We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Simply The Best”
Review of Rozzers Restaurant

Rozzers Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aghadoe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $72
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A multi-awarding winning family run Restaurant, with a special emphasis on locally sourced quality food. Rozzers is open each evening from early April to late October, between the hours of 6.30pm and 9.30pm. It closes fully for the winter period. Head Chef Paul O'Gorman has worked in Rozzers since 1997 and he takes enormous personal and professional pride in the quality of his food, which seamlessly combines modern Irish and classical French culinary styles, with items like Ring of Kerry lamb, Dingle Bay lobster, a variety of daily changing fresh fish dishes and Chateaubriand being constant features on the Menu. In addition, breads and desserts are prepared daily in-house. Since 2009, Rozzers has always been at the top of the Trip Advisor ranking for Killarney Restaurants.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A truely amazing experience, my partner and I ate here, and it is without any doubt the nicest restaurant we have ever been to and well worth our near seven hour journey from Donegal. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant and glamourous lady (Geraldine) who immediately made us feel very welcome. As we read over the menu we were brought a selection of breads by Mark who was very professional and polite, the Parma ham and spring onion scones were delicious. The menu itself is wide ranging and what I particularly liked was that it contained all locally sourced produce. Michael introduced himself and welcomed us, what I found very nice was that he knew every customers first names which made this dining experience more intimate, this felt less like a restaurant and more like a warm friendly home. I had the pork belly starter which melted in the mouth and was extremely tasty, it was accompanied by a confit of duck which complemented the pork. My partner had the risotto cake which was fresh, fragrant and delicious. Our mains were equally delicious, I had the surf in turf, definitely the nicest steak I have ever had, cooked perfectly, melted in the mouth and the lobster the accompanied it added luxury to the dish, the vegetables were fresh, and al dente as they should be. My partner had oven roasted chicken and it was beautifully presented, the chicken was absolutely gorgeous and succulent. We had the house Chardonnay which was keenly priced and very pleasant to drink, the wine menu offers a large range of wines to suit every taste and budget. For dessert we had the chocolate bomb, it was stunningly presented and anything that tastes that good has to be bad for the waist line!!! We were tended to attentively by both Michael and Geraldine and our wine was topped up every time before the glass emptied. Their chef is a credit to them, he has been here 16 years and it is easy to see why, the food is outstanding. The restaurant itself is spotlessly clean, and full of character and perfect for any occasion. It offers incredible value of money. After dinner we went to the bar, it is very cosy and again character filled, where golf balls are a legitimate currency!!! Yes, golf ball bearing a logo can be tendered for a drink, it is then placed on the wall beside 8500 other golf balls, excellent and quirky idea. The barman, Damien was an absolute gent and a great asset to this premises. To Michael and Geraldine your hotel/restaurant is a credit to you as are the staff that work there, thank you for a very enjoyable and memorable night and on our next visit we hope to stay over.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Wow Keith!!

What a fantastic and stunning review - it has to be among the best we have ever received here in Rozzers at the Killeen House.

A million thanks to you for going to so much trouble to write it and post it up here on Trip Advisor.

It was a pure pleasure to look after you both, and we are a little bit humbled by how much you seem to have enjoyed the experience we offered you.

Thank you in particular for name-checking Mark and Damien, two fine young men who we are very proud to have working with us.

And - as your keen eye no doubt spotted on the back of our menu cover! - our Head Chef Paul is clearly an invaluable asset to our operation, and someone we are honoured to have as a friend even moreso than as an employee.

Thank you again Keith for this amazing review and we look forward to welcoming you both back to us the next time your plans bring you from Letterkenny all the way down to Killarney - and hopefully you might even bring your great friend Paudie with you this time?

All the best to you both.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
There are newer reviews for Rozzers Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 429 of 594 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a party of ten last week. This is the second time I ate at Rozzers. The first time three years ago on a golf trip. The food and service were outstanding. This time I had the rack of lamb and it could be the best in the world. My wife had the monkfish and it was excellent. I was slightly disappointed in the ravioli appetizer. I thought it was a little on the bland side. One of our party had the smoked salmon and it was superb. The service was OK. I almost gave it a 4 but the food is wonderful.

1  Thank robbythegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Tom and sincere thanks for the review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate the time and effort you put into writing it and posting it up.

We're delighted that overall you enjoyed your evening with us here in Rozzers and that we managed to 'make the cut' in terms of getting a five star rather than a four star rating from you!

A special thank you for the stunning comment on our lamb, which is one of our signiture dishes.

Sorry though, that you found another of our most popular dishes, the ravioli of prawns and scallops, to be a bit on the bland side for your taste. We'll definitely have a chat with our Chef Paul to see if we can't improve on it somewhat.

As we did on the evening, again we'd like to apologise for the slow service and inconvenience you experienced around the issue of splitting your bill five different ways. Even though you clearly requested this in writing in advance via e-mail, Michael completely overlooked it when transferring the reservation in our little book, and thus the slowness and slight confusion around the presentation of the bills. Again, our apologies.

Thanks you again Tom and we hope you and all the group had a wonderful Irish vacation

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We ate here during our stay at Killeen House Hotel and it was exceptional. We ate 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner there and all 3 were perfect!

Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Richard and thank you sincerely for going to the trouble of posting this review on our Rozzers page, as well as the one you put up on our Killeen House page - we are very grateful to you.

Even though Rozzers and the Killeen House are in the same plroperty and under the same management, we very much try and differentiate them, because we very often have a situation where people might want to stay with us and not dine, or dine with us and not stay!

Thanks again and all the best.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Part of our CIE tour! Wonderful dining experience starting from the greeting from Michael on the tour bus until we completed our meal! Excellent service and delicious food! One of the best meals we had while in Ireland! Well worth the trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnneMarie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi Anne Marie and thank you so much for the wonderful review here on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it.

We are fortuante to welcome so many guests of CIE every year here in Rozzers - and even more fortunate that they all seem to enjoy thmeselves so much!

Thanks again for thew review Anne MArie and we hope that you arrived safely home laden down with a multitude of happy Irish memories.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic meal at this lovely restaurant. We received a very warm welcome from Michael the owner on our arrival and enjoyed a drink in the bar before dinner. There was a fantastic choice of locally sourced food on the menu. I had smoked salmon for starter and duck for main course which were both absolutely delicious. The deserts were fantastic too. Would highly recommend a visit here. The service was impeccable. Very friendly and welcoming with amazing food. Will definitely be making a return visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MplusG, Owner at Rozzers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Hi Elaine and sincere thanks for the great review here on Trip Advisor - we are very grateful to you.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us here in Rozzers and that the food, service and atmosphere were all up to expectation for you.

Thanks again Elaine and all the very best to you both.

Michael & Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rozzers Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Rozzers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing