We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Just spent 8 days in Ireland at many wonderful locations, but the most memorable stay was at the Killeen House. Michael and Geraldine were fantastic hosts - friendly, helpful, even humorous at times -my wife and i spoke of them for days. Food was excellent and the location was perfect for our time spent in Kerry. We wouldn't think of visiting Ireland again without scheduling a stay at the Killeen House.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank porojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

What a great review!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor - it means a lot to us.

It was a great pleasure to look after you both on your recent trip, and we're delighted that we played out small part in creating a happy Irish vacation for you both.

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 992 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had the pleasure of my second stay at the Killeen House. Many thanks to Geraldine, Michael and the team for the great experience. The hospitality, service and food make the Killeen House a must stay on any visit to Ireland. They exceed expectations on every visit. I look forward to my next visit,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Hi Leubs and a most sincere 'Thank You' for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to look after yourself and the boys and we hope we played our little part in giving you all some great Irish memories...

It was great to see you again Steve - but this time please don't leave it for eight years until your next visit!

Thanks again and all the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a wonderful Easter Holiday break at the Killeen House Hotel, Kilarney. We have visited Killarney every year for the past 40 years and this Hotel was the best by far we have stayed at. Its a hidden gem.
It is a small hotel with great charm. Our room was spacious. The decor was bright and cheerful and the standard of cleanliness was of a high order.
The food was brilliant with a great choice for breakfast. Pancakes , honey and fruit was a speciality. The dinner was top class - its not surprising the Razzor Restraunt is so highly rated.
The welcome and hospitality of the owner, Michael was the best we have encountered.
Our overall rating is 10 out of 10 - Brendan and Mairead from Galway

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Manager at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hi Brendan and Mairead (or is that Sinead??)..

Thank you both so much for the amazing compliment you have paid us here on Trip Advisor.

We always love to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us here in the Killeen House. But for guests to say that it's the overall best experience they have had in 40 years of visiting Killarney - well, that's an incredible recommendation, and one that's a bit intimidating for us to be honest....!

We're delighted that you both had such a good time with us and we hope that we'll have the pleasure of your company again here in the Killeen House before too long.

Thanks again to you both and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband & I had the pleasure of dining at Kileen House last Saturday night. We had been there before about a year ago and had a fab night. Well last Saturday night was the same. We went there with the intention of just having some bar food, but ended up going to the dining room. It was top class. I had fish and my husband had steak. One of the nicest meals I have had in a long time. Top marks to Geraldine & Micheal and also their very pleasant staff esp the bar man (did not get his name). We will certainly be returning. Thank you all from The Gallaghers!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank MarianGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hi Marian and thanks a million for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly appreciate it.

We're delighted you both enjoyed everything and thank you in particular for singling out our new man Stephen for special mention. He just started with us a couple of weeks ago, but already he's part of the family!

It was a pleasure to look after you both, and we hope we might see you back in the Killeen House and Rozzers again before the end of the season.

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Our fifth time visiting Michael & Geraldine has just come to an end.

The Killeen House is our favourite hotel. Delicious food in Rozzers Restaurant , comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a personal experience keeps us coming back year after year.

Thanks again for another refreshing weekend,

Ian & Aileen.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank i_kenefick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Hi Ian and Aileen and thank you so much for the fantastic review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly do appreciate it!

It was great to see you both again and we're delighted that you enjoyed it all so much.

People like you are especially important to people like us, because when you have guests who are 'serial repeaters', then you know you are doing something right!

Thanks again, keep well and hopefully we will see you back in the Killeen House one more time before the end of the year.

M+G.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Our last stay in Killarney was 50 years ago, on our honeymoon, and so to celebrate our 'Golden' we decided to return. Unfortunately we had long forgotten the name of the hotel we stayed in, in 1963, so we turned to Tripadvisor. We are so glad that we did because Killeen House was every bit as good as the many 'excellent' recommendations said it would be. The hotel is family run and the high standards of professionalism and hospitality set by the owners Geraldine and Michael and their daughter, Michelle, are matched by their friendly and welcoming team. Nothing was too much trouble. As an example, we returned to the hotel one afternoon and were greeted by Michelle who asked if there was anything we needed. We asked for a pot of tea and not only was it delivered to our room but it was Michelle who brought it. A small thing, perhaps, when set against the logistical nightmare of running a successful hotel but typical of the attention to detail shown throughout the whole operation. And, of course, no review of Killeen House would be complete without mentioning the restaurant. In a word, the food was wonderful! Paul O'Gorman is in charge and he brings variety, quality and imagination to his menus. A word of warning, though, you may leave the hotel somewhat heavier than when you arrived. So thanks very much Geraldine and Michael for helping us celebrate our anniversary in style. To paraphrase Clint, 'We will be back'

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hi Terence and a really sincere 'thank you' for taking the time to write and post such a wonderful review of your stay here with us on Trip Advisor. We are very grateful to you.

It was a pleasure looking after you both, and we're delighted that you couldn't remember the name of the property you stayed in back in 1963, when the World was a much simpler and more innocent place!

But what we're even more delighted to know is that you have decided not to wait another 50 years to return to Killarney, and you may be assured that the biggest red carpet we have will be rolled out for you when you come back to us in June!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you both back here in the Killeen House in a few short months.

Michael & Geraldine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed at Killeen House this past September with my brother and 2 good buddies on a golfing trip to Kerry and Cork. For all American golfers golfing in the southwest of Ireland this is a MUST place to stay. The owners, Michael and Geraldine, could not have been more helpful in assisting our party in arranging tee times and bookings and are very familiar with all the great courses in the area. An added bonus was the hotel's restaurant. The dinner and breakfasts there could not have been any better! My parents and wife are from Ireland and I have visited and traveled throughout the country while sightseeing and golfing on at least 20 occasions and must say this hotel ranks among the best in service and hospitality that I have visited! I have been recommending Michael and Geraldine's Killeen House to my friends and family ever since. Sean Buckley

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hi Sean and thanks a million for this superb review here on Trip Advisor. We really do appreciate your taking the time and effort to write it and post it.

And apologies for the long delay in responding to you Sean - we were closed for the winter and to be honest we never even noticed you had posted a review!

But we opened for the summer season just last week, and now we are looking forward to a busy period of welcoming back many old friends and to meeting even more new ones!

Thanks again so much Sean and we look frorward to the day when you will once again darken the doorstep of the Killeen House...

All the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,460 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant

Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: $153 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney Town Centre, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula. Free car parking and and WiFi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing