We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Our stay here was simply fantastic! We had a long drive and arrived at the hotel quite late. We went for a drink in the bar when we arrived and were pretty hungry for a nibble! To our delight the barman arrived with a huge glass of wine and a plate of freshly made cookies for us (to die for!)
Overall the service is outstanding. On one morning we were late for breakfast and the scones were finished. However the waitor offered to bake us scones to order! That is the high standard of service that you can expect at Aghadoe Heights.
The breakfast is probably one of the nicest breakfasts I have ever eaten and the selection is huge. We found the hotel somewhat quiet for it being Easter time. However our main priority was to relax so this didn't really bother us.
The scenery is spectacular at Aghadoe. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yv0nnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    221
    99
    42
    20
See reviews for
275
698
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We had a fantastic time at the hotel. The views were fantastic, the rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, the restaurant was very good as was the barfood.
the pool is not too big but not crowded either so our family of four all loved the hotel, perfect for doing the Ring of Kerry and coming to relax back in the evening.
Highly recommended from Luxembourg.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcluxiland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Just arrived back from a trip to this hotel and to be honest it was a pretty disappointing stay. From the minute we arrived at the hotel the experience was quite below par of what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. My wife and I visit Killarney at least once a year and normally stay in the Europe which was in the same group as this hotel. Having heard some good things about the Heights, read some of the reviews on this site and given it the benefit of the doubt regarding the few negative reviews we decided to try it for a weekend and see what it was like.
Although it's a nice hotel in general it is far from what we expected a 5 star hotel to be. From waiting an hour for bar food to be served to waiting twenty minutes for someone to actually come and take our food order, the demeanour of some of the staff and levels of service are far from what we've experienced in other 5 star hotels.
Our room although clean inside and with a comfy bed had dirty windows and a balcony with a fantastic view that you could only stand out on and look at as there was no patio furniture to sit on! To be frank I could go on and on about little things that all added up to it being a disappointing visit. Killarney is a beautiful place and there is no doubt that the view from the Heights is stunning, but it unfortunately is all that was stunning about the place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derm0t_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

This was our third visit to this hotel - on arrival we thought the outside appearance looked a bit worn for 5* but once you set foot inside the door it's another story. This is a lovely hotel, the food in the restaurant was really tasty with mini courses/tasters in between courses and the view from the restaurant is really scenic. We got a good deal mid week staying in a garden view suite for the price of a regular room - the room was really spacious with all the mod cons including a BOSE sound system, superking size bed (really comfy) and separate sitting area. The spa is also really good - I had a pregnancy massage and would definitely recommend it - though you need to book treatments well in advance. The pool is a bit small but has a jacuzzi. Overall nice experience again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLuxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Lucky enough to recently stay in this wonderful hotel. Very very good indeed. The Staff are incredible and they really make this lovely hotel even better. I stayed in the newer wing of the hotel and the rooms are incredible with probably the best view i have ever seen from a hotel room. The location here is key. You are in a lovely quiet spot a little out of town overlooking the lakes and mountains. The food is exceptional- as is the spa and most of the facilities. Would put this in top 5 hotels in Ireland without a doubt.
Very difficult to fault many aspects of this hotel. Really only tiny tiny thugs i could pick up to seperate this visit from perfection. Will be returning!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Just returned from a long weekend at Aghadoe Heights. From start to finish our trip was faultless. Accompanied by our 6 year old son we were treated like valued old friends. Nothing was too much and everyone of the team there added to our stay. The facillities are spotless and second to none and the Spa..... well I'm hooked! Epitome of relaxation and luxury and surprisingly competitively priced. Nice to see competitive prices throughout, with no compromise on quality . So nice to see that hotels are not ignoring the recession and are pulling out the stops to grab customers. Well the team at Aghadoe well and truly grabbed us. Highly recommended and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DESC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

This hotel is outstanding. Only stayed one night but will definitely be back. From entering the hotel, you get a feeling of total relaxation wiht beautiful furnishings, paintings, low lighting and excelllent staff who were extremely professional. VIews from the Heights Bar were amazing and you could sit there all day eating, having a drink, or just reading the paper. Bar staff here were really lovely and friendly. We ate in the restaurant and would also recommend this 100%. Food was fab, views again were fab and the service overall was top class. Rooms were really nice too. Lovely walks around the hotel also to work up an appetite. We travel a lot both in Ireland and abroad and this hotel will definitely be top of my list without a doubt. Please treat yourself to a stay you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrabaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
1.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Property: Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing