We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Killeen House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“The Best”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

14/6/13 - I brought my 10 year old daughter Sophie to stay in Killeen house hotel to climb Caraunthoohil for the weekend and it was truly a great experience. Michael and all the staff were great and made us feel right at home. The atmosphere is supberb and I would recommend anyone coming to ireland to Killarney to stay here. Well done Michael, Geraldine, Damien, Ciara, Margaruite and all the staff we did not meet, great bjob done by all.
Andy Dolan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Andy and sincere thanks for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

It was truly a pleasure to look after Sophie and yourself over the weekend - and we hope the weather didin't let you down too much! (Pity you're not here today - it's a scorcher outside!!)

We hope that Sophie in particular had a nice time with us here, and tell her that Michael has forgiven her for mixing up his accent, but not for beating her Dad so much at gin rummy.....!!!

Thanks again Andy and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    44
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
201
393
23
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our family has returned many a time since our first visit to Killeen House Hotel in 1996. Our daughter was then eight years old and my husband and I were "oh, so young!" Catherine, our daughter is now 25 years old, so there you go - guess our ages!! The point being, Jim and I have always come back to the Killeen House Hotel all these years because we love it and miss it if we don't get there once a year. It is a touch stone for us; Geraldine and Michael have become like family to us and they will always be a special part of our Irish family. We have seen their beautiful family grow up and become wonderful and productive individuals. Believe me dear readers, if this quaint, little charm of a place wasn't worth the words and print, I would not be wasting my time extolling the virtues of it. Charmingly Irish, staff beyond compare, Irish hospitality and Irish cuisine beyond belief!! Of all the places we've been in Ireland, and we have been to many, this is like looking into the soul of the Irish people and seeing what makes the Irish so special. Michael has humour in spades, Geraldine is the general who is ensuring guests get the perfect Irish hospitality and their chef, Mr O'Gorman is the unbelievable talent in the kitchen who is really the Fairy Chef!! The bedrooms are very comfortable and very clean with great amenities including hairdryers that actually work really well!! By the way, their wine list is GREAT!! Along with the fabulous food at Rozzers, the premier restaurant in Killarney. The breakfasts are the best. My husband's favorite is the Irish pancakes. You will be very happy staying here. It is simply the best in Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caro55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Okay Carolyn - you're hired.....!!!!

For what we don't know - but you're hired.....!!!

You're kind of masquerading with this review really, because you're not just guests coming to our Hotel - you are old and valued friends coming into our home!

Together we've seen a lot a of water flow under a lot of bridges snice first you two darkened our doorstp nearly 20 years ago, and what a ride it's been for all of us.....and we survived it......!!!

We're delighted that we're all still here and thankfully in the full of our health, to talk about old times and better again to build up new memories together....

Keep well and all the best to that guy who's lucky enough to be living with you!

See you soon.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a lovely two-night stay. The restaurant is friendly and relaxed fine dining, lovely food and lovely presentation. A friendly welcoming staff make such a difference to the quality of the stay experience. Thank you. By comparison, we visited a big hotel nearby which was staffed by 'employees', very impersonal and nothing as nice as Killeen House. The Tripadvisor plaque on the wall of the Hotel says it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonypnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Tony and thank you so much for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to look after you both recently and we're delighted that you had such a nice and realxing time with us. And thank you particularly for highlighting the warmth and personal nature of the Killeen House. We very much find that this is especially well appreciated by the vast majority of our guests.

Thanks also for the info on the GPS co-ordinates which we hope will shortly be appearing on our website - we owe you a jar for that one!

Thanks again and we hope to see you both back in the Killeen House before the sun sets on the 2013 season.

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

In May of this year my husband, adult son Kevin (who is in a wheelchair) and I spent 4 nights at Killeen House. It was a wonderful experience and the best 4 days of the 14 we spent in Ireland. They went out of their way to be accommodating to Kevin and his needs. The 3 stairs up to the restaurant was not a problem as they willingly carried him both up and down each day. The restaurant was excellent, and the staff willing to make our dining experience delightful. The food was to die for and we were lucky enough to celebrate Mothers Day there with a special meal prepared just for me. The pub was a great place to meet and talk with other guests as Michael, Geraldine and the staff made us feel so at home. Michael gave us great suggestions of where and what to see on the Dingle Pennisula and Ring of Kerry. The Irish have a knack for making you feel welcome and our entire experience in Ireland was great. However, if your going to Kilarney, Killeen House is a must!!!! It exemplifies the BEST Ireland has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the large rooms in the new wing that had ample space for Kevin to manuver in his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Annie and thanks a million for the glowing review here on Trip Advisor - we really and truly appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to look after you all and we're delighted that we played our part in creating a bucket-load of happy Irish memories for you all.

Kevin is an inspirational young man of whom you have every right to be extremely proud.

His attitude to life in the face of the burden life has given him is amazing - not to mind his pretty vast knowledge of all things Irish, especially our history and our rousing ballads!!!

Now that you have all discovered the Kingdom of Kerry and the Killeen House Hotel, we hope that you'll visit us again, sooner rather than later....

Thanks again Annie and regards to the boys.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in Killeen House as we were attending a wedding in the local 5 star Dunloe hotel. The exterior of the hotel is beautiful, and a welcome drink on the grounds in glorious sunshine set us up for a fantastic weekend. Geraldine and Mike, along with their daughter Michelle, were the friendliest hosts we've ever come across in Ireland. Dinner in the hotel was lovely, bruschetta starter very tasty and chateaubriand was tender and succulent. Lobster was very nice, and tender but definitely a treat,as €16 supplement
applied. Lovely atmosphere in the bar after where Americans and Irish chatted til the wee hours. Breakfast was lovely, pancakes delicious! Well done to the staff at this gem, not enough places like this left in Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi and thanks a million for the superb review here on Trip Advisor - we are very thankful to you for taking the time and trouble to write it an post it up.

Thank you also for reminding us about the weather last week - we're all now in fear that our summer might have been and gone at this stage!

It was a pleasure to look after you all and we hope that when next your plans bring you to The Place That God Made When He Was In a Good Humour, that you'll remember the Killeen House Hotel and Rozzers Restaurant!

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I just returned from a week-long golf tripe to Ireland. We stayed at the Killeen House. The service was fabulous and the price is very reasonable. The hotel restaurant is the best in Killarney. The rooms are great and the people are very friendly. The best part is that the hotel makes all of the golf arrangements. The courses in the area are world-class. I cannot say enough about the Killeen House and would stay there any time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Mike and thank you most kindly and sincerely for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it very much.

It was our absolute pleasure to look after you all on your recent trip and we're delighted that we played our part in making it a memorable golf and holiday experience for you all.

Thank you also for highlighting our food, because this is an area (along with friendliness and water pressure!) that we take particular pride in here in the Killeen House. In a lot of cases, Hotel restaurants around the world might not deliver what they promise in their promotional blurb, but it's something we place an incredible emphasis on here in the Killeen House and one which thankfully works very well for us.

Thanks again Mike and hope we'll have the pleasure of your company again in the future here in God's Own Country.....!

All the best to everyone (even young Mr. T....!)

Michael and Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here one night on a voucher. It's just outside Killarney, so conveniently located if you have a car with you. The room was large and clean, there's free wifi, and the staff and owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The bar area is cozy and there are even games for the guests to use. Breakfast was generous if not spectacular. And they're quite right in the video on their website - the water pressure in the shower was great! The only downside was that there were no tea-making facilities for guests to use, in the room or in the lounge area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Killeen House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Caitlin and many thanks for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate your taking the time to write it and post if up.

We're very glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us and that you found everything to your satisfaction.

Over the years. we've had hundreds of comments about the quality of our food, especially both the breakfast and dinner, the vast majority of them thankfully full of praise. But we've never seen the comment "generous if not spectacular" attached to one before! We'll take it as a kind of back-handed compliment!

Regarding the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room., it is now over 25 years since Michael allowed kettles in the bedrooms of any property he either managed or owned.

This is because he saw at first hand the damge that was done to a beautiful little child who accidentally pulled a kettle (thankfully only half filled) of boiling weater over her legs.

To make up for this slight inconvenience to some of our guests, the Killeen House offers unlimited and complimentary tea and coffee to all our guests at any time.

Thanks again Caitlin and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
4.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,160 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,386 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.8 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
4.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killeen House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killeen House Hotel

Property: Killeen House Hotel
Address: Aghadoe, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Killeen House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant is truly a special and charming place. Owned and personally managed by Michael and Geraldine Rosney since 1992, it enjoys an unrivalled reputation for the warm and uniquely Irish welcome it extends to all guests. Its location, just a 10 minute drive from Killarney, makes it the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore the many magnificent attractions of the entire region, including the famed Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas. Free car parking and WiFi throughout the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Killeen House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killeen House Hotel Killarney
Killeen Hotel Killarney
Killeen House Hotel Aghadoe, Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing