We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Of Ireland's Little Gem's!!!”
Review of Rozzers Restaurant

Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $83
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A multi-awarding winning family run Restaurant, with a special emphasis on locally sourced quality food. Rozzers is open each evening from early April to late October, between the hours of 6.30pm and 9.30pm. It closes fully for the winter period. Head Chef Paul O'Gorman has worked in Rozzers since 1997 and he takes enormous personal and professional pride in the quality of his food, which seamlessly combines modern Irish and classical French culinary styles, with items like Ring of Kerry lamb, Dingle Bay lobster, a variety of daily changing fresh fish dishes and Chateaubriand being constant features on the Menu. In addition, breads and desserts are prepared daily in-house. Since 2009, Rozzers has always been at the top of the Trip Advisor ranking for Killarney Restaurants.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had the pleasure of eating here in May of 2014. Cannot fault Rozzers in any way. The hospitality is truly is amazing, a lovely family owned restaurant and you can see the pride Michael & Geraldine have in there business - and they have every right!!!

When we arrived we felt we had been here a thousand time's! The staff were so friendly and accommodating and we were greeted by the owners at the door. Had some pre-dinner drinks in the the hotels pub, so cozy and one for golf lovers!

The meal was just delicious, beautiful flavors, perfectly cooked, well seasoned....perfection. We were here for a birthday meal and my partner was treated to a lovely birthday desert on the house, we also enjoyed two lovely glasses of prosecco with the desert - also on the house and what a lovely gesture!

After our meal and some beers, we booked a taxi back to our hotel up the road, this was cancelled by the owners as Geraldine was adamant she was driving us! Another beautiful gesture and we are truly grateful.

I must also mention the great communication when booking this meal online, Michael was brilliant, again really accommodating!

Thank you to all the staff at Rozzers for a lovely experience, a lovely birthday my partner and I will never forget!

FIVE STARS

.......Paul & Alma :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

What an incredibly complimentary headline...!

Thank you so much Paul and Alma for writing such an amazing review here on Trip Advisor - we are truly grateful to you.

It was our absolute pleasure to look after you both on your recent visit and we're delighted we clearly gave you such a good time.

We always feel honoured when people choose to dine with us as opposed to all the many other fine places in the Killarney area. But when they specifically choose us for special occasions in their lives - well then it's an even greater honour!

Thanks again and you know where we are whenever your plans bring you back to the Kingdom of Kerry!

All the very best of everything to you both.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

380 - 384 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

one of the best meals i've ever had. perfectly composed and executed. wonderful friendly staff. will stay at this B&B next trip to ireland for the food alone. well done.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GlobeHopscotcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

What a fantastic headline - and what a fantastic review...!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor - we're extremely grateful to you.

It was a pleasure to serve you and we're delighted that we so clearly played our part in giving you one small happy Irish memory, to hopefully join loads of other ones!

Thanks again and all the best.,

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I came here for my wife's 40th birthday dinner last Sunday week and from the moment we arrived until we left we both had a fantastic experience. Michael's personal welcome on arrival was a lovely touch and the menu was varied and inviting. The highlights of the meal were the scallops that my wife had as a starter which she said were the best she had ever eaten and the duck I had as a main course was probably the nicest duck dish I had ever tasted. We had a nice chat with Michael and Geraldine (the owners) towards the end of our meal and it being a birthday celebration they kindly offered us a complimentary glass of wine each and Michael even dropped us back to our accommodation nearby- You can't get better service than that!! I was in Killarney for a week with my young family and we had a great time, and Rozzers was definitely a highlight and I will be back....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Muise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Hi and thank you so much for the outstanding review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you for taking the time and effort to write it and post up up.

It was a pleasure to look after you both and a special thank you to you for trusting us to give you a nice night on such an important and special occasion. (Any birthday that has a 'zero' at the end of it, must always be given that little bit of extra respect!)

Thanks again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back to Rozzers at the Killeen House again at some future stage.

All the est.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were half an hour late arriving as we got lost, embarrassed to be so late we sheepishly walked in apologising, the host and hostess coundn't have been nicer and were just so welcoming. The setting is just so beautiful and the window seat the host gave us made it even more lovely.

I can honestly say I had the best meal i've probably ever had, the taste of everything was just amazing. The restaurant athmosphere is so relaxed and happy it's just so nice to be a part of it. There were a table of 10 Germans beside us and we overheard that they had been in Killarney for 10 nights and came here 4 or 5 nights out of the 10. That's testiment to this restaurant.

Like most people here, I went because of the reviews and they are 100% deserved. I look forward to returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dolldoll200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

That damned sat-nav......!!!

Thank you so much for the excellent review here on Trip Advisor - we are extremely grateful to you for it.

It was our pleasure to look after you - and we're sorry that the sat-nav turned your three minute drive to us into a 30 minute scenic tour of Killarney!

But now that you know exactly where we are, we look forward to welcoming you both back to us at some future stage.

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Hello,

We ate there recently while in Ireland. Certainly you have metropolitan prices, the food is good, the service is good, but nothing is outstanding.

Unfortunately they lump you in with tour buses so it dilutes the experience.

I would give it solid 4 stars on food, 3.5 stars on service and ambiance, but in value, a 2.

Let me be clear, I eat out a lot and not at chain restaurants. You had Paris pricing without the French chef.

7  Thank BYOBLOVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killeenhousehotel, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi and even though we were disappointed to receive this review, we thank you for taking time to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor.

The best we can take out of it is that you found us good but not excellent, as the headline says,

The worry we have about it is that you came into us with expectations that we were never going to be able to match, given your apparent belief in the superiority of French Chefs, over chefs of all other nationalities.

Regarding your comment about value, we can't really respond to you on that, because for some reason ours is the only property in Ireland that you have to date chosen to review, and so we have no idea whatsoever what you are measuring your concept of value against.....

Certainly, our own belief (thankfully shared by the vast majority of our guests) is that we offer excellent value, when measured against comparable operations in this country, be they metropolitan or rural. We suspect you may be mixing up cheap pricing with good value, or maybe applying US dollar prices in a Euro-zone area, but we can't say for certain, given our lack of knowledge of your other dining choices while in Ireland.

You somewhat condescendingly mention tour buses.... Yes, we do tour buses (although we call them coach groups). We also do family groups, corporate groups, golf groups and retirement groups, as well as individuals and couples...... And the one thing we do with each and every one of them, is treat them as honoured and VIP guests of our property, who we will strive to look after as well as we possibly can, and in the most personal way possible. We would never apologise to any of these different guests that we have Pennsylvanians in the Restaurant, so you may be assured that we will never apologise to Pennsylvanians that we have other groups in the Restaurant.....!!! (That's a joke by the way...)

Thank you again very much for the review, and if you are ever back in our area, we'd love the opportunity to welcome you back to Rozzers, to see if we can't give you a better overall experience the second time around.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rozzers Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing