We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Billed as a five star hotel, this is a bit of stretch. It is a solid four star but little more than that. The hotel does not impress from the outside, but upon entering, it has a cosy, trendy, boutique feel to it. And the common areas are quite limited in size too.

I'm sure many of the rooms are fitted out in the same trendy fashion as the rest of the hotel, but the family rooms are very, very tired and don't seem to have been touched since the mid 80s. In fact it was very disappointing to transition into such rooms after the trendy decor of the rest of the building. This stark contrasting style, with odd, mismatched furniture, heavily used, scraped and marked, threadworn carpet with no bounce whatsoever, along with a CRT TV that was at least 20 years old (replete with burnt plastic casing) seriously disappoints and clarifies the view that this hotel is not particularly interested in families or children. (A point reinforced by the restaurant's policy banning children after 7.00pm.) When challenged about both, the staff seemed disinterested and basically take the stance of this is the way that it is and so what?

Another gripe is the shuttle service into Killarney. It's a one way service, forcing you to take a taxi back, even though the bus would be coming into town anyhow! The is no logic to this policy and obviously a scam to support local taxis.

The lounge bar and food is satisfactory, but over €16 for mediocre burger leaves a bad taste in your mouth. The health club is OK, but the pool area is less attractive than the photos suggest and is over chlorinated and has peeling paint all over the place. The changing rooms were unbelievable. I've been in toilet cubicles that were roomier!

On the upside the breakfast in the restaurant was outstanding. Excellent food, ambiance, and even better waiting staff.

Price wise, the hotel overall is reasonable, compared to other five star hotels, but as I've described above, that's understandable. You get what you pay for.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank KMcCorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

985 - 991 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Service was top notch and the attention to detail in the spa was second to none.
Highly recommend staying here. My only criticism is that the food was overpriced for the quality. We have great food but at an outstanding price!
I would gladly stay here again and suggest the lake view suite as the views are just as good as the service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRAIGTHEKIWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

And a great location! Close to the town of Killarney which is full of pubs and shops and all that the west of Ireland has to offer. Aghadoe has magnificent bucolic views at the front of the hotel and the rooms are pristine with high thread count and great spacious bathrooms. The staff are friendly and efficient with a genuine focus for their guests. Breakfast is buffet and/or a la carte with traditional toast triangles, morning newspaper and fresh yummy coffee in a silver pot and a great selection of ALL breakfast foods including black pudding which is really good in this part of Ireland. Must also be said, where breakfast in a busy hotel restaurant is often frenzied and loud, this is tranquil and brunchy! They also served freshly squeezed grape juice in tiny glass' which was a first for me.
So now for the spa...I have worked in the spa and fitness industry as a consultant for over 15 years in NYC. This is one of the nicest facilities I have had the pleasure to use. Multiple hydro experiences, clean and nicely laid out. The sauna is spacious with great Aromatheraphy and the Hammam a great thing to do as a couple. I am a fan of the German line Biodroga for body treatments although not of Aveda but for amenities they are quite nice. Overall I loved this hotel and experience and would visit again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEWELLNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I recently took my partner for a night to the Aghadoe Heights where I booked a Lakeside Suite for us. The hotel was well sign posted in Killarney and there were plenty of spaces in the car park.

The reception was lovely and comfortable with a fantastic looking long fireplace, the reception staff were friend and quick to check us in, a nice porter took my partners bag and led us to our suite.

The suite was stunning, Bright, Clean and Spacious with a superb view of the Lake. The bed was massive and comfortable. Overall we couldn't have been much happier. It was so nice I decided it was the place to propose to my partner.

That evening we went for dinner in the Lakeside restaurant we were seated swiftly and they knew our news (presumably a family member tipped them off!) The meal was delicious and server by very professional and courteous staff. At the end of the meal they brought out a plate with petit fours and congratulations written on it and offered us a complimentary drink each.

The only negative thing about the hotel and at that its small is the external appearance isn't up to much, but big deal because the inside couldn't be a whole lot better.

Room Tip: Its worth paying the bit extra to have the lakeside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This is my third time to this hotel and it never fails to let me down. The staff and management are all superb and at your beckon call. The restaurant both breakfast and evening meals is excellent.The leisure center is excellent, only gripe is the pool is small so when full of screaming kids be prepared ! There should be a kids free time zone each day for those of us who want to relax in peace and quiet. Our room was nice and clean with the most spectacular views of the lakes - if your going to stay here make sure you get the lake views - worth every extra penny ! All round wonderful hotel and deserving of its 5 stars

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BdeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had a lovely weekend. Had dinner in the Lake Room restaurant on Friday night. It was fab and not overly pricy. They even decorated our plate with happy anniversary written in chocolate. Service was first class. Loved the piano playing in the lounge afterwards. Would have preferred a room with a balcony but I guess you can't have it all, the room we had was still very nice! Loved the pool aswell

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballynoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have just returned from a two day one night stay in Aghadoe with our seven month old daughter. From start to finish we throughly enjoyed our stay. The staff are excellent, helpful and curtious. The food is tasty and reasonably priced. The hotel is luxurious and relaxing. The pool is lovely with amazing views and superbly maintained. The only slightly negative comment is regarding the speed of service in the Heights Bar, but you hardly mind just be prepared. We are very much looking forward to staying again. By far our favourite modern five star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellor28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aghadoe
1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,385 reviews
4.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,496 reviews
2.6 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,380 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa

Address: Lakes of Killarney, Aghadoe, Killarney 6507, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Aghadoe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aghadoe
Price Range: $204 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Killarney town with breathtaking views of the lakes and mountains. This five star hotel is renowned for outstanding service, luxurious accommodation, award winning cuisine and for it's multiple award winning Resort Spa & therapists. Interconnecting and Family Rooms available. Guests can avail of complimentary Parking, Wifi, Daily Papers, Breakfast, Indoor Heated Pool, Gym, Media Room, Drying Room for Golfers and Fisherman, DVD Library, Tennis Courts and Shuttle Service to Killarney Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aghadoe Heights Hotel And Spa
Aghadoe Heights Hotel Killarney
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa Ireland - Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing