We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back...great stay!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in McDonough
Islip, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be back...great stay!”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed here with my son for a family wedding and it was a very nice stay. Room was clean, bed linen nice and clean. Owners were great and very accomodating to us...will return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    18
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
15
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Global Traveler in the Midwest
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

stayed here as a last minute choice. i imagine the holiday inn- for $10 more a night would have been MUCH better- pool, better security, service, etc. the wall near the bathroom had a bloody hand print on the inside and outside of the bathroom door. This was a little unnerving. Beds were super comfortable and appeared clean. table tops and hard surfaces on chairs were really gross - sticky, stained, etc. -it's called pinesol, people - use it.
The owners are not american, ok. went for the 'free continental breakfast', it ends at 9am ? I was there at 9:15 and got the last of the coffee and juice. Pretty lame. My last hotel, the bf ended at 11am. =poor service.
that's about it, next time, I will spend the extra $10 and hit the holiday inn next door.
seedy people here, many gawkers and smokers leering on the upper floors- very odd.
ALSO, and this is the strangest part, IF you leave your room in the AM, you will be locked out. You have to go to the office and sign for the next day's charges; over the phone, the owner said it was ok to pay upon checkout the next day. guess not.

Room Tip: go next door to the holiday inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superstimpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthiana, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Good place to stop over off I-75.. No bed bugs, and reasonably clean. Not bad for the price. If you want a good place to stay, no frills, no pool, just a place to sleep, this is worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Booked this hotel online for a night on a trip coming home from Florida. Easy checkin, really nice room, very quiet even though in a very busy location, nice continental breakfast -- a no problem stay and a very pleasant experience. Just what we needed after a full travel day -- a nice rest at a great price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london,ontario
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

After reading less than good reviews, we were pleasantly surprised. Room was clean,recently renovated,and front desk staff was most helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

On a recent trip to Florida I stopped at the Econo Lodge in McDonough, GA. (I-75 exit 218, 1279 Hampton Road to be exact). I have had some bad experiences in my travels over the years but this motel is a “must pass” motel. Do not spend your time or money on this abomination. Hardly anything in the room worked, the shower stall looked like it hadn’t been cleaned, the toilet barely flushed, and in the morning there was no hot water. When I tried to complain to the first desk clerk he couldn’t understand English at all (India, or Pakistani, or whatever). He finally went to get another guy who could barley speak English. He absolutely refused to make an adjustment to my bill for the inconvenience. I normally don’t complain about such things but when you are spending good money for services you have the right to expect at least half way decent accommodations and service.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing
  • Disliked — Filty room, poor quality, and attitute of front desk personnel.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OkieCHS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these McDonough hotels

Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We chose and stayed here ONLY because there was a wkly rate, Here is a quick rundown, We travel/work over most of the USA, we have stayed in ok places and very clean nice places, my crew and I were greeted and treated very rudely. Rooms were clean, However house keeping would tell me every time they saw me, talking loudly and most of it not in English, that if they did not clean my room they would not get paid, we work at night and sleep during the day. We would still, with the "do not disturb" signs up, have some one knock on the doors. On top of all that, the staff here barely speak English. Comm was very frustrating.Our mail and faxes were held sometimes 1 to 2 days. My Co. spent about 5k there in a few weeks. . We will gladly spend the extra $, for a differ hotel if we return. The location was the best. Sorry, but we will not return.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — attitude,rudeness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasDoubleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KunalHospitality, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
This review is fairly dated. There has been a change in management since 2008, including a complete change of staff and several renovations in rooms and common areas. It is understandable that the guest was disturbed even with the "Do Not Disturb" sign. i guarantee that it will not happen with the current management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McDonough hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mcdonough Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mcdonough
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, McDonough
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites McDonough
Comfort Suites McDonough
#11 of 22 in McDonough
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta McDonough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1279 Highway 20 W, McDonough, GA 30253-7302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > McDonough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in McDonough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge 1.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mcdonough
Mcdonough Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing