We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“What a great Hotel!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Michael and Geraldine are running the best hotel I have stayed in for a long time. They are very helpful and take care of every detail flawlessly. The resturant is fabulous. Great little confortable bar, where you can also eat. Michael is a font of information about Ireland and the local area. You can't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Rhe rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne020243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, General Manager at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi Wayne and thank you for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

It was a pleasure looking after you for the couple of days you were with us, and you certainly hit Michael's buttons when you started asking him about Irish history!

Now that you have discovered us, we hope that we will see you here in the Killeen House again at some future time Wayne - and if you need to know anything more about Ireland's role in saving civilisation - you know who to ask....

All the best and thanks again.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    44
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
202
394
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed at Killeen House Hotel over the August Bank Holiday weekend. It is a lovely hotel. Room was great, really clean and really quiet. Great service by everyone we met. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fondantfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Sincere thanks for the wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate your taking the time to write it and post it all up.


It was pleasure looking after you both and we hope that you had a great time here in Killarney over the Bank Holiday Weekend, which is always a bustling and busy period for the whole area.

The nicest part of your review for us is the fact that you say you would highly recommend us. We are especially grateful for this because well over 70% of all of our guests here in the Killeen House are either repeats or else direct referrals from past guests.

Thanks again and we hope you'll come and stay with us again the next time your plans bring you our way.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our tour spent the evening here at the restaurant. Food, service and hospitality were all top notch. On my next trip, I will definitely spend a few days here and enjoy the hotel as well as the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gj1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi and thanks a million for the great review. We really appreciate your taking the time to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor.

Service and hospitality are what it's all about for us here in the Klleen House.

We try our best to treat everyone who comes in our door in the same way that we ourselves would like to be treated if we were in their footsteps, which is with efficiency, courtesy, kindness and genuine friendliness.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again at some future stage to the Killeen House Hotel.

Thanks again and we hope the rest of your trip went off brilliantly for you all.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Old world charm offering service and hospitality, the likes I haven't come by easily of recent years.
My husband and I settled on a 'stay-cation' this year and in between a trip to Cork and a trip to Dublin we spent one night at home in Killarney and settled on a meal at Killeen House. Forgetting it was a bank holiday weekend, on arrival it was both busy and loud.... The hostess, however, met us at the door and ushered us into what I can only describe as their front living room. Here we had a chance to order a pre dinner drink and look at the menu. The wine list here is reason enough to book a table, and although I acknowledge I know very little about wine, I know what I like and I wasn't disappointed. The only two beers on draught are Guinness and Harp, so my husband took a trip down memory lane and had the Harp ( he thinks his last Harp on tap was at the age of 22!)
Our dinner order was taken and we waited a little for our table. The hostess explained she was waiting for a quieter table to free up for us. She chatted and joked with my husband about the Harp and Sally O'Brien (look up the Harp ad, last aired in 1989!) and we were happy to wait for our table.
Shortly, a waiter showed us to our table and asked where we were from. We told him we were locals.
As we had pre ordered our food came promptly and I don't mind saying surpassed all expectations. I don't think we had a meal this good in years. If you are after exceptional food, well informed wine, and down to earth good service this is the place you are after.
Later, when looking for the bill, the waiter, who originally showed us to our table, appeared and asked if we would like to be driven home. We had already arranged our lift but this attention to detail impressed us!
If visiting Killarney, or even if you are a local who hasn't been out much of late, don't just put Killeen House Hotel on your list of places to eat....... Put it on your 'top of the list' places to eat!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLoughnane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Hi and thank you so much for the very detailed, complimentary and - to borrow your own phrase - down to earth review here on Trip Advisor. We really and truly appre4ciaste it.

The Bank Holiday weekends tend to get a bit chaotic here in the Killeen House at times and we become more conscious than ever of the need to treat all of our guests as individuals who want to relax and enjoy themselves and not feel in any way rushed.

And we're delighted to have re-introduced your husband to "Sally O'Brien and the way she might look at you" again after all these years!

Be careful, we might have even re-ignited an old love affair......!!

It was a pleasure to look after you both and we hope that your staycation breaks and your visit to us here in the Killeen House have given you an appetitie to holiday at home in this great little country of ours a bit more often!

Thanks again for the superb review and we hope we might get to welcome you both back to us before the sun sets on our 2013 season.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Unbelievable experience at the Killeen House! The personal attention and care for a wonderful experience is beyond the tradition Irish tradition at the Killeen House. Michael and Geraldine show true class and hospitality from the moment you arrive. They greet you with open arms. Damien who assists the great hosts goes beyond the extra mile to ensure your room is perfect, dinner is outstanding and the Guiness is pouring all night long. The bar is personal with many traditions of the years and I believe we left our family crest as well. You could spend hours checking the items on the walls. We will visit each and every time we go to Ireland and STRONGLY recommend you chose our special location. The Lang Gang

Room Tip: Every room is personal/unique and not missing a detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LangGang2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
What a fantastic review guys - thank you one and all....!

It was our pleasure - as well as great fun - to look after you all, and to say the least of it, you all certainly know how to have a good time!

And thanks especially for highlighting Damien's enthusiasm and commitment for the job he does - we're really proud of him, in the same way we're proud of all the other great gang of people who work with us so hard to give all of our guests the best possible experience

Thanks again and all the very best of everything to you all - and great good luck to the City of Detriot in these turbulent times.....!

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel truly lives up to the description on the website as a charming little hotel. Michael and Geraldine are superb inn-keepers. They make it a point to ensure each guest feels welcomed. Although the entire staff was very dedicated to meeting our need, one staff member in particular stood out--whether showing us to our room, serving us in the bar or seating us for dinner Damien was the consummate professional! He provided tourist info on the surrounding area and poured a great Guiness after a day of hiking! The on-site bar was a great collection point for all the guests and the dinner was so very delicious! The Killeen House is a wonderful hotel, the type of place that people come back to year after year. I know if we're ever in the area again, it will be our first choice for lodging!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
What a sparkling review Jamie - thanks a million for the wonderful words and the kind thoughts behind them!

And thank you in particular for mentioning all of our great staff and for name-checking Damien in particular. He's a young man who hasn't yet fully decided on what his long term career choice will be - but we certainly know here in the Killeen House what we want him to choose!

It was a real pleasure to look after you and we hope that the rest of the trip went off well for you and that you are now safely landed home in MA with lots of special and happy memories of Ireland and it's people.

Thanks again and the very best of everything to you both.

M+G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed last month (June) and had a really enjoyable time. Michael and Geraldine go above and beyond to deliver a very polished and friendly service, it is a very welcome change from the big hotel experience. We travel every month either on business or pleasure and stay in the major hotel chains which is fine, they serve their purpose - but our stay at Killeen House was very different, welcoming and professional. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi and thank you very much for the wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it (although Michael got a bit of a convulsive fit of the giggles when the saw his name appearing in a sentence that also had the word 'polished' in it....!)

Having spent our lives and careers in the 'Big Hotel' scene before we bought the Killeen House all those years ago, we knew for sure that the one thing our little place would be was especially friendly and absolutely informal and we are delighted that these are two of the main features enjoyed so much by the vast majority of our guests.

It was a pleasure to look after you both and we hope that your time with us added to your overall enjoyment of Ireland and it's people.

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,170 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,200 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,530 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Hotel Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing