We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great All Around Restaurant”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
French Market Grille West
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Martinez
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Augusta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great All Around Restaurant”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have eaten at The French Market West since it opened in 1997. The food and service are very consistent. The Seafood Cakes are my favorite, followed closely by the Sesame Crusted Tuna. All the Cajun dishes are great and very authentic. Best Happy Hour prices in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Used to be a great spot”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We used to eat here 4-5 times a year. Hadn't been in a while, so we planned a nice dinner on sept 7. Like the other reviewers, we agree that this place has really gone downhill recently. Our meals were all over cooked. My favorite used to be the blackened grouper. It was over done & a bit rubbery. The place was completely empty, which was the first give-away(altho GA-SC game may have been a factor).Companions also were disappointed in their meals.
I guess we'll now go to the Surrey Center location, pay a few shekels more, but be satisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Going downhill...”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What was once a very good dining experience is now only average. On our recent visit the host was not friendly, the service was profoundly slow, and dishes were not cleared before we paid our bill. Since we had seven at our table the gratuity was added automatically. Perhaps the poor service was lack of motivation...Our waiter was friendly but inefficient. The food waited under the warmer for a looonnnngggg time. The restaurant was not crowded but appeared understaffed. We had a variety of different foods. The shrimp special was good, the sesame crusted tuna not as good as before. The once very good bread has been replaced with very boring rolls. Pork tenderloin was quite good according to my teenager. I had once looked forward to taking visitors here. I would have been embarrassed had I taken visitors here tonight!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beachdreamraugusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place for Crab nite on Tuesdays”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great crab special. Good atmosphere, casual, good service. Other menu items are a more pricey, but good quality and tasteful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, GA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“My wife likes it, I guess”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nothing special, especially compared to the Surrey Center location. Food was OK, service was fine. Location and atmosphere needs work. Meh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Market Grille West also viewed

 

Been to French Market Grille West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing