We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an average diner” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of KirbyG's Diner

KirbyG's Diner
Ranked #6 of 208 Restaurants in McDonough
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Voted 2013 & 2012 Best Burger in Atlanta by AJC readers! 2013 World Food Championships Competitor! Welcome to KirbyG's,(R) a cook-to-order family owned diner that began in 2008. We've trademarked a new name since then but we still strive to make your experience enjoyable. KirbyG's(R) is our tribute to the 1950s! So, take the Pit Crew challenge and stroll down memory lane. Put a name to a face, a quote to a star & a character to a movie. For the very brave, you may even attempt to find them on our walls. Patrons are treated to handpattied burgers such as Ike's "I Like Cheese" Burger, Ole Blue Eyes and The Duke. And, if a hamburger isn't for you, diners will find mouth-watering delectables such Desi's Fried Dill Pickles, Rock-a-Billy's Grilled Chicken, and the Whiz Kids Philly Cheesesteak. Topped off with a hand-spun shake or a cold microbrew, patrons will find that "The 50's Never Tasted Better!
Brampton
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just an average diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had heard that this place had the best burgers around. Was OK, i dont think it was much to rave about.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarrad_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    35
    19
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1LB burger?! Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The family and I are running around Henry County evaluating the local spots. We knew Chevy's was there, just never tried it until 30OCT. Upon entry, didn't know if we seat ourselves (yes) or wait to be seated, but easy fix. We sat down. Our server showed promptly and got us going with our drinks and appetizer (OK, those fried-green beans should be classified as controlled substance - way too addictive).
Ordered the Chevy specialties - BL-Chicken sandwich thing - 1LB burger (mine) - and a regular burger thing (sorry, can't remember the names). Lets talk about the 1LB burger. It's actually 2x1/2LB burgers stacked on each other. Absolutely impossible to eat ... as a traditional burger. I had to split it. Needless to say, I'm enjoying that 2nd half today. Bring an appetite or get a 'to-go'. The side dishes were plentiful. Oh, the desserts - yea, a cup of ice cream is not the baby measuring cup "cup" - its the real deal CUP of ice cream.
Service was fast, efficient and friendly. I measure efficiency on how low my drink gets and at Chevy's, it was never less than 1/4 full (3/4 empty??).
Recommended for kids up front - the older bar drinkers are in the back. Overall - yes - recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ImpliedConsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Awesome Hamburgers. Ummmmm.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Chevy's has a wide variety of food and it's all good. It also has an Ice Cream Parlor, a bar, and a meeting room for large parties. It's a must try while walking around the historic square of McDonough.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cherry7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Burgers good, service very slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We love the burgers there and will go back for them. Service is slow, not sure why, but every time we go we wait almost an hour for our food. We will go again.

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luella, ga
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Times a'changin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

I've eaten at this restaurant a couple times before and always thought it good enough to recommend...not sure now. Took my husband after talking about it often to him but today wasn't as good as had been in past. We both ordered Philly Cheese S'wich...oops, out of hoagie rolls. Have you ever had a Philly Cheese on Texas toast...me neither but tried it, won't do that again. My husband made a second choice of hot dog, cheese smothered....it was ok, but just that..ok. It seemed to be a little more higher priced this time, but maybe I'm just getting little more conscience of cost now days. Anyhow, it wasn't worth what we spent on the meal...thus reason on eating at home most of the time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzzin48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KirbyG's Diner also viewed

 

Been to KirbyG's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing