We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Here's a Local Sandwich Place that's Top Notch”
Review of Gabriel's Desserts

Gabriel's Desserts
Ranked #6 of 24 Dessert in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
225 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Now Here's a Local Sandwich Place that's Top Notch”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Located right on Whitlock Avenue a little West of the Square and just before reaching the Cobb County Facilities. An old fashioned, small town type of place but boy do they know their sandwiches. Very southern style about it - from the sandwiches to the paintings by locals hanging on the walls. Not fast food by any stretch of the imagination. Just good, well made sandwiches. It is also a bakery that does cakes, cookies, rolls and bread. They also do "made to order" deserts and are they yummy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ProvenExponent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great lunch, sweets and soups”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is owned by Paula Deen's cousin Miss Johnnie and has lots of goodies like key lime pie, sweet pastries, cakes (red velvet!) and also serves a great lunch such as chicken/dumplins, meat loaf and salmon cakes.....Really good chicken pot pie when on the menu!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dustmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Average Breakfast”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family and I ate here for a Monday Breakfast and it was not what I expected as I love their desserts. My sausage, egg and cheese sandwich was missing half the sausage, my Dad's waffle was soggy and all the bacon was cooked to different levels. I hope they can improve their breakfast to be more in line with their 5 star desserts and lunch service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmonstrola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
216 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My first visit at this restaurant even though I have passed by it many times. This is a local hot spot, had a terrific lunch, very good service and food was very well prepared. I had the fried chicken breast with mashed potatoes, black eyed peas and corn muffin. Everything was perfect, they have a large selection of vegetables and meats. Very reasonably priced. They have daily specials of a meat and vegetables. They also have a very large selection of deli sandwiches. This is a popular place so I suggest you arrive early for lunch, if there is a line do not worry it will move fast and be well worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hometown haunt”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Friendly staff, open, airy atmosphere albeit a little upscale cafeteria. Consistent, well prepared Southern/comfort food with the BEST made-from-scratch desserts anywhere around. Try the key lime pie!! Wow!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabriel's Desserts also viewed

 

Been to Gabriel's Desserts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing