We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to complain about....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express McDonough
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in McDonough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was happy with our stay at this hotel last weekend. The location is convenient to may shops and restaurant, including a Chik-fil-a, which is in walking distance. The room was clean, and the decor seemed to be pretty new and updated. The lobby was getting remodeled when we came in, but it was still clean and presentable. The staff was professional, and the free breakfast was very nice. I enjoyed the hot breakfast during the unusually cold weekend that we were in town. Overall the experience at this location was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prellyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewHenley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express McDonough, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thanks you so much for your feedback. It is always nice to have positive comments from our guest. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting your hotel needs again in the future.

Sincerley,
Drew Henley
GM Holiday Inn Express

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express McDonough
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 186 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great place to stay, clean and friendly service. The pool and hot tub was very relaxing and the water temp was great. Stayed in a suite on the way down, liked it so much we stayed on the way back. Good location and a there is a lot more good things about this hotelWill stay again. Great place when travelling with kids.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staycation1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a nice outside appearance and the check-in clerks were very friendly...BUT...someone needs to sweep some floors!! Not an inviting look when you see the halls and elevator need immediate attention! Thank goodness our room was clean!! Our bed needed to be replaced though.

The secured doors is a nice feature at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scrappy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express McDonough, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Scrappy4u,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. It is very nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of your room. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apology for the unsatisfactory cleanliness of some parts of the hotel. Please be assured that this matter will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The hallways and our room desperately needed vacuumed. The king-sized bed was comfortable, but had a number of annoying noises. And to top it off, breakfast didn't include their delicious cinnamon rolls! This hotel was below average for a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DESAuburnIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express McDonough, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear DESAuburnIL,

Thank you for your feedback. I want to assure you our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. I want to apologize for the cleanliness of the room and breakfast options received. I appreciate your comments as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay for a night, very clean and comfortable. Money well spent. Only issue I have is that odor of cholorine was way too strong in the indoor pool. My wife and I had to take kids out after 10 minutes in the pool. We couldn't stand the smell of cholrine.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oskee1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

On the way back from Tennessee after Christmas we stopped here on New Years Eve. What a great choice we made! Rachel at the front counter was pleasant and helpful when I asked about dining choices in the area. The room was large with lots of accompiments. There was a separate sitting area with a couch and a chair. There was also a larger that normal refrigerator. A small microwave was available as was a sink with cabinets above and below. There were also bowls in the cabinets for cereal. A small kitchenette without the stove! Bathroom was spacious with a tub/shower and a large full wall mirror

They also have a exercise room and a pool (pool was closed during our stay). The buffet breakfast featuring ham, cheese and pepper omelettes, bacon, donuts, bagels, toast, coffee and juice was a great way to start the day! Only issues was the pancake warmer was out of order as was the cinnamon roll makers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike32792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DrewHenley, Manager at Holiday Inn Express McDonough, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your response on Trip Advisor. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay. Ive also shared with Rachel your response so she can see she is making our guest happy.

Thanks again for your response.

Drew Henley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Made reservations for 4 adults for 2 rooms via Priority Club website in May for a two night stay on Fri Oct 5 & Sat Oct 13. Payment in full was required at the time reservations were made & were not refundable. In June when my statement came I was charged for 4 people in each of the 2 rooms. Over a 30 day period, It took 6 calls to reservations, 6 calls to the front desk and 3 calls to guest relations at Intercontinental Hotels before this was corrected. The third person at guest relations was the only one with a brain. Needless to say we were apprehensive when we arrived on the night of Oct 5 after an 8 hour drive. Check in was fast and there appeared to be no problems. Our rooms were very clean & well appointed with what appeared to be new furniture. The king beds were very comfortable. There is a mini-fridge, microwave, & small sink outside the bathroom. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. The buffet breakfast was good with hot scrambled eggs and either sausage or bacon. Food was constantly being replenished by a friendly staff and they cleaned the tables as people left. There is a small pool inside the building. Next door is an excellent Mexican restaurant & the front desk gave us a discount coupon.
On Oct 13 we arrived around 8 PM and there was no one at the front desk. After yelling out hello several times a man came out of the back room. He appeared to be confused with my reservation but then confirmed that we reserved 2 rooms with 2 adults in each room. I reminded him that the rooms were paid in advance which he acknowledged. Our rooms were the same descriptions as stated above. One day after arriving home I checked the credit card and on Oct 14 the hotel charged me again for both rooms but in 6 separate charges in different amounts totaling more that the prepaid amount. This time I called the credit card company and reported the charges as fraudulent. The credit card company told me that the charges were in a pending status. The hotel had up to 30 days to move the charges to an active charge or delete them. If not deleted in 30 days the credit card would delete them automatically which is what occurred. It was a pain to have to check this everyday for a month.
All of these charges & problems with reservations was totally unnecessary but results in a family never wanting to stay at a HIE again. We've never had these problems with Hilton Or Sonesta.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runner60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McDonough hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mcdonough Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlanta McDonough
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Atlanta South-McDonough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites McDonough
Comfort Suites McDonough
#10 of 23 in McDonough
158 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Atlanta McDonough
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, McDonough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express McDonough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express McDonough

Address: 1315 Highway 20 W, McDonough, GA 30253-7304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > McDonough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in McDonough
#3 Romantic Hotel in McDonough
Price Range: $128 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express McDonough 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites McDonough, GA. We are conveniently located off I-75, just south of the beautiful city of Atlanta and within minutes of the Hartsfield-Jackson Airport (ATL.) Perfect for both the corporate and leisure traveler, the hotel is at the center of large corporations such as Norfolk Southern Railroad, Snapper, Luxxotica, and Millard to name a few. We are also just 7 minutes away from the Atlanta Motor Speedway, home of NASCAR twice a year! We are also a short 25 minute drive from the heart of Atlanta s entertainment center hosting the Atlanta Braves Turner Field and the Atlanta Falcons Georgia Dome. We invite you to join us for a Suite Experience! Our hotel offers the finest of luxury and service in Henry County, with spacious suites that include a microwave, refrigerator, work desk area and complimentary high-speed Internet. In addition the hotel offers an indoor pool, fitness center, jacuzzi, a business center and our famous complimentary Express Start Breakfast. No matter how you look at it, we are the smart place to stay! We also have meeting space available! Visit McDonough, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express McDonough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mcdonough Hotel Mcdonough
Holiday Inn Mcdonough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing