michael and Geraldine the owners were there and checking on us the whole time. They know how to make you feel at home and really showed what Irish hospitality was all about. They made sure our daughter was taken care of and included in the conversations as well as showing her some of the games in the bar to keep her entertained (she never did get the golf ball on the tee snow globe). We were in Ireland for 10 days total and this was our favorite place by far. We ate dinners at the bar and had great food and excellent service and company. The breakfast was great and we never waited for anything. The room was plenty big for the three of us and was clean and well kept. Michael helped us with our plans and gave great advice on what to see and do. For a relaxing, feel at home place with great people that take time to spend with the guests - this is your spot. Would recommend for anyone traveling to Killarney.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go_Utes_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you very much for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly do appreciate it!

It was our absolute pleasure to look after you all and we're delighted that your stay with us went off so well. Our only little regret is that Ruby didn't get the ball 'teed up'...but that might just be the excuse you need to come back and visit us again!

Hope the rest of the trip went off just as well and that you're now safely back home in beautiful Utah...!

Again, sincere thanks for the great review.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: $188 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing