We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to reviews felt like we were staying at a friends house!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Lived up to reviews felt like we were staying at a friends house!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I travel 50 to 60 times a year and have the opportunity to stay in many highly rated hotels. There you recieve great acomodations, lovely meals and excellent service. The difference at the Killeen House is something you can't buy, teach or produce. You are treated like family, treated with consideration and respect, the sole purpose is making your stay "special". We arrived with 8 men to play golf and have a good time, one of our group had stayed with Michael in the past and could not say enough good things about The Killeen House, he did not do it justice. If you have a reason to be in the Killarney area, this is a must! The rooms are comfortable, the food is excellent and the bar and hospitality are special. I look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hi Ken and a million thanks for the sterling review here on Trip Advisor - we are really grateful to you.

Thank you in particular for highlighting what we feel is one of the basic principles here in the Killeen House and that is in the manner that we deal with our guests, which is in a highly personal way, and exactly as we ourselves would like to be treated if we were in their shoes.

Even though we are in fact a full service hotel, we very much tend to run it more like our home. In fact one of Michaels common admonitions to guests is to treat the Killeen House like their own home - except we'll do the wash-up!

It was an absolute pleasure to look after the group and we're delighted that it all went off so well for everyone, with even the weather playing it's part!

Thank you again Ken and all the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    44
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
196
391
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Oak, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just returned from our Ireland vacation, and one of the highlights was our stay at Killeen House! Michael and Geraldine were very welcoming and took great pride in their "home away from home" hotel. Damien could not do enough for us..what a great employee...he's a natural in the hotel business! Just a great place to stay!! We had our best meals at their restaurant Rozzers
..still craving the creme' brulee!!! yum! You won't be disappointed if book this one...looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3donnaM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Donna and thank you for such a stellar review here on Trip Advisor, which we deeply appreciate.

Glad to hear you've all landed safely home in PA, hopefully groaning under the weight of a multitude of new and wonderful memories of a great Irish vacation!

You didn't by any chance take our glorious weather home with you? If so, PLEASE mail it back by return! It has started raining here this morning for the first time in God knows how long....!

Anyway Donna, thank you sincerely for staying with us here in the Killeen House and we hope the whole group had a special vacation here in Ireland.

All the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

In many, many trips to Ireland, have found no hotel to compare to Killeen House for friendly staff, great ambiance and superb restaurant. The best there is - simple as that. I have stayed 7 times and will do so again, and again...

Room Tip: If you are in Ireland to play golf there is only one place to stay - Killeen House. But even if just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Stuart and a million thanks for the superb review here on TA - we're really grateful to you for it.

Seven times????

Sometimes it feels like double that amount, and more times it feels that half that amount - we're not sure what that means!!

It was super fun having you all with us again a few weeks back Stuart and now that you are safely home, we hope that you have started the planning process for the next trip to God's Own Country....!

Thanks again Stuart and all the best to everyone.

M+G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I have travelled the world and have stayed in some fine hotels but never before have I stayed in a hotel where the customer is treated with such grace, importance, respect and care.
I will never forget the warmth of the welcome on crossing the hotel threshold. It was truly sincere and, though I was on my own, I never once felt lonely.
The host and hostess - Michael and Geraldine - and their brilliant staff made an incredible effort to make my one night stay a memorable one: the service, cuisine, accomodation - and their ability to make me feel as if I was at home- will never be forgotten.
No question: I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward_V_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Hi Edward and thank you most sincerely for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we really do appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to look after you and we are especially happy that you felt so relaxed while you were staying here on your own, and that you enjoyed it all so much,

Sometimes in our experience solo travellers can have different needs and perspectives to those travelling as couples or in groups.

We strive to treat each and every one of our guests on an individual basis and then deal with them in what we feel is the most appropriate way.... Some of our guests just love to be left on their own, and like to get on with things in their own way. Then more love to get involved with our staff or our other guests and "have the craic" with them, as we say here in Ireland!

We're delighted that your one night stay with us worked out so well Edward and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again at some future time - and hopefully for a small bit longer!

Thanks again so much.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

After two days I thought we lived there! Even when my granddaughter hid my clothes when I was in the shower and I had to find her before I could find my clothes! In the lobby!
OurHosts were wonderful as was Gavin, the Concierge.
Would have been 5 star value if we also played golf and didn't keep getting lost after our daily outings.
Food was great.
Intend to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - we are truly thankful to you for taking the time to write and post it up.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and even more delighted with the compliment you give us when you say that you felt so much at home here in the Killeen House. One of our most common requests to our guests is that they treat us like their own home - except we'll do the washing up!

And just to clarify things for readers we'd like to confirm that you were NOT running around our lobby NAKED looking for clothes, because your grandaughter only his some of them, but not all of them!

Thank you especially for name-checking Gavin, who is always thrilled to see his name in lights! He's a great young man who we are proud to have as part of our operation for around five years now. We keep telling him we've taught him all HE knows, but we haven't yet taught him all WE know, so he has to stick with us here in the Killeen House for a few more years yet.....

Thanks again and all the very best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my second stay in the last 10 years and both were fantastic! The food, service and amenities were all great.
The host and hostess (owners - Michael and Geraldine) were very kind and quite friendly and take great pride in their business!
The fine dining experience at their restaurant, Rozzer's, was excellent!
The breakfasts each morning were perfect.

I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks a million for the marvellous review here on Trip Advisor Dominick - we really do appreciate you taking the time to write it and post it up.

It was a pleasure for us to look afer you all on your recent trip and we are delighted that we played our part in making it (hopefully!) one of your more memorable vacation experiences

Please feel free to tell all your family and friends about this nice little place just outside Killarney that you discovered on a recent trip to God's Own Country......!

Thanks again Dominick, regards to all the boys and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the Killeen House at some future time.

M+G
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I just spent a wonderful week at the Killeen House enjoying the local golf attractions. The accommodations at the Killeen House topped off the trip. From the great breakfasts to start the day, the wonderful dinners(try the chateau Briand when it's offered) and finally the pub with all it's Irish ambiance was great! Bring a logo golf ball and Michael, or any of the other staff members will mount it on the wall. I brought my FD badge and he did the same with it.

If you do anything on a trip to this part of Ireland, stay at the Killeen House!

Room Tip: Ask for a single if your partner snores or has sleep apnea and needs the device.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi Martin and sincere thanks for the great review - we are truly appreciative of it.

Delighted that you had a good time with us and even moreso that all the other parts of the trip came together so well for you all too.

We always say here in the Killeen House that good food, good friendship and good water pressure in the showers are what makes for a great experience. But when you add in good weather and great golf courses then it really makes for special times!

You Massport FD badge is proudly mounted on the wall of our Pub and awaits your inspection on the occasion of your next visit Martin!

Thanks again and all the best to everyone.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 38 in Killarney
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Hotel Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing