We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently availed of a midweek spa retreat with my girlfriend which consisted of 2 nights with breakfast each morning, a spa treatment each and a 5 course meal one of the evenings. From the outside, the hotel is striking but not necessarily in a good way. Once inside, it becomes a lot nicer. Reception staff were very courteous and helpful, but failed to highlight the free wifi or give the code until asked. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious with super views of the Killarney Lakes. However, on check-in I noted that the mini-bar was completely empty. I mentioned this at reception and was informed they were aware of this and had yet to stock it. The mini-bar remained empty for the duration of our stay.

On the first night we ate on the terrace bar as the weather and views were great. It was very busy and the staff were very courteous but explained we'd be waiting a while to eat. This was fine and the staff were courteous and apologetic. Once the food arrived it was also tasty and the cocktails were also very nice. However, we ate on the terrace bar again the next day when it was much quieter. Again, the staff were very courteous but we were left waiting the best part of 35 minutes between ordering and receiving our food and we both only ordered cold sandwiches. I found this wait very frustrating given the money we were spending and given my (admittedly limited!) previous experiences from 5 star hotels.

The spa was excellent. The staff were very courteous and helpful and we found the experience very enjoyable. The thermal suite has a wide range of services available and all bar one were working perfectly. The only down side was another guest of the hotel fielding a phone call in the middle of the relaxation area. My massage was extremely relaxing and superbly performed, with accompanying relaxing teas and fruit. I found the spa to be my favourite part of my entire experience in the Aghadoe Heights.

Breakfast was pleasant with a large variety of hot and cold options available. Service was generally very good, even in busy periods. The 5 course meal was very enjoyable and both my partner and I had delicious meals. In general, I thoroughly enjoyed my time in the Aghadoe Heights (especially the spa) but for a 5 star hotel there were a few things it needs to improve on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDPL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    214
    99
    41
    20
See reviews for
269
690
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a weekend recently and had a great stay. Everything was better than we hoped for. Definitely will be returning. Food, service and facilities are amazing..

We had afternoon and it was definitely a highlight of our stay...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klassylassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I Recently spent two nights with friends who live in Killarney and on the first evening my host friend suggested that we have Dinner in The Lake Room at The Aghadoe Heights Hotel. On arrival at upstars bar we were warmly welcomed by Jason who found us a table by the window which had the most wonderful view and our drinks were served promptly. Menu's were provided by Padraig as as soon as choices were made we were seated by the window in The Lake Room to enjoy the most wonderful meal.All of our four meals were excellent choices that were made was: Starters, Scallops.Goats Cheese, Crab. Mains Rack of Lamb,Kerry Beef Fillet Steak (melt in the mouth), Duck Breast, Hake.Wine was excellent and the meal was concluded by four lovely Irish Coffee's and chocolates. Service was excellent by friendly, efficient, and professional staff which made our Dining Experience most enjoyable. Will definately return and hopefully stay over next time. Well Done to a very professional Team at The Aghadoe Heights you are a credit to the establishment and are so welcoming to your Guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mae494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Do not be put off by the sight of the hotel from the road. Once inside the modern, clean surroundings tell you of the quality of the hotel.
The excellent spa was made use of to unwind and relax, and the dining was superb.
The staff were always on hand and ever helpful.
Good place from which to tour the Kerry Ring.
Would happily return.

Room Tip: Low numbers on first floor (actually rooms from 300) are near to and above the bar. High numbers on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Aghadoe Heights Hotel offers the rarest of combinations, breathtaking views, a sincerely cordial, very able, and professional staff, delicious cuisine, beautiful rooms and facilities, proximity to numerous venues one would want to experience (and the arrangements to reach such spots made smoothly), and an excellent spa as well.

Marie Chawke, the establishment's hostess, and her superior team including Sunny Rita to greet you at breakfast, the ever amiable and capable Brendan and Jerry to facilitate whatever the need, well-informed Noreen at the front, among other excellent folks, extend themselves to the fullest. The people cannot be praised too much.

Supplementing staff are well-recommended independents such as Padge O'Sullivan, who escorted us throughout the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula and Blasket Islands, ensuring that we experienced not only the "usual suspects" but equally marvelous lesser frequented places, all the while entertaining us with stimulating information and cordial conversation, and Niall Foley, whose prowess and patience in leading us up and down Corran Tuathail, the highest peak in Ireland, made this challenge possible for the likes of the late 50ish couple whom my wife and I happen to be.

The view from our room of the Lakes and mountains, at any time of day, was startlingly breathtaking and alone would have warranted the decision to spend time at Aghadoe Heights.

But as mentioned the establishment delivers so much more that we could not exaggerate the special experience that awaits should you choose to visit.

Room Tip: A view of the lakes and the mountains will give you an enduring memory of the definition of exquisit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert_h60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just back from Killarney and not out first stay at Aghadoe Heights, but definitely one we would return to again. The views from the front of the Hotel over the lakes is spectacular and well worth upgrading for a lake view room. The staff of the Hotel are friendly, helpful and professional--ready to answer almost any question. Rooms and beds are comfortable and quiet--one of the nice things about this compact hotel is not having to walk endless hallways to get from room to bar/restaurant/pool and yet the rooms themselves are very peaceful. We had a faultless dinner in the Lake room and the waiter's wine suggestion was spot on. However, breakfast one morning was dodgy and hard to believe it was made to order as even the pancakes were tough. The spa, though was top class and we would definitely recommend something to loosen out sore muscles. This is a good base for activities, such as walking, fishing etc,(ask for the packed lunch) but you would need to drive or taxi in to the town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

returned home last night after a 2 night stay in aghadoe, fab as always, what a bonus on check in, to get upgraded to a lakeside suite...room 355, thanks aine, view beautiful, weather fantastic so pool doors opened and loungers moved out to terrace, fab, loads of fresh towels and waiter about also,
breakfasts were so fresh and staff amazing
will be back, keep up the good work,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
1.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Property: Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing