We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all as expected, VERY $$$ for the food you get”

Campus Falafel Cafe
Ranked #155 of 718 Restaurants in Marietta
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not at all as expected, VERY $$$ for the food you get”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

It was our first time visiting the restaurant. We expected to dine there, but as soon as you walk in, the smell of cooking oil was too much to bear. We decided on an order to go instead. We saw the 'favorites' part of the menu and ordered the chicken kabob with hummus and falafel platter. The food was made quickly for carry out, which was nice. When we go home, we realized that the pita given to us for the two orders had no pockets, and they were cut into 4 pieces. I have to agree with Jubes M. that the falafel should be top notch if this place is called 'Falafel Restaurant'. Unfortunately, our falafel was very dry, not very savory and likened to a hockey puck. We got 3 pieces of falafel. I'm kinda glad that we came home because I did have tortillas and made a burrito out of the ingredients in the take home box. The chicken kabob was flimsy and contained 5 tiny pieces over mounds of shredded iceberg lettuce and large tomato slices. The chicken was not bad, but they definitely should have given more for the price. To the restaurants defense, the hummus was very good, as well as the tabbouleh. We paid about 21 bucks for this takeout meals; which is very expensive for for the amount of food that you get. Mind you, my wife and I both eat very little, and after eating what we could, we were still hungry afterwards. We will not go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank joopnighta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West of Atlanta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Always great food and service!”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The food and service here has been consistently good for years now. I usually have the lamb kabob for lunch with a side order of stuffed grape leaves and a glass of hot tea (if it's winter). It is always SO GOOD! The inside is small, so you may see a crowd on most days if you come at high noon for lunch. They do have outdoor seating, which helps a lot when the weather is good outside. Well worth the wait, but a bit of advice: either come a little early or a little late for lunch to try and miss the noontime crowds, even though it's in a very out-of-the-way place. People have learned about them!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepSouthRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Falafel - not that great”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

You'd think a restaurant with falafel in its name would have some tasty falafel. This is not the case with Falafel Cafe. While the service was friendly and the food appeared to be freshly made, the falafel is some of the worst I have ever tasted. It tasted somewhat like cornbread - and was dry and hardly seasoned. The gyro platter was better; the hummus, kinda runny. Mykonos Grill down the road near Cumberland Mall is way better, but the last time we were there the Greek waitress informed us that they were under new management and we could not order extra tzatziki sauce, so we thought we'd give this place a try. I don't think we'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jubes m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy Falafel Wraps!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The falafel wrap w/Tahini sauce is one of my favorite dishes at this persian restaurant. The vegetarian sampler is also great to taste a bit of everything and it's filling too! It's a small casual restaurant with affordable menu prices. Located across the street from Life University in Marietta.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Academics17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

Food was great fresh and full of flavor. If you're not used to that type of cuisine its not for you. Service was a bit slow but it looks like its run by a small family .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank koby001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campus Falafel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing