We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating History in Marietta”

The Butcher The Baker
Ranked #74 of 718 Restaurants in Marietta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Celebrating History in Marietta”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Referred by my local barber who suggested we visit the restaurant while visiting Civil War battlefield commemoration in nearby Kennesaw,GA.
Found food to be very good. Took a friend who lives in the area and she was also very complimentary of the service and food. Especially liked the chicken livers, the cheese tray and the desserts are not to be missed. Will return again when in the area. Drew was an excellent server and the other young lady who helped was also excellent. Just a terrific visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RB27Nov2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    29
    5
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a coffee during the day the staff were really friendly. We liked the look.of the menu and so booked for dinner. Booking is essential it gets really busy. We opted for the small dishes and between three of us had maybe 8. They were all delicious, it was a great chance to try a whole variety of different foods.
I just wish I didn't live so far away or I would eat here all the time :-)

Helpful?
Thank Soopa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stellar food and service even at closing time”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We'd set out for Willy Ray's, TBTB's sister restaurant next door, for shrimp and grits (the best I've ever had) and fried pickles, but we got there just as they were closing. We decided to dine alfresco and sampled two of their house special cocktails (they were inventive and delicious) while we waited for our food. Everything was just delicious. Three of us had the pork (two orders, which was plenty of food!), and I had the ravioli. It was just divine.

The service was a tad spotty, but that could have been that we were the last table of the evening. That said, we were made to feel like we had all the time in the world. It was a memorable meal on the Square.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Met my expectations”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had heard a lot about this new place in Marietta, from the unique light fittings and contemporary art on the walls I felt optimistic.,firstly a platter of small tastes. Some superb terrine, cheeses, one with pickled strawberry, mustards, fresh light bread rolls from the oven... I almost didn't need a main.(entree in America)
I was given an egg dish that knocked the soxs of most egg dishes I've ever eaten,
The Slow cooked rib, and the pork was melt in your mouth...well presented and memorable. Why did we have desert? Because it was soooo good!
I'd love to go back before my visit to Atlanta is over

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great service; above average food.”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a birthday dinner, and had a great time. I will begin with the positives: The staff were helpful, knowledgeable, and pleasant. The food did not take too long, and was spaced well after the appetizer so as to increase the social interaction which was great due to the ambiance. I had the softshell crab special which was amazing over a locally grown salad; as well as some great bread they offer, and a porkbelly grit dish served in a kettle. Now for the negatives: The food was salty, and the bathroom was...open to say the least; that's it.
P.s. This place is pricey, but is worth it due to its farm-to-table policy. A great "hip" date spot.

Helpful?
Thank Avery C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher The Baker also viewed

 

Been to The Butcher The Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing