We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't let em fool you”
Review of Maysville Saloon

Maysville Saloon
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Maysville
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Description: The Maysville Saloon is located in beautiful downtown Maysville, Georgia. We are a family oriented restaurant with a full offering of both great southern food and traditional favorites. Come in today and experience our unique atmosphere and great food!
Restaurant details
Description: The Maysville Saloon is located in beautiful downtown Maysville, Georgia. We are a family oriented restaurant with a full offering of both great southern food and traditional favorites. Come in today and experience our unique atmosphere and great food!
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
1,182 reviews
944 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,058 helpful votes
“don't let em fool you”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

first of all they do not have a pouring liscence, yet they are a saloon, and allow brown bagging. it's almost over decorated, which to me usually means they are trying to take your mind off some other problem either with pricing or food. neither of these 'issues' should bother you in the least and we cannot wait to return for another meal here. the decor is cowboyish, re-enforcing the saloon title, with a goodly portion of sons of confederate veterns, telephone an lock collector, and just dog gone anything nifty looking to a guy about my age. there is a picture of babe ruth, one of bonnie parker, some jessie james wanted posters, and more late 1890's scenes of cowboys camping under the stars. plus a lynard skynard poster for good measure. rich wood accents give the place an earthy comfortable feel, highlighted by a magnificent ceiling made of panneled doors. let's just say i did not mind the short wait to be served. for the meal, my eyes were busy.....delishious yeast tea biscuits, refilled snappily, fried potatoes were real, thin, hand cut, and perfectly prepared served alongside a hamburger steak topped with grilled onions and a rich brown gravy with fresh mushrooms. all real!!!! yes, it was really was a hamburger steak made from fresh ground beef not some pattied frozen from some food broker's closet in chicago. my better half had fried shrimp and mashed potatoes. the taters were fresh, REAL potatoes, delicately seasoned with salt and pepper and butter. there was no garlic added to confuse the issue, just mighty fine mashed potatoes. shrimp were not fresh but nicely done, and tasty, and served a dozen to an order which hasn't happened often enough here lately.service was friendly, attentive and genuine. server was from cleveland, owner was from savannah and has a son living in wichita ks now. we are in love with this new found gem of a food emporium. menu has something for everyone from burgers to wings, salads to homemade peanut butter ice cream, steaks, chicken and i beleive a saw a salmon dish listed which i will definitely sample next visit, which would be tomorrow, but alas they are closed mondays. open for supper other days of the week at 5pm. they hit he nail squarely on the head with a ballpine hammer. OUTSTANDING IN EVERY RESPECT

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bbqman3341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great decor, good food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The word "Saloon" could create the wrong impression, although it is an appropriate word to describe this lovingly decorated restaurant in downtown Maysville. There was no alcohol on the menu; instead, this is touted as a family restaurant. The bar area, which fills one side of the restaurant, is too pristine to be the scene for an old western, but otherwise, it could be used as such. The walls contain artifacts from various periods, and there are a number of holsters and six shooters. The chairs are sturdy and have a horse shoe embossed on the back. We were so interested in the decor that we walked around a bit after we finished eating.

The menu is standard American fare, for the most part; hubby and I ordered sandwiches. His steak and cheese was actually two good sized sandwiches, and my shrimp po boy lacked bread, but as I had it with fries, there was a sufficient amount of starch. When asked, our server supplied tasty tarter sauce for the shrimp. Other items on the menu included burgers, steaks, and one of the specials was chicken marsala. And, as it was Sunday brunch, there was a special of blueberry pancakes offered as well.

Parking for this restaurant, and for that entire side of the street in Maysville, is in back, so take a side street and look for the sign on the gravel lot. There is an entrance there, but it is only a short walk to enter from the street side. As of this post, they are open in the evenings for dinner, or for Sunday brunch.

The service was excellent, the food was good, and the restaurant is a "must see" and quite a surprise for this sleepy little town, which is not far from I-85, at the Commerce exit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaGal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Maysville! (near Commerce)”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Drive about 45 minutes up Interstate 85 North and exit at the Commerce/Maysville exit. Turn left and go just a few miles for a wonderful, relaxing dinner. The setting is an old western saloon with all the memorabelia, along with some civil war era antiques BUT the food is outstanding! I had a sandwich I would not ever have dreamed of but it was absolutely satisfying to my tatse buds. It was a grilled cheese sandwich with barbeque pork and bacon on texas toast! Out of this WORLD! The french fries are sliced potatoes with a hint of a little spice . Tasty but not hot and to round out our Fourth of July, we hand hand churned homemade peach ice cream! WOW! The service and the owner, Debbie, are super and we will make this a regular stop everytime we are near! See you soon!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Unique theme”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The restaurant itself if very quaint with it's old west saloon type style. The food was average. The menu limited. The waitstaff was good. The best thing about the food : the french fries.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love, love this place! A must see!”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Recently passing through the town of Maysville and came upon this historic saloon. The building a a rehabbed saloon that actually existed several hundred years ago. The decor is elegant, yet filled with historic memorabilia that is definitely worth checking out. Now on the the food...we had the steaks, which are generously cut, from a local butcher. The are served sizzling on a hot plate, so juicy and tender. Best steak I've ever had, hands down. The sides are potatoes, veggies, good selection. We had the asparagus, big hit! We had to order an extra side! My son ordered the wings, which come in so many flavors, such as garlic and strawberry. We shared a desert, a cheesecake that came with several dipping sauces. AMAZING! You truly feel as if you are in a top restaurant in Atlanta, the food is so fresh and tasty. Great prices, we will defnitely be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karissa1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maysville Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Maysville Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing