We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best state parks in the Georgia system”

Black Rock Mountain State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Golden Isles of Georgia, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best state parks in the Georgia system”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited Black Rock Mountain State Park this past weekend. Having never ventured this far north in the state in many years, we weren't sure what to expect. We could not have had a better trip. The park rangers and staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. My husband and kids stayed at a campsite while I stayed in a cabin. They had a great time and so did I. The cabins were very well-appointed. I think I would prefer them over a hotel room. Having a rocking chair porch over looking the mountains was a wonderful treat. While on our visit, the kids participated in the educational hikes and crafts provided by Mrs. Rita, the park naturalist. She was a Pied Piper for them. They followed her on hikes, made leaf crafts, and learned about the local insect/reptile/fish population. She made their visit so much fun.

Black Rock Mountain State Park is a great place for families to vacation. We had a great time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank MMGardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    55
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Spectacular views!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

After a long, winding, & narrow road up the mountain, one is rewarded with the most dramatic views of the north Georgia mountains! Would be a stunning sight during the fall color display. The park store is quaint & hosts are polite, friendly, informative, & helpful. (A cautionary word for those pulling large RVs: don't. As noted, the only road up the mountain would be dangerous for anyone pulling a rig longer than 20 feet.) There were large campers on the sites; I have no idea how they got up to the location. Or, how ones tow vehicle might overheating. Still, definitely worth venturing here for the views at 3200 feet above sea level. Well worth the trip!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank georgiascotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mountain Views!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Georgia State Park has it all. Mountain, lake, picnicking, wonderful hiking trails and cabin and tent camping as well as RV spaces. Hiking the lake is a no brainer, easy and very relaxing although you can choose to do it as a fitness trail. Hiking the trail up the mountain takes a bit more energy but well worth it when you arrive at the summit for the views. And there's another longer more strenuous hiking trail if you're up to it. This park also marks a portion of the Eastern Continental Divide. Daily parking fee $5 or state park pass. Camper bath houses very clean.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bluealt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great views and nice trails”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We hiked several of the trails at Black Rock Mountain State Park. We parked at the Visitor's Center and then hiked the Ada-Hi Falls Trail and the Tennessee Rock Trail. The trails from the Visitor's Center to the Ada-Hi Falls Trail weren't super well marked, but it was August and there had been a lot of rain, so the trail may have been overgrown. The only thing I wish we'd done differently was park at the entrance to the Tennessee Rock Trail. After that hike, we didn't really feel up to hiking another mile back to our car!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hike, but when they say strenuous they mean it”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We did the Edmunds Trail. It is 7.2 miles long. There are other, shorter hikes here as well that I intend to go back and do later. This park has a really nice visitor's center with a beautiful overlook. The view from there is worth the drive in if you are in the area. The Edmunds Trail is tough, but worth it. They said it would take 5-6 hours; we did it in five but were moving fast on the way back due to rain. It is basically a loop with an out-and-back on either end. The far end is an impressive overlook. We went out on the East trail and back on the West. Both cross a couple of creeks, and there is a nice waterfall on the West trail. This trail is very up and down, very few flat places at all. It is also narrow. But beautiful. If you feel up to 7.2 miles, totally worth the effort.

The park rangers at this park are so nice and informative. I go to a lot of parks and they are some of the best I've encountered. One recommended we eat at Universal Joint. I recommend you do too. See my review of that restaurant for more details.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Z00M74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Rock Mountain State Park also viewed

Mountain City, Rabun County
Tallulah Falls, Rabun County
 
Scaly Mountain, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Black Rock Mountain State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing