We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who Said You Don't Go To Ireland for the Food?”
Review of Rozzers Restaurant

Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $72
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A beautiful family run Restaurant, with a special emphasis on locally sourced quality food.
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Who Said You Don't Go To Ireland for the Food?”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We not only had delicious food,but a great time. Our hosts Geraldine and Mike were the best.
The Fillet of Beef was melt in your mouth awesome, cooked to perfection. The best I have had in a long while. Goat cheese appetizer was a real treat with walnut pesto that really blended well. There were homemade rolls and yummy bread with Irish butter. There was a pastry chef "special" of an apple strudel that finished the meal off!! The service was friendly and fast, although we did not feel rushed. The place is just beautiful inside and the grounds outside are just lovely. The whole atmosphere is inviting and warm and makes for a perfect evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
What a superb review Trixie!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post it up here on Trip Advisor - it genuinely means a lot to us.

And thank you also for pointing out that a really nice meal is not just all about the food Trixie - the service...the atmosphere and ambiance...the surroundings...they all play very important parts in providing the overall impression and experience.

We are especially fortunate to have a superb staff of people who take great pride in their work, and then our building and gardens have a lovely warmth about them as well.

Thanks again so and all the very best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    47
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Rozzers exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had reservations to this amazing restaurant and from the moment you arrive you are greeted and welcomed in like part of the family. Geraldine is gracious and warm and immediately guided us to our table. The restaurant is quaint and inviting and by looking around the room you notice the relaxed and happy diners enjoying a special meal. So many great choices and the four of us had our order taken right away. First we received a basket of delicious savory scones and homemade bread along with the delicious Irish butter and that set the tone for what was to come next. 2 of us had the salmon which was cooked perfectly and presented on top of a tasty chorizo cous cous with a surprise prawn underneath. Rounding off the plate a delicious cool citrus and cucumber salsa that pared beautifully with the salmon. The other two diners had the fillet of beef that was cooked perfectly to our specifications. With a smooth flavorful carrot puree and the creamiest celeriac gratin. It also included perfectly prepared sautéd mushrooms that complimented the beef flavor. A flavorful rich sauce rings the edge of the plate to run the fillet through which is the finishing touch to perfection. The chefs obviously put much thought and love into the dishes they prepare and it shows when you take the first bite all the way to the last bite. We all cleaned our plates. Great service and attention to detail by the staff. When next in Ireland we will be back. Thank you Rozzers for a special unforgettable dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WAtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Wow....!

And Wow again......!

Thank you so much for the incredible review here on Trip Advisor - we are extremely grateful to you for going to all the trouble of writing it and posting it up..

It's clear that you had a nice evening with us, and it's even clearer that you know your food....

We are delighted that we managed to exceed your expectations here in Rozzers, and we thank you sincerely for being so complimentary as well about our Head Chef Paul and his great band of culinary warriors in the Kitchen!

Thanks again and if ever your plans bring you back to God's Own Country - we'll be here waiting to serve you all again!

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We picked out Rozzers because Trip Advisor listed it #1 in Killarney. The ranking was spot on. It's located in the Killeen Houst hotel, which caters to a golfing crowd. We had a terrific dinner. I had the monkfish, which was beautifully prepared. My wife had the duck - similar experience. Hostess and waiters/waitresses were friendly and attentive, service excellent, atmosphere warm and relaxed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you most sincerely for the great review Martin - we really do appreciate your taking the time to write it and post it here on Trip Advisor.

It was our pleasure to look after you and we're delighted you enjoyed our offering. The monkfish entree is consistently one of of most popular dishes, especially with our overseas guests so we're glad it didn't disappoint.

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A1 Restaurant”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Visited on 29th July 14 for wife's birthday, a good choice! Lovely welcome from owners. Serves perfect Guinness! The food is excellent. Surf n Turf is great choice. All the staff are very friendly and efficient. A busy restaurant, but still have the time to look after you. A first class restaurant that deserves its high Trip advisor rating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank royzo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hi Roy and thanks a million for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we truly appreciate it.

It was our pleasure to look after you both and we're delighted that you had such a nice time with us - and now you know where to come if you ever need a few killer leprechauns to help your observation work!!!!

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you both back to Rozzers at the Killeen House at some future stage.

All the best.

Michael & Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just got back from a fun family vacation in Ireland. Based on Trip Advisor reviews I made a reservation at Rozzers a month in advance. Geraldine replied promptly to let me know that they could accommodate us. The restaurant is in a small and charming hotel on the outskirts of Killarney. Go up the road past the hotel before dinner and stop at the scenic overlook of Killarney. Fabulous view of the lake and mountains. Geraldine gave us a warm welcome at the door, Mike directed us to the bar for a drink and a nice chat. You can order your meal there and save some time sitting at the table. When you get to the dining room the first course is at the table in no time. The food is fabulous and so is the service. Geraldine seated us at a wonderful table in the bay window. I had alerted her that it was a special night, my daughter's birthday. A beautiful dessert with candles was delivered at the table after dinner with Geraldine and Mike leading the singing of "Happy Birthday". Our dinner at Rozzers was the high point of our trip around Ireland. If you are looking for superb food, attentive service, warm and friendly staff, all in a gorgeously decorated setting, then Rozzers is the place for you. I highly recommend it. You will not go away disappointed. Cheers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank millburnbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
What an absolutely lovely review - thank you so much for going to all the time and trouble of writing it and posting it up here on Trip Advisor - we truly appreciate it!

And thank you even more for choosing us as the venue for the birthday celebration. It's always a matter of great pride for us to be chosen for special occasions in people's lives...

We're delighted that we lived up to your hopes and expectations and we're happy to have played our part in your hopefully memorable Irish vacation.

Thanks again so much and all the very best.

Michael & Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rozzers Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing