We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but too busy to be friendly”
Review of Rozzers Restaurant

Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $86
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A multi-awarding winning family run Restaurant, with a special emphasis on locally sourced quality food. Rozzers is open each evening from early April to late October, between the hours of 6.30pm and 9.30pm. It closes fully for the winter period. Head Chef Paul O'Gorman has worked in Rozzers since 1997 and he takes enormous personal and professional pride in the quality of his food, which seamlessly combines modern Irish and classical French culinary styles, with items like Ring of Kerry lamb, Dingle Bay lobster, a variety of daily changing fresh fish dishes and Chateaubriand being constant features on the Menu. In addition, breads and desserts are prepared daily in-house. Since 2009, Rozzers has always been at the top of the Trip Advisor ranking for Killarney Restaurants.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed the quality of the food and the choice that was on offer. The restaurant was packed but it isn't that big anyway. Good presentation of the food. Geraldine met us and subsequently took our order. A bit too formal and stiff for me, as unfortunately it lacked the true Irish friendliness. Maybe it was just that night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ronwasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Hi and thank you very much for your review of your recent visit to us here in Rozzers on Trip Advisor.

We were very happy to note that you enjoyed the food and choice, but sad to say we were very disappointed to see that you felt we lacked friendliness to the point that you found us 'formal and stiff'...! This is something that neither Michael, Geraldine, nor any one of all of our staff would wish to be looked upon as by a guest.

Our absolute priority in Rozzers is to provide the best food that we can possibly serve, very closely followed by the best (by which we mean friendly, personal and professional) service, and lastly, to provide this food and service in a warm and relaxed ambiance and atmosphere.

We have only 52 seats in the restaurant and we thankfully seem to be able to manage our bookings pretty well nearly all of the time, but clearly you did not experience what we hoped for you to experience with us...

We failed you in the expectation that you had of us, and - although we would have preferred to hear this from you personally on the night, rather than at this remove - for this failure please accept our apologies.

We hope your experience did not impact too much on your overall enjoyment of your Killarney and Irish experience.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 369 of 617 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 7 for a 7.30 dinner and had a nice pint of harp in the busy little bar. Ordered our food in the bar from Geraldine. We were seated at a lovely table just before 7.30. The food was really well presented by extremely friendly staff. A nice French white wine very well priced. The whole experience was great and my wife thought the Kerry lamb was really good. The place was buzzing and the overall experience was great. Would I recommend? Absolutely!

Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

What a super headline - followed by an equally super review!

Thank you so much for going to the time and trouble of writing it and posting it up here on Trip Advisor Keith - we are very grateful to you.

We're delighted that you both had such an enjoyable evening here in Rozzers with us, and that you were clearly so happy with everything, from the food and wines, to the service and the ambiance.

Thanks again and all the very best to you both.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

A friend recommend this place, so we decided to check it out for a bit of lunch. I had a goats cheese tartlet, which was delicious and he had a prawn salad, which he said was delicious too. There was lots of tasty stuff on the small lunch menu. We had a look at the dinner menu too and i reckon i could easily eat everything on there.

Staff were friendly and attentive. The building itself has a traditional feel. If you're into golf, you'll like this place. I want to go back for dinner on my next visit. But a very good first impression overall.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elton D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Hi Elton and thanks a million for the great review of your recent visit to us here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your food and found the service and atmosphere to your liking also..

We'd just like to make clear if you don't mind, that we don't do lunch in the traditional sense of the word, but we do have a very nice Pub Grub type menu which operates (in our Pub of course!) daily from noon to around 9pm.

Thanks again Elton and we hope we'll be able to welcome you for dinner one of these evenings.....

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

After a strenuous day climbing the Skellings we were up for a good meal and our guide recommended Rozzers....great tip! Food was superb....Caesar salad and a shrimp scallop dish to start, followed by surf and turf and salmon entrees. Great desserts too....sticky toffee apple pie and a fruit meringue special. Service was steady, not intrusive, but also not slow. Michael and Geraldine were gracious and friendly owners with a small chat around the elegant but not stuffy dining room. Staff called for a cab back to town for us. An outstanding dining experience...don't miss it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mdk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2014

Hi and thank you so much for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - it means a lot to us.

We're delighted that you chose Rozzers to round off a very special day on the majestic Skelligs - and we're even more delighted that we lived up to your guide's recommendation of us!

It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope the rest of your vacation goes off just as well for you both.

See you on the Memorial Bridge sometime.....!

Thanks again so much.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is how it should be. A really excellent team all working well together at maximum efficiency. Other establishments with high aspirations at all levels of could learn a thing or two from Michael and Geraldine.

There was no aspect of both evenings' dining that could be criticised. We booked because Rozzers is No. 1 on the Tripadvisor list for the Killarney area. No wonder.
It was so good we went again the second night. Was it as good? Of course it was.

Firstly Michael and Geraldine make a point of welcoming you personally to the place. Now, they don't know us from a crow on the gate but after two nights you feel as if you are long time regulars. I should be so lucky {as Kylie might well say}.

We had the wonderful Theresa assisted by her sister Lily to serve, explain and look after us. Couldn't ask for better service, and all the main players enquired how we were getting on while not getting 'in our face'. Just perfect for us.

Every course was special, with the scallop and prawn ravioli, the seafood chowder, the surf and turf and the Eton mess all being outstanding. What on earth am I saying? Everything was outstanding. Have I ever eaten nicer chips? Can't remember if I ever have.

The room itself is very comfortable and nicely decorated with pictures of local golf courses, with a decent gap between the tables and a nice even temperature.

I ventured the fact that it was the most enjoyable meals we have had on the island of Ireland and all in all if you add up the welcome, food and service it certainly was.

It is a special place, serving wonderful food in a non pretentious manner and with some style.

Do not miss it if you are anywhere near it on holiday and the only thing wrong with it is that it is located over 300 miles from where I live!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HabLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

If we asked Theresa (with an H!) to respond to this review, she might type "OMG what an amazeballs report".....!!!!

But all we can say thank you most kindly and most sincerely for such a spectacular review of not your one, but your two visits to us here in Rozzers at the Killeen House.

For you to come back to us for the second night was compliment enough in itself, but then for you to go into such great details about all aspects of your visits is just wonderful.

Again thank you!

As you so correctly point out, an evening out is all about a lot more than the food.... It's the whole package that creates the experience, not just the ingredients on the plate!

We are absolutely delighted that you found the second night to be as good as the first one, because in our experience, sometimes the repeat visit is not as much appreciated as the first one.

Thank you again so much, and we promise if we ever do try to open a second restaurant - it be be a little less than 300 miles away from you.....!!!

All the very best to Margaret and yourself.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rozzers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing